Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (025.52778 L283e )
Publication Date: 2014-05-28
Students need to be able to distinguish good information from bad. This book gives you the tools to transmit those essential skills to your students. * Covers theories of information behavior, models of information literacy, and provision of reference services in various mediums * Emphasizes reference and instructional services and examines the impact of the Common Core State Standards on reference services in schools * Explains how to conduct the reference interview
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (006.7 W786r )
Publication Date: 2016-05-16
A comprehensive guide for all sizes of libraries, this book guides you through the entire process of effectively redesigning your library's website-from evaluating your current site and understanding user needs, to creating a budget, through to launching and maintaining your updated site. * Presents an approachable, complete guide that covers all steps in the process of revamping a library website, turning a potentially daunting challenge into a doable project, even for those without technical backgrounds * Describes various ways of handling specific steps for different sizes and types of libraries-from a "DIY" approach to cost-effective ways of hiring outside professionals * Provides an invaluable resource for librarians and library staff members charged with the task of designing or redesigning their library's website as well as for web developers and designers who work with libraries
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (025.3 H8182o )
Publication Date: 2015-12-07
Covering both classification and cataloging principles as well as procedures relevant to school libraries, this book provides a teaching kit for a course on this critical subject that includes content and practice exercises. * Answers essential questions such as "What is the nature of the bibliographic universe in an electronic information age?" and "What is the relationship of my school library's catalog to the bibliographic universe?" * Addresses RDA standards as well as cataloguing and classification strategies for school library programs * Features practice exercises that readers can apply immediately for in-class use
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (027.473 W6357p )
Publication Date: 2015-10-12
Despite dire predictions in the late twentieth century that public libraries would not survive the turn of the millennium, those libraries continue to thrive. Two of three Americans frequent a public library at least once a year, and nearly that many are registered borrowers. Although libraryauthorities have argued that the public library functions primarily as a civic institution necessary for maintaining democracy, generations of library patrons tell a different story. In Part of Our Lives, Wayne A. Wiegand delves into the heart of why Americans love their libraries. The book traces the history of the public library, featuring records and testimonies from as early as 1850. Rather than analyzing the words of library founders and managers, Wiegand listens to thevoices of everyday patrons who cherished libraries. Drawing on newspaper articles, memoirs, and biographies, Part of Our Lives paints a clear and engaging picture of Americans who value libraries not only as civic institutions, but also as social spaces for promoting and maintaining community. Whether as a public space, a place for accessing information, or a home for reading material that helps patrons make sense of the world around them, the public library has a rich history of meaning for millions of Americans. From colonial times through the recent technological revolution, librarieshave continuously adapted to better serve the needs of their communities. Wiegand goes on to demonstrate that, although cultural authorities (including some librarians) have often disparaged reading books considered not "serious" the commonplace reading materials users obtained from public librarieshave had a transformative effect for many, including people like Ronald Reagan, Sonia Sotomayor, and Oprah Winfrey. A bold challenge to conventional thinking about the American public library, Part of Our Lives is an insightful look into one of America's most beloved cultural institutions.
Call Number: Valley City State University Juvenile Nonfiction - Curriculum (J 025.5 Up7i )
Publication Date: 2015-10-26
Every day researchers face an onslaught of irrelevant, inaccurate, and sometimes insidious information. While new technologies provide powerful tools for accessing knowledge, not all information is created equal. Valuable information may be tucked away on a shelf, buried on the hundredth page of search results, or hidden behind digital barriers. With so many obstacles to effective research, it is vital that higher education students master the art of inquiry. Information Now is an innovative approach to information literacy that will reinvent the way college students think about research. Instead of the typical textbook format, it uses illustrations, humor, and reflective exercises to teach students how to become savvy researchers. Students will learn how to evaluate information, to incorporate it into their existing knowledge base, to wield it effectively, and to understand the ethical issues surrounding its use. Written by two library professionals, it incorporates concepts and skills drawn from the Association of College and Research Libraries' Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education and their Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. Thoroughly researched and highly engaging, Information Now offers the tools that students need to become powerful consumers and creators of information. Whether used by a high school student tackling a big paper, an undergrad facing the newness of a university library, or a writer wanting to go beyond Google, Information Now is a powerful tool for any researcher's arsenal.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (027.63 L6161 )
Publication Date: 2016-11-30
