Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (617.48 M47c )
Publication Date: 2016-12-01
This book provides a broad introduction to the important topic of concussive brain injury that considers historical, medical, research-based, and legal and ethical perspectives. * Examines the topic of concussions from historical and legal/ethical perspectives as well as medical perspectives and provides insights into current issues and controversies * Includes excerpts from primary source documents that provide additional information and bolster students' critical thinking skills * Provides a full complement of research tools for students: a timeline, glossary, index, and sources for additional information
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (650.10875 H2559a )
Publication Date: 2016-06-16
How to harness your ADHD “hunter” strengths to start your own business and prosper in the workplace • Provides organizational strategies, tips to maintain focus, and tools to set goals, build a business plan, and discover the right project to keep you motivated • Shares ADHD success stories from Fortune 500 CEOs, inventors, small business owners, and the author’s own experience in launching new businesses • Explains the positive side of ADHD behavior in the context of creating a business, working within an existing company, and raising children with ADHD Most people do not “grow out” of Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD) or Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD). For many, their ADHD traits have led to difficulties in school, relationships, and work. But for our hunter-gatherer ancestors these characteristics were necessary for survival. Hunters must be easily distractible, constantly scanning their environment, and unafraid of taking risks. When humanity experienced the agricultural revolution 10,000 years ago, a vastly different type of personality--the methodical “Farmer”--became dominant. Most of our modern world is tailored to this Farmer personality, from 9-to-5 jobs to the structure of public schools, leaving ADHD Hunters feeling like unsuccessful outcasts. However, the Hunter skill set offers many opportunities for success in today’s Farmer society--if you learn how to embrace your ADHD traits instead of fighting against them. In this step-by-step guide, Thom Hartmann explains the positive side of Hunter behavior. He reveals how Hunters make excellent entrepreneurs, sharing ADHD success stories from Fortune 500 CEOs, inventors, small business owners, and his own hands-on experience in launching new businesses. Drawing on solid scientific and psychological principles, he provides easy-to-follow organizational strategies, tips to maintain focus and create a distraction-free workspace, and tools to set goals, build a business plan, and discover the right business project to keep you motivated. Hartmann shares valuable advice for both the Hunter entrepreneur and the Hunter within an existing company and for curtailing the aggressive side of the Hunter personality in group situations or manager positions. Revealing the many ADHD opportunities hidden within the challenges of work, relationships, and day-to-day life, Hartmann also includes tips on navigating family relationships and parenting--for most Hunter parents are also raising Hunter children.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (616.85 N981s )
Publication Date: 2014-10-14
Delving into a topic of perennial interest and concern, particularly among teenagers, this important volume addresses the full range of issues related to suicide and suggests ways to help those who struggle. * Examines the topic from a variety of perspectives and provides insights into current issues and controversies, such as doctor-assisted suicide * Discusses suicide among a variety of age groups and social classes, not just teenagers and college students * Draws on the author's 40 years of clinical and academic experience as well as on the most up-to-date scholarly and professional literature * Serves as a gateway to other resources and further study
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (613.04 M288i 2015 )
Publication Date: 2015-12-04
Integrative Women's Health remains the only in-depth, broad-based reference on integrative women's health written for health professionals. It helps providers address not only women's reproductive health, but also conditions that manifest differently in women than in men, includingcardiovascular disease, arthritis, HIV, depression, and cancer. The text presents the best evidence, in a clinically relevant manner, for the safe and effective use of herbs, vitamins, diet, and mind-body strategies alongside conventional medical treatments. As leading educators in integrativemedicine, editors Dr. Maizes and Dr. Low Dog demonstrate how clinicians can implement their recommendations in practice, going beyond practical care to examine how to motivate patients, enhance a health history, and understand the spiritual dimensions of healing. In managing the patient, alternativetherapies are never seen as substitutes for mainstream medical care, but always "integrated" into the overall regimen, and always subjected to the best available evidence. New to this second edition are chapters on environmental medicine and women's reproduction, thyroid health, and lesbian health.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (613 B3881c )
