Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 212: Interpersonal Communication

Course guide for COMM 212. Focused on finding peer-reviewed journal articles.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)


Clicking on the Academic Search Premier link above will take you to the basic search page. Below the search box, in the box labeled Limit Your Results, there are two boxes that allow you to limit your search results to show you only Full Text articles (that is, articles that are available for you to read right now), and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. Clicking these boxes before you begin will save you the time of sifting through the results to find articles from peer reviewed journals.

Academic Search Premier screenshot with arrows pointing to Full Text and Peer Reviewed Journal options.

Google Scholar


Google Scholar combines Google's familiar search interface with academic resources available through the library and online.

In Google Scholar search results, you'll see two types of links: title links, and a second column of links to the right. The article title links will typically take you to a journal's website, and will not show you the full text of the article. Links to the right that say Get Article will connect you to the article through one of the VCSU Library databases, and links that say PDF or HTML will connect you to a freely available version of the article online.

Google Scholar search results screen shot with right column links highlighted.


Articles or books that don't have a link to the right can still be requested using interlibrary loan - don't ever pay for articles from the journal's website!

How to Request Articles Discovered in Google Scholar

1.) To request an article or book in Google Scholar through interlibrary loan, click the More link, then click No Full text - get help.

Google Scholar screenshot demonstrating clicking the More link to display the No Full Text - Get Help link.


2.) From here, choose the link to Request document via VCSU Interlibrary Loan.

Screenshot displaying the Request document via VCSU Interlibrary Loan option.


3.) On the next page, log in using:

  • Your student ID number in the top box.
  • Your last name in the bottom box.

ODIN login screen.


4.) Finally, in the article request form, choose a date in the calendar area (please choose a date at least 5 days in the future to provide us time to obtain the article - though it's typically much faster!), click the confirmation box at the bottom of the screen, and click the Go button to submit your request. The article will be emailed to you when it arrives.

Delivery Information screen in article request form.

Expanded Academic ASAP


Expanded Academic ASAP is set up to show you only articles from peer reviewed journals by default. In the screenshot below, you can see that the Full Text and Peer Reviewed boxes on the right are both already selected.

Expanded Academic ASAP screenshot.

JSTOR


As it notes in the search box, JSTOR searches several different types of sources. To limit your search to only journal articles, click the Advanced Search link.


On the Advanced Search page, you can choose to narrow your search to only show you results that are Articles. To ensure that you only get results that you can read now, click the menu under Select an Access Type and choose either Read and download or Read online only.

Searching JSTOR

JSTOR is different from other databases in the way it allows you filter your search results. In the example below, we can see the initial search results for interpersonal communication. Notice that, unlike other databases, JSTOR doesn't provide a set of filters on the side. (You can limit your search by date range or discipline and/or journal from the Advanced Search page before you search.)

Instead, there is the checkbox marked Search Within Results.


Clicking the Search within results checkbox will allow you to search for another term or phrase within the set of results that's already been returned. After clicking the checkbox, just type your new term or phrase in the search box. In the example below, we see a search for the term supervisors within the original set of results from our search for interpersonal communication.