This important book is a call to action for the library community to address the literacy and life outcome gaps impacting African American youth. It provides strategies that enable school and public librarians to transform their services, programs, and collections to be more responsive to the literacy strengths, experiences, and needs of African American youth. * Clarifies the role of public and school librarians in meeting the literacy needs of African American youth * Brings together research findings on the literacy strengths and needs of African American youth and best practices for librarians seeking to improve their services to this population * Provides specific examples of successful programs for working with African American youth that can be adapted by other school or public libraries * Creates an ongoing vehicle for collaborative learner-centered relationships between public and school librarians serving the same community
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (025.284 Or58f )
Publication Date: 2016-08-31
Specifically focusing on the resources on federal government available online, this book supports the education of young citizens and supplies directions for conducting programs for youth on the government. * Introduces librarians to a vast range of no-cost resources that can be added to their services repertoire, including reference, programming, and displays * Helps librarians educate young citizens about their government and how it works * Supports teachers and homeschoolers in K-12 education with a breadth of government resources applicable to a variety of subject matter that is linked to national standards
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (025.0422 M143i )
Publication Date: 2011-07-11
No matter what the goal might be, from financial management and vacation planning to finishing homework and keeping in touch, there are quality Web resources available for free that can help individuals and families--if they know where to look. But who has time to find and evaluate them? This comprehensive, handy guide offers an easy shortcut to all the websites, blogs, online tools, and mobile phone apps that help real people make wise decisions in many aspects of modern living. Each chapter addresses real-life family dilemmas such as how to fix a car, how to find the best price for baby diapers, and even how to find a clinical trial that might save a life. As the country climbs out of recession, this affordable handbook of free Web services is the lively, indispensable reference sure to find a home next to every household computer.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (025.11 St15g )
Publication Date: 2016-06-23
This book is a practical, how-to guide for those interested in writing, procuring, and implementing grants. The second edition has also been expanded to include a new chapter on how to become a grant writer. From gathering basic information about an organization through accepting and implementing the grant award, expert advice is provided then illustrated through step-by-step guides along with numerous examples. This publication is designed to be used by those writing grants on behalf of libraries as well as nonprofit organizations. Information about types of grants available through government agencies and foundations as well as how to locate funding opportunities has all been updated in this second edition. The process of identifying a fundable project and how to carefully select potential sources of funding are explained. Proven writing strategies show how to make your grant application stand out from the rest. Making sure that program implementation is as smooth as possible is shared in order to eliminate any potential obstacles that may arise. Several appendices show samples of strategic plans, narratives, budgets, needs assessments, evaluations, and much more Examples are tailored to libraries and nonprofit organizations. The author has shared her 20+ years experience successfully procuring and implementing foundation and government grants. It is the most current and practical publication of its kind available today and will prove to be enormously useful in these tough economic times when decreased available funding opportunities are resulting in increase competitiveness. (n.b., This book is not intended for those seeking funding for science-based or social science-based projects that involve experiments and may involve human and/or animal subjects.)
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (025.0425 B4553f )
Publication Date: 2015-11-03
Go beyond Google to mine big data and social media Author Robert Berkman gives expert advice on how to search the internet to locate the best information sources, how to find and utilize the professionals behind those sources, and how to combine these techniques to complete an information search on any subject. This fully updated 6th edition includes how to search beyond Google, leveraging big data in the search process, and how to search the social web. Readers will also find expert advice on how to know if a site is a trusted source; understanding how and why sources differ; using precision search strategies and taming information overload; and finding, evaluating, and identifying experts. Whether it's consumer advice, information for a job or project, facts for starting a new business, or answers to questions on obscure topics, Find It Fast is the perfect resource for learning to hone one's internet searching skills.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (027.8 T619n 2015 )
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
As if transitioning from library school or a different type of library job into the role of a school librarian wasn't challenging enough, just factor in today's straitened funding environment for the position itself. Librarians new on the job need expert advice on what to expect and how thrive, and since its publication in 2006 this guide has served as a wise mentor for the new school librarian. From job search strategies and discovering work philosophy to the nitty-gritty details of creating acceptable use policies, this revised and updated edition, which includes a new foreword from Sarah Kelly Johns, shares the joys and perils of the profession along with a wealth of practical advice from decades of experience in school library programs.
