Research Guides: BIOL 150: General Biology: Find Drug & Enzyme Info: Reference Sources

Drug and Enzyme Resources - Start Here

Academic reference sources include things like encyclopedias and dictionaries written for expert audiences. These sources go far beyond what you might find in a standard World Book Encyclopedia or Merriam-Webster Dictionary to provide thorough background information in your subject area.

Browse Biology books in Credo Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A one-stop reference source featuring information from encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and more. Includes images, video, audio pronunciation of terms, maps, data tables, quotations, citation assistance. Subjects include art, biography, quotations, technology, medicine, and more.

DrugBank
DrugBank Online is a comprehensive, free-to-access, online database containing information on drugs and drug targets.
PubChem
Quickly find chemical information from authoritative sources

Enzyme Reference Resources - More Advanced Options

BRENDA - Enzyme Database
- This link opens in a new window
BRENDA provides an extensive index of enzymes, descriptions of chemical analyses, substructure search capabilities, and much more. Full-text search abilities are available as well.
Enzyme Structure Database
"This database contains the known enzyme structures that have been deposited in the Protein Data Bank (PDB). There are currently 55,065 PDB-enzyme entries in the PDB (as at 6 September, 2014) involving 45,773 separate PDB files - some files having more than one E.C. number associated with them."
Use this resource to view visual depictions of an enzyme, find additional linked scholarly articles, and learn more about the structure of the enzyme.