Skip to main content
Banner Image Get Help Services About Allen Memorial Library Home VCSU Home Blackboard Off Campus Access Image Map

Citation Guide

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in research papers.

How to Cite ONLINE Encyclopedias

 MLA Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your Works Cited list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

 Author's Last Name, First Name Middle Initial. "Title of Entry or Article." Name of Reference Source. edition. Location: Publisher, Year of Publication. Name of database. Web. Date of access.

Examples:

For general encyclopedias:
“Concrete." The Columbia Encyclopedia. Credo Reference, search.credoreference.com/content/entry/columency/concrete/0?searchId=7897fd14-a6a5-11e6-8b62-0a80f32943a1&result=0. Accessed 9 Nov. 2016.

For subject encyclopedias:

Mariani, John F. "Chop Suey." The Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink, Bloomsbury, 2014. Credo Referencesearch.credoreference.com/content/entry/bloomfood/chop_suey/0?searchId=ec62ef40-a6a5-11e6-9f2a-1207b0fa605f&result=0. Accessed 9 Dec. 2015.

 

How to Cite GENERAL Encyclopedias

MLA General Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your Works Cited list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

  Author's Last Name, First Name Middle Initial. "Title of Entry or Article." Title of Reference Source. edition, year.

Examples:
"Home." Oxford English Dictionary. 2nd ed., 1989.

Ring, Arnold A. "Real Estate." Encyclopedia Americana. 1997.

"The Art of Architecture." Encyclopædia Britannica: Macropædia. 15th ed., 2002.

How to Cite SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS

MLA Subject Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your Works Cited list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

Last Name, First Name Middle Initial. "Title of Entry or Article." Title of Reference Source, edited by Editor's Name(s), edition, vol. number, Publisher, year.

 Examples:
Novak, Sarah A. "Personal Relationships and Obesity." Encyclopedia of Obesity, edited by Kathleen Keller, vol. 2, Sage Publications, 2008.

Barr, Robert D., and William H. Parrett. "Alternative Schooling." Encyclopedia of Education, edited by James W. Guthrie, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Macmillan Reference USA, 2003.

Lyas, Colin. "Goethe, Johann Wolfgang von." Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner, vol. 12, Grove's Dictionary, 1996.