Publication Date: 2015-07-27
We follow celebrities on Twitter and Facebook, watch them on television, and read about them in supermarket checkout lines. Our relationship with celebrities has never been so immediate. Their personal trials are news headlines and water cooler talk. Offering the first extensive look at celebrity health sagas, this book examines the ways in which their stories become our stories, influencing public perception and framing dialog about wellness, disease and death. These private-yet-public narratives drive fund-raising, reduce stigma and influence policy. Celebrities such as Mary Tyler Moore, Robin Roberts, Michael J. Fox, and Christopher Reeve--as well as 200 others included in the study--have left a lasting legacy.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (618.92 H8723L )
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Is ADHD a curse or a blessing--or a neurological difference that you can thrive with? Living Well with ADHD accepts the scientific evidence that ADHD can have disabling effects, but it challenges "disability thinking." It is less about coping with disability than using abilities; less about changing your brain than living skillfully with it. Living Well with ADHD presents a different way to think about your difference. It encourages you to take charge of your life. It is not about overcoming a problem, but living mindfully and competently, and making the best of your creative potential. This book is based on the real-world, personal and clinical experiences of author Terry Huff, psychotherapist and founder of an enduring and popular ADHD support group.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (610.73 F4138n )
Publication Date: 2015-09-29
Here is the current authoritative tool you need as you weigh potential ethical issues and make important decisions for you and your patients. Nurse's Legal Handbook works as your personal legal nurse consultant, with practical direction on how to navigate legal ethics, pitfalls, and preventative steps. This indispensable handbook demonstrates the issues with recent nursing malpractice cases, to help you be protected and informed regarding your legal rights, risks, and responsibilities as a nurse. Get informed on current laws, practice standards, and areas of legal liability ... · NEW Current laws and trends in litigation that affect nursing · NEW Current legal/ethical controversies, including: the definition of death; the nurse's response to a patient request to stop treatment · NEW Legal guidance on: o How to protect yourself from being sued for nursing negligence o The importance of professional liability insurance o The litigation process, and the four elements needed to prove nursing negligence or malpractice o Signs you are at risk for civil or criminal prosecution o What to do if you are named as a defendant o Testifying as a nurse expert o Nursing documentation as the best courtroom evidence o How testifying experts use medical records in malpractice litigation o The effects of Good Samaritan Laws on nursing o Making ethical decisions; ethical relationships with patients and coworkers o Your employee rights; the meanings of employee contracts; and whistleblowing · NEW How the states' Nurse Practice Acts and the current American Nurse Association (ANA) Scope and Standards of Nursing Practice regulate quality of care · NEW How nursing standards and hospital policies affect court decisions · NEW Ethical issues raised by landmark cases: End of life, quality of life; laws such as the Patient Self-Determination Act; violence against nurses and the ANA's response · Crucial information for advanced practice nurses and nurse practitioners, legal nurse consultants, risk managers, critical care nurses, medical/surgical nurses, nurse attorneys, emergency nurses, long-term care nurses, and nurse educators
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (362.10425 N9179b )
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
