Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Resource: Google Cultural Institute
Google Cultural Institute
Google's incredible Cultural Institute allows users to view exceptionally high-definition images of museum galleries and historic structures all around the world. Using the same technology as Google's Street View, the images are rendered in amazing detail. Check it out!
Interactive page for the collections of the Walker Art Center and the Minneapolis Institute of Art.
Founded by art historians at the Fashion Institute of Technology, Smarthistory is an open educational resource dedicated to the study of art that attempts to replace traditional art history textbooks with an interactive, well-organized website. Content includes text, images, video, podcasts. Search by time period, style or artist.
Meta Sites/Guides to Art Sites
These sites list, and often evaluate, web sites relevant to research in Art.
Best of the Web: Photography
Includes sections on cameras; equipment and services; photographers; resources; shopping and services; and styles and methods.
Flickr: The Commons
Access hundreds of thousands of images, most of which have little copyright restrictions. Many heritage institutions have contributed images, in partnership with the Library of Congress.
Gateway to Art History
Sweet Briar College professor, Chris Witcombe, has collected sites relevant to the study of art history and placed them in the context of the chapters from Gardner's Art through the Ages . The site includes hundreds of links to sites around the world.
A UK site of web resources for the study of the art or science of designing and building structures. Includes: the built environment; architectural construction; architectural design; environmental design and urban design.
Intute: Costume and Fashion
A UK site of web resources covering costume and fashion history, fashion design, the fashion industry, textiles for fashion as well as additional subcategories.
Virtual Library Museum Pages
This site is supported by the International Council of Museums.
Voice of the Shuffle: Art (modern and Contemporary)
Includes sections on artists and/or movements; design; art and technology; art theory; auctions; museums and galleries; and more.
Voice of the Shuttle: Photography Page
Includes sections on general photography resources, photographers, works and projects; and galleries and museums.
Voices of the Shuffle: Architecture
Includes sections on general architectural resources; architects, works and projects; architectural historical preservation; museums and libraries; online architectural journals; and architecture departments and programs.
The Art Newspaper
A current and comprehensive source of art news worldwide.
The Architect's Newspaper
"The Architect's Newspaper is the most comprehensive source of information on the latest projects and commissions, unfolding politics and debate, and cultural developments related to architecture, with an emphasis on the Northeast and West Coast regions (and a Midwest Edition launching in 2010). The latest news is rounded out by a mix of topical essays, opinionated columns, project analyses, firm profiles, interviews, new products, reviews of exhibitions and books, plus a complete calendar of important events and competitions."
Brooklyn Rail: Critical Perspectives on Art, Politics and Culture
A monthly journal covering arts and politics across New York City and around the world. Each issue features an array of political and literary essays, art criticism, in-depth interviews, original fiction and poetry, as well as film, music, dance, theater and book reviews.