Call Number: Shorthand, typewriting, and secretarial training
Publication Date: 2015-07-16
Today s students rely heavily on using electronic resources; they expect to be able to access library resources from any location and at any time of the day. More and more schools, from K-12 through graduate level universities, are offering online education, and libraries must be prepared to guide learners in how to use library resources when and where they are needed. Online tutorials are the library s answer to providing this immediate instruction, and today s learners are expecting to have these guides available. Many librarians don t have the technical expertise needed to create online tutorials. Creating Online Tutorials: A Practical Guide for Librarians will help guide them through the basics of designing and producing an online tutorial. Through practical examples, the book will guide librarians just starting the process of creating an online tutorial from start to finish and will provide tips that will be useful to librarians with more experience in designing online tutorials. This detailed roadmap for designing and producing online tutorials covers: When to consider a tutorial Needs assessment Choosing the right technology Selecting and organizing instructional content Planning script, images, narration, other design elements Assessment as a primary design element Maintenance and updating Online tutorial resources After reading this book, new tutorial developers will have a practical, customizable blueprint that will enable them confidently address the creation of their first online tutorials, and experienced developers will learn efficient techniques to create and enhance future tutorials that are attractive, effective teaching tools."
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (027.625 L3296c )
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Here, one of America s foremost experts in public library services to children cover the basics of library services for children. Jeanette Larson highlights best practices and "toolkits" that provide tools and resources to quickly implement programs and services. She includes model programs, checklists and forms, and ready-to-use examples of programs, with an emphasis on programs that are inexpensive to implement and simple to replicate. From start to finish, learn how to plan, implement, and manage public library programs and services for children, ages birth to twelve years old. Children's services are a critical part of today's library services and staff need basic background information, practical advice, and specific examples of how to perform the fundamental duties required of them. Special features of the book include: .Basic information on how to implement the fundamental services and programs of library services to children .Background and rationale for the provision of these services and programs .Enhancements for children's programs and services that support literacy and learning .Templates for successful programs .Examples of inexpensive and ready-to-use programs ranging from simple to on-going and more elaborate programs Children s Services Today: A Practical Guide for Librarians offers basic background, practical experience, and best practices necessary for the successful provision of children's services in today's public library. Whether you are a part-time children's librarian in a small, rural library, a generalist assigned to provide children's programming in a medium-sized library, or a paraprofessional working in the children's department in a large urban library, this practical guide will help you implement dynamic programs and services that meet the needs of today's children and families"
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (020.222 C8503i )
Publication Date: 2015-12-17
Designed for librarians who work with all age levels from youngsters to seniors at all educational, reading and language backgrounds, who must fulfill responsibilities that run the gamut from instructing patrons on information literacy skills to using electronic tools to marketing the library to locating funding, Infographics: A Practical Guide for Librarians provides librarians with the following: .Section I: Infographics 101 contains definitions, history, importance in today s society, types and examples, advantages and disadvantages, general uses, uses in libraries, tools for creation and design tips. .Section II: Practical applications show how to use infographics in academic, public, special and school libraries. Included are visual examples and step-by-step instructions to create two infographics Included in each section are exercises, tables with URLs to more ideas and materials and references. This practical guide will help every type and size of library use infographics as a powerful part in their 21st century game plan. Whether it's marketing the public library, improving students information literacy skills in a school library or showcasing the accomplishments of the academic library, infographics can be a vital part of the library's playbook. The book describes ways to use infographics to: .raise funds for a public library .teach critical thinking and 21st century skills in the school library .illustrate why libraries matter by relaying value of academic libraries .market the library .improve information literacy in academic settings .advocate for resources and services."
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (028.7071 In36i )
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
This text provides strategies and techniques for teaching college and university freshmen, community college students, students with disabilities, and those in distance learning programs. It contains approaches to teaching students in the popular programs of study.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (025.5677 G7671t )
Publication Date: 2016-06-20
The ethos of every library is to serve and to instruct. Library professionals teach every day in the sense that they show patrons where to find books or how to use computers. Increasingly, however, library users just don t have the time to attend face-to-face workshops in advance of needs that they may have. They want to know the answer to their questions when THEY need it, not when YOU teach it. Take Your Library Workshops Online will help you move valuable teachable moments from the physical library or classroom to virtual spaces. It features real-life examples of how to: .create online synchronous sessions, .brief tutorials, and .pointed screen captures. Learning in the online environment can happen in a two-minute video or in a creative meme-like screen capture and can cover topics from logging in to a database to evaluating sources. Creating these learning objects can take from less than one day up to a week depending on the time you have to devote to it and the level of detail required."