The healthcare sector is on the cusp of sweeping disruption. The hallmarks of the old system--pricing that's disconnected from outcomes and incentives for treating sickness rather than maintaining health--are no longer sustainable. And yet, after decades of financial success, it's difficult for most established industry players to grapple with meaningful changes to their business models. In their latest book, Bringing Value to Healthcare: Practical Steps for Getting to a Market-Based Model,Rita Numerof and Michael Abrams lay out the roadmap to a healthcare system that is accountable for delivering optimal patient outcomes at a sustainable cost. Based on in-depth research and decades of experience consulting with leading hospitals, insurers, and device and drug manufacturers, Numerof and Abrams provide a market-based approach to addressing the ills of the current healthcare system. In addition to highlighting industry challenges and opportunities, the authors also outline the changes required of consumers, employers, and policy makers to move to a patient-centered model characterized by value, accountability, and transparency. This is thehandbook for payer, provider, pharmaceutical, and medical device executives who are seeking to preserve today's profitability while positioning their organizations for success in the very different markets of tomorrow. The book's guidance is illuminated by case studies and each chapter concludes with a self-assessment tool and key questions. Getting to a new future isn't easy. But if it can't be envisioned, it can't be realized. Bringing Value to Healthcareis that critical first step.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (362.108 G489g )
Publication Date: 2016-07-26
Over millions of years, male and female bodies developed crucial physiological differences to improve the chances for human survival. These differences have become culturally obsolete with the overturning of traditional gender roles. But they are nevertheless very real, and they go well beyond the obvious sexual and reproductive variances: men and women differ in terms of digestion, which affects the way medications are absorbed. Sensitivity to pain is dependent on gender. Even the symptoms of a heart attack manifest differently in a man than in a woman.And yet the medical establishment largely treats male and female patients as though their needs are identical. In fact, medical research is still done predominately on men, and the results are then applied to the treatment of women. This is clearly problematic and calls for a paradigm change--such a paradigm change is the purpose of Gender Medicine.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (362.295 F833m )
Publication Date: 2013-08-07
In 2012, voters in Colorado shocked the political establishment by making the use of marijuana legal for anyone in the state twenty-one years of age or older. In the wake of that unprecedented victory, nationally recognized marijuana-policy experts Steve Fox, Paul Armentano, and Mason Tvert revisit the "Marijuana Is Safer" message that contributed to the campaign's success--as the first edition of this book predicted it would in 2009. In this updated and expanded edition, the authors include a new chapter on the victory in Colorado and updates on a growing mountain of research that supports their position. Through an objective examination of marijuana and alcohol, and the laws and social practices that steer people toward the latter, the authors pose a simple yet rarely considered question: Why do we punish adults who make the rational, safer choice to use marijuana instead of alcohol? For those unfamiliar with marijuana, Marijuana Is Safer provides an introduction to the cannabis plant and its effects on the user, and debunks some of the government's most frequently cited marijuana myths. More importantly, for the millions of Americans who want to advance the cause of marijuana policy reform--or simply want to defend their own personal, safer choice--this book provides the talking points and detailed information needed to make persuasive arguments to friends, family, coworkers, elected officials and, of course, future voters.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (615.32345 M1901m )
Publication Date: 2000-12-30
Some people suffer from chronic, debilitating disorders for which no conventional treatment brings relief. Can marijuana ease their symptoms? Would it be breaking the law to turn to marijuana as a medication? There are few sources of objective, scientifically sound advice for people in this situation. Most books about marijuana and medicine attempt to promote the views of advocates or opponents. To fill the gap between these extremes, authors Alison Mack and Janet Joy have extracted critical findings from a recent Institute of Medicine study on this important issue, interpreting them for a general audience. Marijuana As Medicine? provides patients--as well as the people who care for them--with a foundation for making decisions about their own health care. This empowering volume examines several key points, including: Whether marijuana can relieve a variety of symptoms, including pain, muscle spasticity, nausea, and appetite loss. The dangers of smoking marijuana, as well as the effects of its active chemical components on the immune system and on psychological health. The potential use of marijuana-based medications on symptoms of AIDS, cancer, multiple sclerosis, and several other specific disorders, in comparison with existing treatments. Marijuana As Medicine? introduces readers to the active