Education Topics: Bullying

The premise of this guidebook for teacher educators, school professionals, and in-service and pre-service teachers is that bullying occurs because of breakdowns in relationships. The focus of the 10-point empirically researched anti-bullying program it presents is based on building and repairing relationships. Explaining how to use social architecture to erase bullying from classrooms, this book translates research into easily understandable language provides a step-by-step plan and the tools (classroom exercises, activities, practical strategies) to insure success in building classrooms where acceptance, inclusion, and respect reign examines the teacher's role, classroom management, bystander intervention, friendship, peer support, empathy, incompatible activities, stopping incidents, and adult support from a relationship perspective If every teacher in every classroom learned to apply this book's principles and suggestions, bullying would no longer plague our schools and educators could give 100 percent of their attention to academics.

Tackle underlying issues to get to the root of bullying By reframing bullying prevention, you can make significant progress in addressing the underlying issues causing bullying and aggression in your school. In this resource, James Dillon digs into the work that busy educators often have little time for: translating rich and insightful research on the dynamics of change into practical terms. He probes deeply into the issues and why they persist in our schools to promote meaningful conversation among school staff and parents. Inside you'll find Vignettes, analogies, and real-life examples along with tools that illustrate the benefits of using alternative methods to prevent bullying Discussion on transforming the role of discipline to reframe bullying among teachers, administrators, and students Key ideas and concepts summarized in easy-to-understand bullet points and charts Guidance on how to establish a school climate that promotes empathy and compassion instead of fear Reframing bullying prevention will allow competent and caring educators, students, and parents to not just stop bullying, but to improve the learning environment for all students.

33 states have now passed statutes mandating that schools have a bullying policy in place. This book provides acompilation of research on bullying in school-aged youthsconducted across the United States and Canada by a representative group of researchers, including developmental, social, counseling, school, and psychologists.

Students, parents, and school staff deserve a safe learning environment. Yet recent headlines of violence, bullying, and drug abuse have shown the vulnerability of schools. In this timely and important resource, leading expert Franklin Schargel provides leaders, teachers, counselors, parents, and students with the necessary information to address and diminish safety problems in schools. Creating Safe Schools explores the background and data about the severity of safety issues facing schools today and also provides the strategies and tools to address them. Clearly organized according to issue, this book allows for easy reference and is packed with tools, activities, checklists, strategies, and tips. Coverage includes: Bullying Driving Drugs, Alcohol, and Tobacco Internet Safety Violent School Incidents Sexual Activity Suicide Truancy/Suspension Youth Gambling This important resource will help educators prevent violence from happening in their schools and provide children with a safe and secure learning environment. Helpful templates and additional resources for educators and parents are available as free downloads at www.routledge.com/9780415734790.

In today’s schools, kids bullying kids is not an occasional occurrence but rather an everyday reality where children learn early that being sensitive, respectful, and kind earns them no respect. Jessie Klein makes the provocative argument that the rise of school shootings across America, and childhood aggression more broadly, are the consequences of a society that actually promotes aggressive and competitive behavior. The Bully Society is a call to reclaim America’s schools from the vicious cycle of aggression that threatens our children and our society at large.   Heartbreaking interviews illuminate how both boys and girls obtain status by acting “masculine”—displaying aggression at one another’s expense as both students and adults police one another to uphold gender stereotypes. Klein shows that the aggressive ritual of gender policing in American culture creates emotional damage that perpetuates violence through revenge, and that this cycle is the main cause of not only the many school shootings that have shocked America, but also related problems in schools, manifesting in high rates of suicide, depression, anxiety, eating disorders, self-cutting, truancy, and substance abuse. After two decades working in schools as a school social worker and professor, Klein proposes ways to transcend these destructive trends—transforming school bully societies into compassionate communities.

