Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Disinformation Age by The intentional spread of falsehoods - and attendant attacks on minorities, press freedoms, and the rule of law - challenge the basic norms and values upon which institutional legitimacy and political stability depend. How did we get here? The Disinformation Age assembles a remarkable group of historians, political scientists, and communication scholars to examine the historical and political origins of the post-fact information era, focusing on the United States but with lessons for other democracies. Bennett and Livingston frame the book by examining decades-long efforts by political and business interests to undermine authoritative institutions, including parties, elections, public agencies, science, independent journalism, and civil society groups. The other distinguished scholars explore the historical origins and workings of disinformation, along with policy challenges and the role of the legacy press in improving public communication. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020-10-15
Stand up and Be Heard by Public speaking is an integral skill not only in study but in life, yet giving presentations, oral assessments, or even talking in groups is a terrifying prospect for many students. This book is filled with tips and tricks cultivated through Rob Grieve's experience in running public speaking workshops at university. Taking the fear out of public speaking at university, he teaches you how to develop your public speaking skills and build your confidence; so whether you're giving a presentation or just talking with friends you can face the situation without fear. With a unique focus on 'authenticity' over perfection, Stand Up and be Heard: Helps you identify and understanding your fear; what is it that you are most afraid of? How does this fear manifest Provides practical exercises and strategies that will help you manage your fear Teaches you the benefits of 'authentic' speaking and relying on your own voice and personality Offers checklists, step-by-step guidance and student testimonials to support your growth. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university.
Call Number: 2nd Floor 808.51 G874s
Publication Date: 2020-01-02
Lead the Room by Communicate a message that counts in moments that matter.In the moments that really matter, people don't just look for something to inform them, they look to someone who will lead them. They don't just want a speaker, they need a leader. This is a book about making those moments count. If you struggle with public speaking or presenting this book will help, but the real purpose aims higher than that. This is a book to help you become a more effective leader, to help you build and leverage your leadership platform to lead and mobilise your people.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2022-01-01
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a general coverage database providing full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals across a wide range of disciplines, including history, social science, library science, computer science, language and literature, art, education, and life sciences.
Communications & Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
Communications and Mass Media Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database providing archival access to scholarly journals in the arts, language and literature, history, sciences, and social sciences. Typically, the most recent three to five years of a journal are not available through JSTOR.