compounds in marijuana. These include the principal ingredient in Marinol, a legal medication. The authors also discuss the prospects for developing other drugs derived from marijuana's active ingredients. In addition to providing an up-to-date review of the science behind the medical marijuana debate, Mack and Joy also answer common questions about the legal status of marijuana, explaining the conflict between state and federal law regarding its medical use. Intended primarily as an aid to patients and caregivers, this book objectively presents critical information so that it can be used to make responsible health care decisions. Marijuana As Medicine? will also be a valuable resource for policymakers, health care providers, patient counselors, medical faculty and students--in short, anyone who wants to learn more about this important issue.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (613.2 W7327i )
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
“This is a hugely informative book, stocked full of careful analysis.”—Amy Best, Associate Professor of Sociology, George Mason University Accused by many of creating a global health crisis, the American diet has been a source of controversy for years. The way Americans eat—and the disastrous health problems that can often result--is debated on daytime talk shows and in political arenas, written about in bestselling manifestos, and exposed in Oscar-nominated documentaries. Yet, despite all the attention from the media and the scientific community, few studies have looked seriously at the mass-market forces underlying our Western diet. In The Industrial Diet, Anthony Winson chronicles the forces that have transformed our natural resources into an industry that produces edible commodities, an industry that far too often subverts our well-being instead of nourishing us. Tracing the industrial diet’s history from its roots in the nineteenth century through to the present day, Winson looks at the role of technology, population growth, and political and economic factors in the constitution and transformation of mass dietary regimes. In addition to providing new evidence linking broad-based dietary changes with negative health effects in the developed and developing world, Winson also outlines realistic and innovative strategies that can lead to a healthier future. A fresh new look at the degradation of food and the emergent struggle for healthful eating, this book is an eye-opening tour of the state of nutrition and food culture today.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (615.8222 K8349a )
Publication Date: 2007-10-29
A fully illustrated and comprehensive reference guide to acupressure • Provides acupressure treatments tailored for a wide variety of health disorders, including back pain, heart and circulatory problems, and even the common cold • Contains step-by-step instructions illustrated in full color for self-treatment or treatment of a partner • A simultaneous hardcover and paperback release Trouble sleeping, sensitive stomach, headaches, joint problems, allergies: Sensory ailments such as these have been steadily increasing in Western countries for decades. Acupressure--massage along the body’s meridians in accordance with traditional Chinese medicine--can effectively prevent and treat all of these disorders, and more. The Acupressure Atlas is a fully illustrated and comprehensive reference guide that demonstrates how acupressure techniques activate and accelerate the body’s self-healing powers to alleviate many health problems, including even the common cold. Acupressure confers a holistic health benefit that prevents disorder from arising by harmonizing and balancing the body’s energies. It is particularly suited to self-treatment, the treatment of a partner, and especially the treatment of children. Along with an introduction to the origins and principles of traditional Chinese medicine, The Acupressure Atlas provides the most important basic techniques as well as step-by-step instructions, illustrated in full color, of the practical and specific information needed to put the healing techniques of acupressure at your fingertips.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (615.321 Sch572h )
Publication Date: 2011-11-08
