Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (323.44 J7217c )
Publication Date: 2016-03-29
A gripping insight into the digital debate over data ownership, permanence and policy "This is going on your permanent record!" is a threat that has never held more weight than it does in the Internet Age, when information lasts indefinitely. The ability to make good on that threat is as democratized as posting a Tweet or making blog. Data about us is created, shared, collected, analyzed, and processed at an overwhelming scale. The damage caused can be severe, affecting relationships, employment, academic success, and any number of other opportunities--and it can also be long lasting. One possible solution to this threat? A digital right to be forgotten, which would in turn create a legal duty to delete, hide, or anonymize information at the request of another user. The highly controversial right has been criticized as a repugnant affront to principles of expression and access, as unworkable as a technical measure, and as effective as trying to put the cat back in the bag. Ctrl+Z breaks down the debate and provides guidance for a way forward. It argues that the existing perspectives are too limited, offering easy forgetting or none at all. By looking at new theories of privacy and organizing the many potential applications of the right, law and technology scholar Meg Leta Jones offers a set of nuanced choices. To help us choose, she provides a digital information life cycle, reflects on particular legal cultures, and analyzes international interoperability. In the end, the right to be forgotten can be innovative, liberating, and globally viable.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (005.8 P368d )
Publication Date: 2015-11-03
Drs. Pelton and Singh warn of the increasing risks of cybercrime and lay out a series of commonsense precautions to guard against individual security breaches. This guide clearly explains the technology at issue, the points of weakness and the best ways to proactively monitor and maintain the integrity of individual networks. Covering both the most common personal attacks of identity fraud, phishing, malware and breach of access as well as the larger threats against companies and governmental systems, the authors explain the vulnerabilities of the internet age. As more and more of life's transactions take place online, the average computer user and society at large have a lot to lose. All users can take steps to secure their information. Cybercrime is so subtle and hidden, people can ignore the threat until it is too late. Yet today about every three seconds a person is hit by some form of cyber attack out of the blue. Locking the "cyber-barn door" after a hacker has struck is way too late. Cyber security, cyber crime and cyber terrorism may seem to be intellectual crimes that don't really touch the average person, but the threat is real. Demystifying them is the most important step and this accessible explanation covers all the bases.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (794.8 K8496v )
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Do video games cause violent, aggressive behavior? Can online games help us learn? When it comes to video games, these are often the types of questions raised by popular media, policy makers, scholars, and the general public. In this collection, international experts review the latest research findings in the field of digital game studies and weigh in on the actual physical, social, and psychological effects of video games. Taking a broad view of the industry from the moral panic of its early days up to recent controversies surrounding games like Grand Theft Auto, contributors explore the effects of games through a range of topics including health hazards/benefits, education, violence and aggression, addiction, cognitive performance, and gaming communities. Interdisciplinary and accessibly written, The Video Game Debate reveals that the arguments surrounding the game industry are far from black and white, and opens the door to richer conversation and debate amongst students, policy makers, and scholars alike.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (303.4 Ar168o )
Publication Date: 2016-07-19
"Why did the New York Stock Exchange suspend trading without warning on July 8, 2015? Why did certain Toyota vehicles accelerate uncontrollably against the will of their drivers? Why does the programming inside our airplanes occasionally surprise it creators? After a thorough analysis by the top experts, the answers still elude us. Your don't understand the software running your car or your iPhone. But here's a secret- neither do the geniuses at Applie or the Ph.D.'s at Toyota-not perfectly, anyway. No one, not lawyers, doctors, accountants, or policy makers, fully grasps the rules governing your tax return =, your retirement account, or your hospital's medical machinery. The same technological advances that have simplified out lives have made the systems governing our lives incomprehensible, unpredictable, and overcomplicated. In Overcomplicated, complexity scientist Samuel Arbesman offers a fresh, insightful field guide to living with complex technologies that defy human comprehension. As technology grows more complex, Arbesman argues, its behavior mimics the vagaries of the natural world more than it conforms to a mathematical model. If we are to survive and thrive in this new age, we must abandon our need for governing principles and rules and accept the chaos. By embracing and observing the freak accidents and flukes that disrupt our lives, we can gain valuable clues about how our algorithms really work. What's more, we will become better thinkers, scientists, and innovators as a result. Lucid and energizing, this book is a vital new analysis of the world heralded as 'modern' for anyone who wants to live wisely. Advance praise for Overcomplicated"
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (025.042 Sch22t )
Publication Date: 2015-08-18
Stay current, meet educational standards, and keep your students coming back again and again by incorporating the latest technologies into your school library. * Includes a web companion that posts updates and keeps readers abreast of new products and changes in the field * Offers a series of case studies to test and challenge students * Addresses technology in the curriculum, including STEM and Common Core standards
