Research Guides: Library Resources for Children, Young Adults, and K-12: K-12 Resources

K-12 Resources

The library provides several databases and other resources intended for a younger, school-age audience - ideal tools for teachers and school librarians. Find them all collected here.

Britannica Library This link opens in a new window
Britannica Library provides access to three levels of Encyclopaedia Britannica content. Britannica Library Children and Britannica Library Young Adults provide reference content appropriate for elementary and middle grades, with content and features geared toward common school assignments. The Encyclopaedia Britannica Reference Center provides general reference information at a level appropriate for older students and adults.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica School provides age-appropriate Encyclopaedia Britannica content for students at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. Content includes images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended web sites.
Explora Kids This link opens in a new window
Contains elementary school-appropriate magazines, encyclopedias, dictionaries and images.
Explora Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of popular magazine and scholarly journal articles covering all subject areas including multimedia, primary source documents and reference books.
Explora Teens This link opens in a new window
Contains middle and high-school appropriate magazine, journal and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books and multimedia. It replaces Kids Search and Student Research Center.
InfoTrac Student Edition (Gale) This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac Student Edition provides high school students with access to magazines, newspapers, books, and other reference content. The database offers audience-appropriate information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.
Kids InfoBits (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Kids InfoBits is a content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use resource featuring age-appropriate content covering a broad range of educational topics. Includes content from books, magazines, newspapers, audiovisual sources, and more.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra - School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps and flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Research in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find information to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
TumbleBooks This link opens in a new window
TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they'll love.
Biblioteca TumbleBook This link opens in a new window
TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they'll love!

Una colección en línea de libros, animados y con audio, los cuáles enseñan a niños pequeños las alegrías de la lectura en un forma que les encantará.