Explores science's new biological understanding of essential oils for improved immunity and treatment of degenerative diseases * Explains how essential oils convey the complex natural healing powers of plants, offering scientifically proven advantages over synthetic drugs * Offers revolutionary essential oil treatments to ameliorate the side effects of chemotherapy and other cancer treatments as well as for hepatitis, osteoporosis, liver detoxification, and the prevention of UV damage and melanoma * Presents simple recipes and protocols for strengthening the immune system; for treatment of common ailments, such as colds, flu, herpes, and candida; and for pain management Exploring science's new biological understanding of essential oils and their advantages over synthetic drugs, renowned aromatherapist Kurt Schnaubelt reveals how the effectiveness of essential oil treatments stems from our common biochemical and cellular heritage with plants. He explains how essential oils preserve a plant's complex natural life-supporting and immune-building qualities, developed through millions of years of interaction with animals and humans. Reviewing recent research in molecular, cellular, and evolutionary biology, he shows how the multilayered activity of plant essences helps maintain the integrity of our genetic code--the reason why pathogens cannot develop resistance toward essential oils as they do with antibiotics and antivirals--making essential oils a more effective and sustainable form of treatment for a variety of health problems. Laying to rest old arguments over essential oils' alleged toxicity and whether they can be ingested or used undiluted, Schnaubelt presents simple recipes and protocols for treating and preventing common ailments, such as colds, flu, herpes, and candida, as well as for pain management. Offering new essential oil treatment opportunities for hepatitis, osteoporosis, liver detoxification, and the prevention of UV damage and melanoma, he shows how essential oils can also ameliorate the debilitating side effects of chemotherapy and other cancer treatments as well as how even home use of essential oils for relaxation or skin care can help build one's immunity and overall well-being.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (613.7046 G5643p )
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
A history of yoga’s transformation from sacred discipline to exercise program to embodied spiritual practice • Identifies the origin of exercise yoga as India’s response to the mania for exercise sweeping the West in the early 20th century • Examines yoga’s transformations through the lives and accomplishments of 11 key figures, including Sri Yogendra, K. V. Iyer, Louise Morgan, Krishnamacharya, Swami Sivananda, Indra Devi, and B. K. S. Iyengar • Draws on more than 10 years of research from rare primary sources and includes 99 illustrations In The Path of Modern Yoga, Elliott Goldberg shows how yoga was transformed from a sacred practice into a health and fitness regime for middle-class Indians in the early 20th century and then gradually transformed over the course of the 20th century into an embodied spiritual practice--a yoga for our times. Drawing on more than 10 years of research from rare primary sources as well as recent scholarship, Goldberg tells the sweeping story of modern yoga through the remarkable lives and accomplishments of 11 key figures: six Indian yogis (Sri Yogendra, Swami Kuvalayananda, S. Sundaram, T. Krishnamacharya, Swami Sivananda, and B. K. S. Iyengar), an Indian bodybuilder (K. V. Iyer), a rajah (Bhavanarao Pant Pratinidhi), an American-born journalist (Louise Morgan), an Indian diplomat (Apa Pant), and a Russian-born yogi trained in India (Indra Devi). The author places their achievements within the context of such Western trends as the physical culture movement, the commodification of exercise, militant nationalism, jazz age popular entertainment, the quest for youth and beauty, and 19th-century New Age religion. In chronicling how the transformation of yoga from sacred discipline to exercise program allowed for the creation of an embodied spiritual practice, Goldberg presents an original, authoritative, provocative, and illuminating interpretation of the history of modern yoga.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (615.83 G5695h )
Publication Date: 2002-06-01
The first book to explain from both scientific and spiritual perspectives the healing and transformative powers of harmonics. * Includes practical exercises demonstrating how to use sound in healing and meditation, including "Vowels as Mantras" and "Overtoning". * Describes how harmonics can be used as "sonic yoga" for meditation and deep relaxation to enhance energy. * Author won 1999 Visionary Awards for Best Healing-Meditation Album. The Mystery Schools of Egypt, Greece, and Rome understood that vibration is the fundamental active force in the universe and developed specific chants and tones for healing the mind, body, and spirit and achieving altered states of consciousness. Overtone chanting--also called vocal harmonics--is the ability of the human voice to create two or more notes at the same time. Healing Sounds explains how to perform vocal harmonics and experience their transformative and curative powers. An internationally recognized master teacher, the author provides diverse examples of sound healing systems incorporating both mystical and medical traditions--from Tibetan monks' use of tantric harmonics to Dr. Alfred Tomatis' use of Gregorian chanting--and their capacity to affect us on all levels. With many easy-to-follow exercises, Healing Sounds is the first book to show from both the scientific and spiritual viewpoints how to use the transformative power of sound for healing on physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual levels.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (613.954 C4304h )
