Research Guides: HPER 400: Current Issues in Community Health: Library Resources

Library Specific Databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete is a patient-oriented resource providing access to reliable health information, articles from popular health and fitness magazines, and information on alternative medicine. Content includes evidence-based reports, reference books, drug information monographs, and multimedia content like diagrams, videos, and animations. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, with information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed. Also includes a medical dictionary.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Advanced Searching

The library website and many databases have a function called advanced search that allows users to narrow down their search results before even running the search. The library website's advanced search function has multiple search bars as well as several dropdown menus to allow filtering by language, information type, and publication date. To use advanced search on the library website, follow these steps:

On the library home page, click on the link below the main search bar that says "advanced search"
Write in your first keyword or phrase. Phrases, search terms with more than one word, should have quotation marks around them, for example "search term"
If you have more than one search term, put each one in a separate search bar.
Use the dropdown menus on the right of the search bars to filter your results.
Click search