Skip to main content
Banner Image Get Help Services About Allen Memorial Library Home VCSU Home Blackboard Off Campus Access Image Map

Citation Guide

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in research papers.

How to Cite ENCYCLOPEDIAS

APA Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your References list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of entry or article. Name of reference source (Vol. number, pp. pages). Place of Publication: Publisher.

Examples:
Home. (1989). In Oxford English dictionary (Vol. 8, p. 324). New York, NY: Oxford University Press.

Ring, A. A. (1997). Real estate. In Encyclopedia Americana (Vol. 16, pp. 213-214). Danbury, CT: Grolier.

The art of architecture. (2002). In Encyclopædia Britannica: Macropædia (Vol. 1, pp. 243-261). Chicago, IL: Encyclopædia Brittanica.

How to Cite ONLINE Encyclopedias

APA Online Encyclopedia Entry

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your References list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

 Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. Title of entry or article. In Name of editor (Ed.), Name of reference source. Retrieved from complete URL from authoritative website

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. Title of entry or article. In Name of reference source. doi: number

Example:,
E.B., & L.E. (2009). Dsylexia. In S. Wallace (Ed.), A Dictionary of education. Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?entry=t267.e294&srn=1&ssid=134131251#FIRSTHIT

Photonics. In The Columbia Encyclopedia. (6th ed.). Retrieved from http://www.encyclopedia.com/doc/1E1-photonics.html

 

Guttentag, J. Demand clause. In Mortgage encyclopedia. doi: 10.1036/0071458492