Publication Date: 2005-07-15
A new edition of the bestseller • The first book to reveal in the West the Taoist techniques that enable women to cultivate and enhance their sexual energy • Reveals Taoist secrets for shortening menstruation, reducing cramps, and compressing more chi into the ovaries for greater sexual power • Teaches the practice of total body orgasm For thousands of years the sexual principles and techniques presented here were taught by Taoist masters in secret only to a small number of people (sworn to silence), in the royal courts and esoteric circles of China. This is the first book to make this ancient knowledge available to the West. The foundation of healing love is the cultivation, transformation, and circulation of sexual energy, known as jing. Jing energy is creative, generative energy that is vital for the development of chi (vital life-force energy) and shen (spiritual energy), which enables higher practices of spiritual development. Jing is produced in the sexual organs, and it is energy women lose continually through menstruation and child bearing. Mantak Chia teaches powerful techniques developed by Taoist masters for the conservation of jing and how it is used to revitalize women's physical, mental, and spiritual well-being. Among the many benefits conferred by these practices are a reduction in the discomfort caused by menstruation and the ability to attain full-body orgasm.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (615.321 H7776s )
Publication Date: 2016-02-12
A guided exploration of herbal lore and healing plants found in yards, forests, meadows, and hedgerows • Draws on traditional knowledge and remedies from around the world, including Native American, Celtic, and Egyptian traditions • Provides simple recipes to safely make herbal remedies from local plants and honey for first aid, immune support, and treatment of common ailments • Details the “triangle” formula-making system of William LeSassier • Explains how to work with plant spirits, herbal astrology, and Animal Spirit Medicine Weaving together ancient wisdom, mystical folklore, and modern plant research, master herbalist Ellen Evert Hopman explores the many uses of flowers, trees, common weeds, and ornamental plants for food, medicine, spiritual growth, and magical rituals. She reveals the herbal lore surrounding each plant, drawing on traditional knowledge and remedies from around the world, including Native American, Celtic, and Egyptian traditions. She includes recipes throughout so you can make medicines from wild and domesticated plants easily found in yards, forests, meadows, and hedgerows, and she discusses what to plant to ensure you have leaves, berries, and flowers all year. The author reveals how to quickly intuit an unknown plant’s properties using the signatures of plants--universal indications and contraindications based on the form, color, and location of a plant. She includes an in-depth section on honey and Bee Medicine, allowing you to appreciate the labors of these plant-dependent insects. Exploring the magical role of herbs in ancient ritual, Hopman provides recipes for Egyptian temple incense and their sacred medicine known as “Kyphi” or “Kaphet,” used to purify the body, banish insomnia, and promote vivid dreaming. She explores shamanic Plant Spirit and Animal Spirit Medicine as well as herbal astrology. She also explains the “triangle” formula-making system of her herbal mentor William LeSassier to help you develop custom herbal remedies tailored to a person’s unique strengths and weaknesses. Showing how to easily incorporate wild plants into your life to receive their healing benefits throughout the seasons, Hopman reveals the power of the bounty that Mother Nature has provided right at our doorstep.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (615.854 G268p )
Publication Date: 2011-05-27
Combining your body's Paleolithic needs with modern nutritional and medical research for complete mind-body wellness * Provides sustainable diet strategies to curb sugar cravings, promote fat burning and weight loss, reduce stress and anxiety, improve sleep and moods, increase energy and immunity, and enhance memory and brain function * Shows how our modern diet leads to weight gain and "diseases of civilization"--such as cancer, osteoporosis, metabolic syndrome, heart disease, and ADD * Explains how diet affects the brain, hormone balance, and the aging process and the crucial role of vitamin D in cancer and disease prevention Examining the healthy lives of our pre-agricultural Paleolithic ancestors and the marked decline in stature, bone density, and dental health and the increase in birth defects, malnutrition, and disease following the implementation of the agricultural lifestyle, Nora Gedgaudas shows how our modern grain- and