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (006.8 W288a )
Publication Date: 2014-12-10
Augmented Reality (AR) is the blending of digital information in a real-world environment. A common example can be seen during any televised football game, in which information about the game is digitally overlaid on the field as the players move and position themselves. Another application is Google Glass, which enables users to see AR graphics and information about their location and surroundings on the lenses of their "digital eyewear", changing in real-time as they move about. Augmented Reality Law, Privacy, and Ethics is the first book to examine the social, legal, and ethical issues surrounding AR technology. Digital eyewear products have very recently thrust this rapidly-expanding field into the mainstream, but the technology is so much more than those devices. Industry analysts have dubbed AR the "eighth mass medium" of communications. Science fiction movies have shown us the promise of this technology for decades, and now our capabilities are finally catching up to that vision. Augmented Reality will influence society as fundamentally as the Internet itself has done, and such a powerful medium cannot help but radically affect the laws and norms that govern society. No author is as uniquely qualified to provide a big-picture forecast and guidebook for these developments as Brian Wassom. A practicing attorney, he has been writing on AR law since 2007 and has established himself as the world's foremost thought leader on the intersection of law, ethics, privacy, and AR. Augmented Reality professionals around the world follow his Augmented Legality® blog. This book collects and expands upon the best ideas expressed in that blog, and sets them in the context of a big-picture forecast of how AR is shaping all aspects of society. Augmented reality thought-leader Brian Wassom provides you with insight into how AR is changing our world socially, ethically, and legally. Includes current examples, case studies, and legal cases from the frontiers of AR technology. Learn how AR is changing our world in the areas of civil rights, privacy, litigation, courtroom procedure, addition, pornography, criminal activity, patent, copyright, and free speech. An invaluable reference guide to the impacts of this cutting-edge technology for anyone who is developing apps for it, using it, or affected by it in daily life.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (303.4833 R8959t )
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Why doesn't the explosive growth of companies like Facebook and Uber deliver more prosperity for everyone? What is the systemic problem that sets the rich against the poor and the technologists against everybody else? When protesters shattered the windows of a bus carrying Google employees to work, their anger may have been justifiable, but it was misdirected. The true conflict of our age isn't between the unemployed and the digital elite, or even the 99 percent and the 1 percent. Rather, a tornado of technological improvements has spun our economic program out of control, and humanity as a whole--the protesters and the Google employees as well as the shareholders and the executives--are all trapped by the consequences. It's time to optimize our economy for the human beings it's supposed to be serving. In this groundbreaking book, acclaimed media scholar and author Douglas Rushkoff tells us how to combine the best of human nature with the best of modern technology. Tying together disparate threads--big data, the rise of robots and AI, the increasing participation of algorithms in stock market trading, the gig economy, the collapse of the eurozone--Rushkoff provides a critical vocabulary for our economic moment and a nuanced portrait of humans and commerce at a critical crossroads.
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (384.30973 M6925h )
Publication Date: 2016-06-20
The spectacular cyber attack on Sony Pictures and costly hacks to Sony, Target, Home Depot, Neiman Marcus, and databases containing sensitive data on millions of U.S. federal workers have shocked the nation. Despite a new urgency for the president, Congress, law enforcement, and corporate America to address the growing threat, the hacks keep coming each one more pernicious than the last from China, Russia, Iran, North Korea, the Middle East, and points unknown. The continuing attacks raise a deeply disturbing question: Is the issue simply beyond the reach of our government, political leaders, business leaders, and technology visionaries to resolve? In Hacked, veteran cybersecurity journalist Charles Mitchell reveals the innovative, occasionally brilliant, and too-often hapless government and industry responses to growing cybersecurity threats. He examines the internal power struggles in the federal government, the paralysis on Capitol Hill, and the industry's desperate effort to stay ahead of both the bad guys and the government."
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (302.231 M131d )
Publication Date: 2014-09-02
Hailed as "important” (Truthdig) and praised for its "excellent insight” (Patricia J. Williams, The Nation), Digital Disconnect, by activist and "exemplary public intellectual” (Choice) Robert W. McChesney, skewers the assumption that a society drenched in information in a digital age is inherently a democratic one. A prescient examination of the relationship between the Internet and the economy--one that has become even more relevant since its publication in hardcover--the book argues that capitalism’s colonization of the Internet has spurred the collapse of credible journalism and made the Internet an unparalleled apparatus for government and corporate surveillance. "A provocative and far-reaching account of how capitalism has shaped the Internet in the United States” (Kirkus Reviews) and "an excellent analysis of the problem where a medium with the capacity to empower people is itself becoming a tool of social control” (Daily Kos), Digital Disconnect is both a groundbreaking critique of the Internet and an urgent call to reclaim the democratizing potential of the digital revolution while we still can.