Research Guides: BIOL 340: Research Methods: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the course guide for BIOL 340: Research Methods. Use the menu on the left to find resources for locating basic background information, books, and articles, and information about requesting books and articles through interlibrary loan. Use the Help pages to find video tutorials on searching PubMed and EBSCO databases, and information about using advanced search features.

Key Resources

PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central (PMC) is a subset of full-text articles included in the PubMed index. PubMed Central is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, and includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. Open an entry and select "Find it @ VCSU" to see if we have an item in our collections.

MeSH Browser
Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is a comprehensive controlled vocabulary for the purpose of indexing journal articles and books in the life sciences. It serves as a thesaurus that facilitates searching.