Research Guides: COMM 212: Interpersonal Communication: Find Articles: Recommended Resources

Welcome

Welcome to the COMM 212 research guide. This guide will help you use library resources to find peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles. This page includes an Articles+ search box and links to recommended databases for finding scholarly articles in Communication. For more in-depth guidance, see the Articles+ Tips and Database Tips pages. For an explanation of the peer review process and its significance to scholarly research, check out the quick 3 minute video on the What is peer review? page.

Articles+ Search

This search box is the same one found under the Articles+ tab on the library homepage. It searches through several of the library's databases simultaneously, and can be helpful if you're not sure where to start. See the Articles+ Tips page for detailed instructions on using the Articles+ search to find peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles.

Recommended Resources

The following databases all provide access to peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles. While they each work a bit differently, their overall function is similar. For specific tips on finding peer-reviewed articles using each of these databases, see the Database Tips page.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a general coverage database providing full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals across a wide range of disciplines, including history, social science, library science, computer science, language and literature, art, education, and life sciences.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Expanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide-range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database providing archival access to scholarly journals in the arts, language and literature, history, sciences, and social sciences. Typically, the most recent three to five years of a journal are not available through JSTOR.

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Be aware that some of the results that Google Scholar returns will not be peer-reviewed journal articles. For information about configuring Google Scholar for off-campus use, click the green question mark.