Education Topics: Response to Intervention (RTI)

In Closing the RTI Gap: Why Poverty and Culture Count, Donna Walker Tileston not only explains to readers why RTI is so important (defining key terms along the way), but also shows how they can achieve successful implementation in their own schools, particularly in the context of poverty and culture. All children should have equal access to highly qualified teachers, a strong curriculum, and research-based instructional methods. RTI can make that hope a reality.
Why should teachers implement a response to intervention (RTI) model? Rather than wait for students to fail, misidentify students with special needs, or disproportionally represent certain ethnic groups, RTI offers schools a chance to ensure that all students achieve high levels of learning. The influence of culture and poverty cannot be overestimated; students facing such hurdles will often experience inequality in education. Response to intervention, when implemented correctly, provides these students the chance they need to succeed. However, RTI is only as strong as the planning and research that go into developing individual school plans.
Closing the RTI Gap addresses the critical questions that must be answered for response to intervention to fulfill its promise and close the achievement gap for students from poverty and minority cultures.

Offers best practices for implementing RTI at the school-wide level-to ensure success for all learners Response-to-Intervention is now mandated at schools across the country. While there are a handful of books offering tips on implementation, schools are still struggling to find the best approaches. This book, from a prominent RTI researcher, explains how the most successful schools using RTI manage the process. Sailor offers best practices for implementing RTI not only at the classroom level, but also at the school-wide and district-wide levels, to ensure no student falls through the cracks and schools fulfill the promise of RTI. Offers clear guidance on implementing Response-to-Intervention effectively Reveals the framework used by the most successful schools using RTI Includes information on applying RTI for behavioral problems as well as academic challenges Contains illustrative examples of how the approach is applied at all levels, from individual student to school-wide and district-wide Written by a top researcher in the field of Response-to Intervention

This book provides a well-rounded collection of research-based reading intervention strategies that can be used by classroom teachers, interventionists, Title I, special educators, and ELL teachers seeking to support struggling readers in their classrooms and schools. It also provides teacher-friendly sample lesson plans and miniroutines that the classroom teacher can readily understand and adapt. Finally, the book offers citations and descriptions of current research that educators can use to substantiate their strategy choices.

Chapters Include: Putting it all together: mandates, purposes, mergers, foundations, and standards -- RTI essential elements -- One size won't fit all: refining the RTI framework across grades -- Building the literacy foundation: common core standards and the five essential components of early literacy instruction -- Building upon the literacy foundation -- Literacy interventions -- Computer-assisted reading interventions.

In this sequel to the bestselling Pyramid Response to Intervention, authors Buffum, Mattos, and Weber advocate that an effective RTI model begins by asking the right questions. RTI is not a series of implementation steps to cross off a list, the authors suggest, but rather a way of thinking about how educators can ensure that each child receives the time and support needed to succeed in school and in life. When educators base their thinking about RTI on four essential guiding principles, they will find the most effective answers to implementation questions.

Prevention is the best intervention. An RTI system that includes collective responsibility, concentrated instruction, and convergent assessment can transform schooling at all grade levels, but such a system is rarely applied in the early grades. Schools that implement RTI in kindergarten through third grade can close the gap and prevent student learning difficulties from ever developing.
RTI in the Early Grades: Intervention Strategies for Mathematics, Literacy, Behavior, & Fine-Motor Skills addresses the importance of early prevention and intervention. Author Chris Weber shows educators how to use RTI-based supports in the early grades by providing best practices in reading, writing, and mathematics instruction that incorporate the Common Core State Standards and key research findings and policy recommendations. Teachers and other practitioners will also learn best practices for English learners and for supporting students¿ social, behavioral, language, and fine-motor skills.

Chapters include: RTI and the law -- Key concepts, components, and models -- Leadership issues -- RTI and behavior -- Selecting and implementing interventions -- Practical approaches to SLD identification -- Implementation in preschool settings -- Implementation in secondary schools -- Scientific, research-based instruction.

This book is intended for teachers and administrators who want to better understand the basics of RTI and its connection to formative assessment. It provides educators with ample information and ideas that will help them base their instructional decisions on the results of effective formative assessment practices. Whether experienced or inexperienced in the use of formative assessment and data collection and analysis, readers will find useful tips and strategies that will advance their knowledge and understanding toward the goal of increasing student achievement. Using Formative Assessment in the RTI Framework provides teachers and administrators with information, tools, and techniques that they can use to adjust instruction and increase levels of student understanding and achievement.

Identify students' learning needs and make appropriate decisions regarding instruction and intervention! Written for RTI teams, this resource demonstrates how to conduct intensive, comprehensive evaluations of students who are struggling in the general classroom. Focusing exclusively on the third tier of the RTI model, the book: Provides guidance on problem identification and analysis, progress monitoring, selection of research-based interventions, and evaluation of case study outcomes Addresses both academic and behavioral challenges, including mental health issues Shows how school psychologists can collaborate with other members of the RTI team Provides tools for assessment and for tracking progress