- Email the Library
- 701.401.4229
-
Today's Hours:
| Today's Hours: |
|
It is important to routinely check each database the Library offers to ensure that students are able to connect to the resources they need. As a library employee, it is also important to know the products we offer to our users. Please use the following form below to document your exploration of our library databases.
First, locate a database you have not used before in our Library Database Page (if you run out, work on the databases you've used before). Try a few test searches and view the results. Familiarize yourself with what the database offers and how it works. For a database offering articles, test a search and open a full-text article. If you are able to view the full-text (or some sort of index entry), the database is in working order. For any multimedia database, please check to see if you are able to stream and/or download the content. You may need to create a user account in a few cases (like ArtSTOR).
NOTE: Feel free to use the Review List below to assist you with some search terms, if nothing comes to mind.
If you encounter any errors, be sure to double-check the problem by trying the same activities in a different browser. Always make sure that your computer has internet access. If the problem persists, fill out the brief Error Report below.
| Title | Notes |
| arXiv | Click until you can read an article |
| Birds of North America | Search for "pheasant" & browse the information. |
| European Views of the Americas | Search "Taxes." Abstracts only - No full text |
| Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide | Search "Trout." Limit to full text, open PDF |
| Business Source Premier | Search "Coca Cola." Limit to full text, open PDF |
| GreenFILE (EBSCO) | Search "Ozone." Limit to full text, open PDF |
| MAS Ultra - School Edition | Search "Spain." Limit to full text, open PDF |
| Points of View Reference Center | Search "Gun." View HTML full text. |
| Science Reference Center | Search "Lipid." Open PDF. |
| Encyclopedia Britannica Library Edition | Search "Chemistry." Open an article |
| Cell Press magazines | Search "Stem Cell" in upper-right. Open an article |
| ECOTOX | Just try anything! |
| HighWire Press | Navigate to a free journal, Find an article |
| Expanded Academic ASAP | Search "Solar." Limit to full text, open PDF. |
| Student Resources in Context | Search "Genghis Khan." Open a few results. |
| Lexis-Nexis | Search "Coca Cola." Limit to full text, open PDF |
| Article First | Search "Education." Just look at results |
| GPO Monthly Catalog | Search "Senate." Just look at results. |
| Grove Music Online | Search "Mozart." Open an article. |
| Psychology Journals (ProQuest) | Search "Depression." Open PDF. |
| WorldandISchool.com | Just click on things and make sure it works |
| Title | Notes |
| ACLS Humanities E-Book | Search "Taxation." Open a book, view a page. |
| Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) | Search "Harry Potter." Open a review. |
| Children's Core Collection (H.W. Wilson) | Search "Harry Potter." Open a record. |
| Library Literature and Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) | Search "Collection management." Open PDF. |
| Sears List of Subject Headings (H.W. Wilson) | Search "Collection." Open entry. |
| Academic Search Premier | Search "Plato." Limit to full text, open PDF. |
| Consumer Health Complete | Search "Cancer." Open full text HTML. |
| Health Source: Consumer Edition | Search "Cancer." Limit full text, open article. |
| MasterFILE Premier | Search "Marx." Limit full text, open PDF. |
| Encyclopedia Britannica Online | Search "Basho." Open an entry. |
| Films On Demand | Search "TED." Scroll down if necessary. Select a video, and play a few seconds. |
| EDUCAUSE | Search "Tablet." See what's available. |
| Gale/Cengage Databases | Search "Cancer." Open a full-text article. |
| JSTOR | Search "Plato." Open an article. |
| LibraryMusicSource.com | Search "Bach" in upper left. Click something. |
| CAMIO | Search "Farm." Open an etnry. |
| MEDLINE | Search "Cancer." Browse results. |
| Dissertations and Theses: A&I (ProQuest) | Search "Philosophy." Open a full-text article. |
| TumbleBooks | Open a random book. |
| AtoZ Maps | Navigate to a map of Mongolia! |
| Title | Notes |
| Ambrose Digital | |
| CQ Researcher | Search "Immigration." Open a report. |
| Education Source | Search "Reading." Limit to full text, open PDF. |
| Library Literature and Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 (H.W. Wilson) | Search "Collection Development." |
| Senior High Core Collection (H.W. Wilson) | Search "Reading." Browse an entry. |
| Alt HealthWatch | Search "Vaccines." Open a full-text article. |
| eBook Collection(EBSCO) | Search "Biology." Open a book. |
| Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition | Search "Vaccination." Limit to full text, open article. |
| MegaFILE (EBSCO) | Search "Vaccines." Limit to full text, open article. |
| Professional Development Collection | Search "Networking." Limit to full text, open article. |
| Teacher Reference Center | Search "Reading." Limit to full text, open article. |
| Encyclopedia Britannica School Edition | Search "Mexico" in one of the grade levels. Browse. |
| AgEcon Search | Search "Pesticides." Open an article. |
| CiteSeerX | Search "Network." Open a cached article. |
| Eric (freely accessible) | Search "Reading." Limit to full text. Open article. |
| PubMed Central (PMC) | Search "Vaccines." Just look. |
| Ebook Central | Search "athletic training." Open a book to read online. |
| General Science Collection | |
| JSTOR Plant Science | Search "Tree." Open an article. |
| Naxos Spoken Word Library | Open a book at random. Listen to it. |
| SPORTDiscus | Search "plyometrics". Limit to full text & open an article. |
| ERIC PlusText | Search "Reading." Limit to full text, open an article. |
| Taylor and Francis | Search "Red Fox." Open an article. |
| AtoZ The USA | Find a map of North Dakota. |
| Title | Notes |
| Credo Reference | Search "Communism." View results. |
| LISTA (Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts) | Search "Collection Development." View results. |
| ERIC | Search "Reading." |
| Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism | Click Table of Contents and browse the list of entries. Click an entry and browse. |
| Regional Business News | Search "Coca-Cola." Find a full-text article. |
| NoveList | Book reviews and recommendations. Search for a book by Dan Chaon. |
| Biomed Central Biology Journals | Click on "Articles." See what's available. |
| Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) | Search "Access." Make sure it still works. |
| Hathi Trust | Do some browsing. |
| Biography In Context | Search "Martin Luther King." View results. |
| Educator Reference | Search "Reading." View a full-text article. |
| Professional Collection (Gale) | Search "Income gap." View the results |
| WorldCat | Searches libraries across the world. Search for Rural Literacies, limit the results to Print Books, and see which libraries own the book. |
| Overdrive | Login in the upper-right corner. Try to borrow a book. |
| Ancestry Library | Search "Anderson" in North Dakota. Play around. |
| Newsstand (ProQuest) | Search "Rebecca Skloot." Open an article. |
| AudioBookCloud | Listen to a random book. |
| Global Road Warrior | Just play around. Make sure access works |