Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): OER Collections & More Open Resources

Find Creative Commons Content

CC Search
Find content you can share, use and remix. CC Search offers convenient access to CC content searching using services provided by other independent organizations.

Open Image Resources

Flickr: The Commons
Access hundreds of thousands of images, most of which have few copyright restrictions. Many heritage institutions have contributed images, in partnership with the Library of Congress.
Flickr: Creative Commons
Browse Creative Commons content on Flickr, organized by type of license.
Pixabay
Free public domain images licensed under Creative Commons CC0.
Wikimedia Commons
The Wikimedia Commons provides access to thousands of images either in the public domain or licensed under Creative Commons.

Google Images

To filter Google Images search results by license, perform your search, and then click Search Tools. Several filtering options will appear. Click Usage Rights, and choose the type of rights you wish to include in your results.

OER Collections and Open Courseware

OER are available in a variety of formats beyond textbooks. Use the sources below to find open courses, course modules, assignments, activities, quizzes, tutorials, syllabi, lesson plans, and more.

Open Education Consortium
The Open Education Consortium provides a search engine that allows you to search among the materials of dozens of OER content providers.
Serendipity
Serendipity is a guided OER search engine sponsored by the research group GICAC from the Universidad Politecnica de Madrid and the Universitad Particular Tecnica de Loja in collaboration with the Open Education Consortium.
MERLOT
MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
OER Commons
From the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education, the OER Commons offers OER for the primary through post-secondary levels.
Teaching Commons
Open Educational Resources from colleges and universities using the Digital Commons institutional repository platform.
MIT Open Courseware
MIT Open Courseware provides the materials from thousands of MIT courses, including lecture videos and slides, syllabi, readings, and assignments.
Open Course Library
Open Course Library offers collection of course materials to support Washington Community and Technical Colleges' 81 highest enrolled courses.
Open Learning Initiative
From Carnegie Mellon University, the Open Learning Initiative offers open courses covering a wide range of subject areas.
Open Yale Courses
Open Yale Courses provides video lectures and course materials for several of Yale's most renowned courses.
Penn State College of Earth and Mineral Sciences
Penn State EMS provides open courseware for several courses covering Energy and Mineral Engineering, Geography, Geosciences, Meteorology, and Astronomy.

Open Video Resources

Linking to video content, including embedding the video using host-provided code, is typically considered permissible under Fair Use. If you want to download videos and repurpose them or host them elsewhere, you will need to look for videos with more permissive licenses.

YouTube

To find Creative Commons videos on YouTube, search for your desired terms, then click the Filters button below the search box. In the list under Features, choose Creative Commons.

Vimeo

To find Creative Commons content on Vimeo, perform your search, then scroll to the bottom of the filter menu on the left and click +More Filters. Under License, choose the Creative Commons license type(s) you wish to view.