Research Guides: Mathematics: Find Books & Reference Information

Find Books in the Library

Find ebooks

Ebook Central
Ebook Central offers a large collection of authoritative ebooks covering all academic subjects. Ebook Central ebooks can be read instantly in your browser, and most can be downloaded to your computer or mobile device for offline reading. For help and more information, click the green question mark above this description.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
EBSCO's eBook Collection is a collection of thousands of academic eBooks and eAudioBooks, available for you to read and listen to from nearly any web-enabled device.

Search Reference Books

Streaming Video

Films on Demand: Mathematics Video Collection
From business to the sciences to the trades, most students’ professions will inevitably involve mathematics. This collection aims to serve math’s cross-disciplinary nature, both with straightforward video lessons on branches from statistics to calculus, algebra and geometry, as well as programming about applied math in accounting, psychology, construction, and more. Documentaries on advanced theories and the history and global impact of math round out the collection.
Kanopy: Mathematics
Kanopy provides access to thousands of full length documentaries, educational videos, and theatrical films. Use this link to browse mathematics videos on Kanopy.

General Reference Sources

Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics by David Nelson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849726009
Publication Date: 2010-08-12
From algebra to number theory, statistics to mechanics, this versatile and completely updated reference takes in all branches of pure and applied mathematics. Includes more than 3,700 entries, supported by explanatory diagrams and biographies of more than 200 key figures.

Use these volumes found in our Reference Collection as a starting point for research. Not sure where to begin? Browse through some of the entries to see what scholars are interested in and writing about. Unfamiliar with a term or concept used in class? You'll find detailed information in these books!

Dictionary of Mathematics by John D. Berry; Ted Graham; Jenny Sharpe; Elizabeth Berry
Call Number: R 510.3 D561 1999
ISBN: 1579581579
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
Key ideas, terms, and concepts are clearly explained in an accessible and easy-to-use format.
What Is a Number?: mathematical concepts and their origins by Robert Tubbs
Call Number: Valley City State University 2nd Floor (510.1 T79w )
ISBN: 9780801890178
Publication Date: 2008-12-19
Robert Tubbs examines how mathematical concepts like number, geometric truth, infinity, and proof have been employed by artists, theologians, philosophers, writers, and cosmologists from ancient times to the modern era.