Student Training

OverDrive is the library's primary resource for popular ebooks and audiobooks, and it is currently the only resource the library offers that allows you to download the books/audiobooks directly to a device.  Review our guide:  Click here for our own OverDrive Libguide.

The link to Library on the Go may be found in several locations on the library's website.  The avenue we will want to direct our patrons to is on the library's homepage.  Scroll down to the bottom and click on the link eBooks & Audiobooks, then select the first link to Library on the Go.  the eBooks & Audiobooks page also displays a number of other ebook/audiobook options for our patrons to enjoy.

Individuals can still download ebooks and audiobooks to their devices, in addition to enjoying them from their browser.  If they would like more information, refer them to guide above, or ask them to get in touch with Al.

Many - but not all - of our ebooks and audiobooks are listed in the Library's catalog. A simple catalog search will include ebooks, unless you have used the filters to limit to specific formats. The following is a screen capture of some results from a catalog title search for "Hobbit:"

The first highlighted option above is the Hobbit as an audiobook, which is indicted as Digital Audio in the catalog. The second highlighted option is the Hobbit as an ebook, indicated as such by the Online Book format.  Notice that both electronic options do not appear in the catalog as "Available," but instead display "Online access."  Use these clues to determine whether you are viewing a record for an electronic book.

Additionally, we have several options for ebooks and audiobooks listed on the eBooks and Audiobooks page on the website.

• The EBSCO EBook Collection is listed in our catalog, along with books from Library on the Go. It provides access to a number of books related to library science, health, education, technology, and other subjects. Patrons can use this resource to read directly from their browser, or print segments of the book.
• Ebook Central offers nearly 100,000 ebooks across all subject. Books from Ebook Central will display in an Everything search, but will not be identified as Online Books. The best way to find books in Ebook Central is to go directly to the Ebook Central site from our databases page, or use WorldCat.
• ACLS Humanities E-Book will be less often used. This resource provides access to humanities-related texts that can be read from the browser.  English and History students are most likely to use this database.
• Tumblebook Library provides access to childrens' books, games, and puzzles.
• Audiobook Cloud provides streaming access to popular fiction audiobooks.
• Naxos Books also provides streaming access to audiobooks, but the content is more overtly educational in nature.