carbohydrate-heavy low-fat diets are a far cry from the high-fat, moderate-protein hunter-gatherer diets we are genetically programmed for, leading not only to lifelong weight gain but also to cravings, mood disorders, cognitive problems, and "diseases of civilization"--such as cancer, osteoporosis, metabolic syndrome (insulin resistance), heart disease, and mental illness. Applying modern discoveries to the basic hunter-gatherer diet, she culls from vast research in evolutionary physiology, biochemistry, metabolism, nutrition, and chronic and degenerative disease to unveil a holistic lifestyle for true mind-body health and longevity. Revealing the primal origins and physiological basis for a high-fat, moderate-protein, starch-free diet and the importance of adequate omega-3 intake--critical to our brain and nervous system but sorely lacking in most people's diets--she explains the nutritional problems of grains, gluten, soy, dairy, and starchy vegetables; which natural fats promote health and which (such as canola oil) harm it; the crucial role of vitamin D in cancer and disease prevention; the importance of saturated fat and cholesterol; and how diet affects mental health, memory, cognitive function, hormonal balance, and cellular aging. With step-by-step guidelines, recipes, and meal recommendations, this book offers sustainable strategies for a primally based, yet modern approach to diet and exercise to reduce stress and anxiety, lose weight, improve sleep and mood, increase energy and immunity, enhance brain function, save money on groceries, and live longer and happier.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (613.71 An437s )
Publication Date: 2012-10-09
Conscious breathing practices for health, healing, and connecting with the sacred * Provides 57 conscious breathing and visualization practices * Shows how awareness of the breath can relieve stress and anxiety, improve sleep and digestion, increase creativity and mental focus, promote emotional calm, boost energy levels, clear negative energy, and provide support for physical healing * Explains how to use breathwork to commune with the elements and the sacred as well as how to train your voice for more effective chanting and prayer All effective healing begins with the breath, for our breath carries life force into our bodies. By becoming aware of our breathing, we can refine our receptivity to subtle energies for both self-healing and healing others and recognize our connection to all other living, breathing beings on Earth. Providing 57 conscious breathing and visualization practices, Jack Angelo shows how breathwork can relieve stress and anxiety, improve sleep and digestion, increase creativity and mental focus, promote emotional calm, boost energy levels, enhance meditation, clear negative energy, and provide support for physical healing. He explains how to use breathwork to commune with the elements and the sacred as well as how to train your voice for more effective chanting and prayer. He shows how, through conscious breathing, we can harness the healing life force available in each breath for energetic balance, heightened consciousness, and overall wellness as well as a deeper connection to the sacred source of all life.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (615.854 V442a )
Publication Date: 2006-07-10
This expanded second edition provides the latest information on restoring your body's acid-alkaline balance * Discusses the role of enzyme supplements, prebiotic and probiotic complexes, and antioxidants in neutralizing and eliminating acids * Addresses the relationship of proper hydration to essential enzyme activity and acid elimination * Outlines a sample alkaline detoxification diet Most people consume an abundance of highly processed foods that acidify the body. As a result, they are afflicted with health problems ranging from minor skin irritations, chronic fatigue, back pain, and depression to arthritis, ulcers, and osteoporosis. To enjoy optimum health, the body needs balanced quantities of alkaline and acid substances. In The Acid-Alkaline Diet for Optimum Health, naturopath and detoxification expert Christopher Vasey shows how a simple change in diet to restore your acid-alkaline balance can result in vast improvements in health. With two new chapters, this updated and expanded second edition provides the latest information on proper hydration and deacidification, important alkalizing supplements, and how to eliminate the body's accumulated acids through intestinal cleansing. It also includes a new, detailed example of an alkaline detoxifying diet. Rather than organizing alkaline and acid foods based on their chemical composition, Vasey categorizes foods by their effect on the body, explaining that some foods, such as fruits, can have either an alkalizing or an acidifying effect, depending on who eats them. He describes how to determine your acid levels and how to design a diet best suited for your particular health needs.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (615.5 G3134v )