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (025.82 G7609b )
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
Sharing expertise gleaned from more than two decades as a library security manager, Graham demonstrates that libraries can maintain their best traditions of openness and public access by creating an unobtrusive yet effective security plan. In straightforward language, the author Shows how to easily set clear expectations for visitors behavior Presents guidelines for when and how to intervene when someone violates the code of conduct, including tips for approaching an unruly patron Offers instruction on keeping persistent troublemakers under control or permanently barred from the library Gives library staff tools for communicating effectively with its security professionals, including examples of basic documentation The Black Belt Librarian arms librarians with the confidence and know-how they need to maintain a comfortable, productive, and safe environment for everyone in the library.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (371.3344678 W6408 )
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Given the limited budgets of schools, educators, and school librarians, free and open source tools for learning are more important than ever. Essentially, wikis are easily accessible webpages for creating, browsing, and searching through information, making them ideal vehicles for teaching and collaboration. In this pathbreaking collection, theoreticians and practitioners from a range of international settings explore how wikis are being used to create learning experiences in a variety of educational environments, from grade schools through universities. Offering numerous hands-on examples of using collaborative webpages with learners, this book gives teachers, educators, and instructor librarians a theoretical overview of the concept of web-based collaboration and the social implications of the participative web written by Mark Guzdial, a pioneer in using wikis in education; an understanding of how wiki-engines function as a flexible tool for collaboratively creating, linking, revising and regrouping hypertext content; pragmatic guidelines for the educational use and application of wikis, including applications as e-learning management systems, informational resource libraries, online tutorials, maker community project creation, and digital asset file management; strategies for setting up a learning unit the "Wiki Way" and choosing the most appropriate and suitable wiki-engine in a particular education setting; and coverage of two different scaffolding models for learning scenarios which have been implemented and tested in the US, Switzerland, Hong Kong, and China. Enabling readers to see how wikis' content and content creation processes can be harnessed for instructional design, this collection represents an important advance in improving education through collaborative technologies.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (025.1 D197s )
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Administrators, policy makers, legislators, and the public demand concrete, measurable evidence of the need for libraries and their use. The collection and dissemination of data about library service in a straightforward, convincing manner are integral components of library advocacy in the current economic climate. Addressing frontline librarians lobbying for increased programming or staff, as well as adminstrators marshalling statistics to stem the tide of budget cuts and prevent library closure, this vital new book explores the whys and hows of using data to build a better picture of library needs and success. With a distinctive combination of research-based information and practical application, Dando *Demonstrates how data from surveys, focus groups, ALA, and state and local sources can be aggregated and used to craft a strong message *Takes readers step by step through the process of using data to tailor a message to specific audiences *Offers real-world examples from school and public libraries that can be used as models Addressing the requirements of a variety of stakeholders, this concise resource lays out an easy-to-follow, systematic way of inspiring action through clear, compelling data.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (025.0422 R2728r )
Publication Date: 2014-03-01
"Tablets, desktops, smartphones, laptops, minis: we live in a world of screens, all of different sizes. Library websites need to work on all of them, but maintaining separate sites or content management systems is resource intensive and still unlikely to address all the variations. Experienced responsive web developer Reidsma, named ""a web librarian to watch"" by ACRL's TechConnect blog, shares proven methods for delivering the same content to all users using HTML and CSS. His practical guidance will enable web developers to save valuable time and resources by working with a library's existing design to add responsive web design features. Firmly addressing the expectations of library website users, he shows how libraries can build one site for all devices--now and in the future--with just HTML and CSS.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (028.7071 F2297i )
Publication Date: 2015-09-28
Information and Digital Literacies: A Curricular Guide for Middle and High School Librarians is a practical guide to help school librarians design and deliver effective instruction that addresses the knowledge, skills and dispositions of information and digital literacies. This curricular guide from one of America s foremost experts in this area will help librarians prepare students for college and careers. It provides systematic instruction about conducting research and using integration as stated in the Common Core, complying with state and federal mandates for digital safety/competence curriculum, and recognizing the instructional role of school librarians. It should be noted that canned programs, particularly for digital safety exist, but they are not aligned with other school standards, and they do not reflect the unique communities of learners, let alone address the need to collaboration and articulation. The ready-to-implement curricular guide features: .instructional design strategies, .model middle and high school curriculum, including a scope-and-sequence, stand-alone courses, units of instruction, and sample learning activities, and .ties to new AASL and ACRL information literacy standards, ISTE technology standards, 21st Century Partnership framework, and Common Core State Standards."