Is there a need to challenge homophobic name-calling and other homophobic bullying in your school but uncertainty about how to address it? That's So Gay! is a practical guide to making your school a safer place and creating an inclusive bully-free culture. It shows what homophobic bullying looks like, who experiences it and explores the reasons why young people bully others homophobically. It also reveals why young people are often reluctant to report homophobic bullying, the increasing role played by the internet and the profound effects bullying can have well into adulthood. Adopting a whole-school approach, this book provides all the advice schools need on prevention, working with those who bully, handling disclosures and anti-bullying policies. Written by an expert in the field, this is a vital guide for schools, teachers and anyone with a duty of care towards young people.

Psychologists explore the reality of cyberbullies Millions of children are affected by bullies each year. Advances in social media, email, instant messaging, and cell phones, however, have moved bullying from a schoolyard fear to a constant threat. The second edition of Cyberbullying offers the most current information on this constantly-evolving issue and outlines the unique concerns and challenges it raises for children, parents, and educators. Authored by psychologists who are internationally recognized as experts in this field, the text uses the latest research in this area to provide an updated, reliable text ideal for parents and educators concerned about the cyberbullying phenomenon.  

Just as the previous generation was raised in front of televisions, adolescents at the turn of the 21st century are being raised in an internet-enabled world where blogs, social networking, and instant messaging are competing with face-to-face and telephone communication as the dominant means through which personal interaction takes place. Unfortunately, a small but growing proportion of our youth are being exposed online to interpersonal violence, aggression, and harassment via cyberbullying. The mission of this book is to explore the many critical issues surrounding this new phenomenon. Key features include the following. Comprehensive - The book provides a comprehensive, up-to-date look at the major issues that teachers, school administrators, counsellors, social workers, and parents need to be aware of with respect to cyberbullying identification, prevention, and response. Practical - While the information is informed by research, it is written in an accessible way that all adults will be able to understand and apply. Expertise - Justin W. Patchin and Sameer Hinduja are Co-Directors of the Cyberbullying Research Center (www.cyberbullying.us). Chapter authors represent a carefully selected group of contributors who have demonstrated both topical expertise and an ability to write about the topic in clear, easily accessible language. This book is appropriate for teachers, administrators, parents and others seeking research-based guidance on how to deal with the rising tide of cyberbullying issues. It is also appropriate for a variety of college level courses dealing with school violence and educational administration.

Blue is a quiet color. Red's a hothead who likes to pick on Blue. Yellow, Orange, Green, and Purple don't like what they see, but what can they do? When no one speaks up, things get out of hand...until One comes along and shows all the colors how to stand up, stand together, and count. As budding young readers learn about numbers, counting, and primary and secondary colors, they also learn about accepting each other's differences and how it sometimes just takes one voice to make everyone count.

A boy's aspirations to become a puppeteer make him a target for the school bully.

Sometimes brains aren't everything. George R. Clark is gifted. Mentally, he's light-years ahead of his classmates. His parents worship him, and his teachers adore him. But socially, George is at the bottom of the curve. Most of his classmates avoid him--if he's lucky. Until the Bruise Brothers, the intellectually challenged members of the school football team, decide they want George to pass a test of their own design. Only the fact that George's father is the school principal has saved him in the past. But his father isn't going on the eighth grade science field trip, and George has a feeling it's going to be open season on dorks. Suddenly thrown into a crash course on human nature, without his father to protect him, the most intellectually gifted kid in the eighth-grade might actually learn something before the end of the trip . . . if he survives it. This witty novel provides a different perspective on bullying and the battle of brains versus brawn.

Fourth-grader Calvin lives near the beach in Oahu with his mom and little sister. Mom says: You're the man of the house. But Calvin's not great at being the man of the house, or taking care of his responsibilities. He's too busy having fun with his pals, and avoiding Tito, the bully. Trouble Magnet is the first book in a new series for younger readers full of all the fun of growing up in Hawaii. It introduces a wonderful multicultural cast of characters, including Mr. Purdy, who calls his fourth-grade class Boot Camp; Uncle Scoop, who runs the lunch wagon at the beach; Ledward, Mom's boyfriend; and gorgeous, intimidating, 15-year-old Stella-from-Texas, who arrives to be the live-in babysitter, and to step all over Calvin's turf.