Publication Date: 2001-03-01
The original comprehensive guide to energetic healing with a new preface by the author and updated resources. * Explores the actual science of etheric energies, replacing the Newtonian worldview with a new model based on Einstein's physics of energy. * Summarizes key points at the end of each chapter to help the serious student absorb and retain the wealth of information presented. Vibrational Medicine has gained widespread acceptance by individuals, schools, and health-care institutions nationwide as the textbook of choice for the study of alternative medicine. Trained in a variety of alternative therapies as well as conventional Western medicine, Dr. Gerber provides an encyclopedic treatment of energetic healing, covering subtle-energy fields, acupuncture, Bach flower remedies, homeopathy, radionics, crystal healing, electrotherapy, radiology, chakras, meditation, and psychic healing. He explains current theories about how various energy therapies work and offers readers new insights into the physical and spiritual perspectives of health and disease.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (613.69 F4911p )
Publication Date: 2016-09-13
A HANDY GUIDE TO FIELD-TESTED MEDICAL PROCEDURES SPECIFICALLY DESIGNED FOR CRITICAL TIMES WHEN NO DOCTOR IS AVAILABLE When disaster strikes and no doctors are available, you'll have to rely on your own medical knowledge to survive.Prepper's Survival Medicine Handbook goes beyond basic first aid to teach you military-tested methods for treating life-threatening medical conditions, including: * Gunshot wounds * Third degree burns * Radiation exposure * Broken bones * Ruptured arteries * Severed limbs * Poisonous snakebites * Anaphylactic shock The author, an emergency responder, details step-by-step treatment for everything from hypothermia and heat stroke to seizures and cardiac emergencies. Using information from actual military field manuals, this book provides everything you need to keep you and your loved ones safe when there's nowhere else to turn.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (617 C826a )
Publication Date: 2016-02-25
Being injured is a simple fact of life. Whether it's a sprain, broken bone or disc injury, these usually occur at inconvenient times. However, how you deal with that injury or after a required surgery can determine how you function the rest of your life. In Accelerated Recovery of Your Health: How to Recover Your Body After Injury or Surgery, readers will learn techniques to heal their body faster than previous generations with fewer complications. After all, getting you back on your feet is what it's all about. Learn from Dr. Cotler's experience as an orthopedic surgeon trained in the treatment of traumatic injuries and spinal surgery. By following the accelerated recovery methods detailed in this book, you will be better equipped to deal with whatever curveball life throws your way.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (294.5436 J599c )
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
* Revised and expanded edition of the classic work on chakras by the renowned Indian scholar and tantra practitioner. * Includes full-color illustrations of the chakras to be used with the meditation exercises in the book and provides the tools necessary to activate these centers of transformative energy. In the ancient science of tantra, the human body is viewed as the most perfect instrument for the expression of consciousness, a perfection realized through the development of psychic centers known as chakras. Located within the cerebrospinal system, the chakras are the stage upon which the interaction between higher consciousness and desire is played out. Consequently, it is through understanding and utilizing the energies of the chakras that we ultimately reach an enlightened state of being. In Chakras, Indian scholar and tantra practitioner Harish Johari introduces the classical principles of the chakras as well as their practical application for today. In this expanded edition, complete with new art and text, he unfolds the mysteries of these subtle centers of transformation with visualization techniques essential to a fully realized tantric practice. Unlike other books in its field, Chakras provides the tools to activate these centers of transformative energy and elevate one's intellectual knowledge to an experience of spiritual growth. Meditating on the beautiful, full-color illustrations of each chakra vitalizes the cerebrospinal centers and harmonizes the entire system both physically and psychically. Explanations of each chakra elaborate on the chakra's connection to elements, colors, sounds, sense and work organs, desires, planets and deities, as well as on behavioral characteristics and particular effects of meditation. For scholars and spiritual aspirants of every level, Chakras is an invaluable, practical source of information and techniques.