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (020.285 St523r )
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Have changes such as cloud computing, search engines, the Semantic Web, and mobile applications rendered such long-standing academic library services and functions as special collections, interlibrary loans, physical processing, and even library buildings unnecessary? Can the academic library effectively reconceive itself as a virtual institution? Stielow, who led the library program of the online university American Public University System, argues most emphatically that it can. His comprehensive look at web-based academic libraries synthesizes the changes wrought by the Web revolution into a visionary new model, grounded in history as well as personal experience. He demonstrates how existing functions like cataloging, circulation, collection development, reference, and serials management can be transformed by entrepreneurship, human face/electronic communicator relations, web apps, and other innovations. Online education can ensure that libraries remain strong information and knowledge hubs, and his timely book Shows how the origins and history of the academic library have laid the foundation for our current period of flux Identifies practices rooted in print-based storage to consider for elimination, and legacy services ready to be adapted to virtual operations Discusses tools and concepts libraries will embrace in a networked world, including new opportunities for library relevance in bookstore/textbook operations, compliance, library/archival/museum functions, e-publishing, and tutorial services Offers a thorough examination of the virtual library infrastructure crucial for an online learning program, with a special look at the particular needs and responsibilities of online librarians Looks at the evolving relationship between higher education and copyright, and posits how educational technology will bring further changes.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (001.4 M115s )
Publication Date: 2015-08-01
Jumping head first into a research project is a surefire recipe for stress and confusion. But if you're a newbie, how do you know where to begin, let alone where to go from there? Library instruction expert McAdoo has penned a primer specifically tailored to novice researchers, offering beginning-to-end guidance for every step of the research process, from planning and preparing to conducting and writing
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (025.1 C949w )
Publication Date: 2014-04-10
In this unconventional management text, author Dr. Susan Carol Curzon presents a different take on traditional library management tools. Through personal narrative and anecdotes from other working professionals, Curzon presents the many everyday challenges one meets as a library manager: The unwritten rules, strategies, and bits of wisdom only learned on-the-job Behavioral nuances Political strategies Mentor-like advice Subtle communication codes Regardless of the professional setting, management is management and wisdom is wisdom. What Every Library Director Should Know is the insider s view of vital actions, behaviors, and strategies needed to succeed in every type of library."
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (025.52 T62 )
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
While it's inspiring to ponder the libraries of the 22nd century, it's a lot more practical to think ahead to the next five years. That's just what Varnum and his hand-picked team of contributors have done, showing library technology staff and administrators where to invest time and money to receive the greatest benefits. Their ideas will stimulate strategic thinking and help library staff make informed decisions about meeting user expectations and delivering services. Chapters include * "Impetus to Innovat
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (028.7 D7585c )
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Academic librarians are exploring critical information literacy (CIL) in ever increasing numbers. While a smattering of journal articles and a small number of books have been published on the topic, the conversation around CIL has mostly taken place online, at conferences, in individual libraries, and in personal dialogues. This book explores that conversation and provides a snapshot of the current state of CIL as it is enacted and understood by academic librarians. It introduces the ideas and concepts behind CIL and helps librarians make more informed decisions about how to design, teach, and implement programs. It also informs library science scholars and policy makers in terms of knowing how CIL is being taught and supported at the institutional level.
Call Number: Valley City State University 3rd Floor (302.231 In887 )
Publication Date: 2016-03-30
From race, sex, class, and culture, the multidisciplinary field of Internet studies needs theoretical and methodological approaches that allow us to question the organization of social relations that are embedded in digital technologies, and that foster a clearer understanding of how power relations are organized through technologies. Representing a scholarly dialogue among established and emerging critical media and information studies scholars, this volume provides a means of foregrounding new questions, methods, and theories which can be applied to digital media, platforms, and infrastructures. These inquiries include, among others, how representation to hardware, software, computer code, and infrastructures might be implicated in global economic, political, and social systems of control. Contributors argue that more research needs to explicitly trace the types of uneven power relations that exist in technological spaces. By looking at both the broader political and economic context and the many digital technology acculturation processes as they are differentiated intersectionally, a clearer picture emerges of how under-acknowledging culturally situated and gendered information technologies are impacting the possibility of participation with (or purposeful abstinence from) the Internet. This book is ideal for undergraduate and graduate courses in Internet studies, library and information studies, communication, sociology, and psychology. It is also ideal for researchers with varying expertise and will help to advance theoretical and methodological approaches to Internet research.