Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Scholarly Resources
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database providing archival access to scholarly journals in the arts, language and literature, history, sciences, and social sciences. Typically, the most recent three to five years of a journal are not available through JSTOR.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a general coverage database providing full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals across a wide range of disciplines, including history, social science, library science, computer science, language and literature, art, education, and life sciences.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art by Whether you are interested in Junk Art or Byzantine Art, the Ash Can School or the Antipodeans, Praxiteles and Phidias or Gilbert and George, The Oxford Dictionary of Art is the first place to turn for accurate information about artists, schools, periods, techniques, critical terms, major museums, art historians, philosophers, and much much more. Compiled from three highly acclaimed Oxford Companions--The Oxford Companion to Art, to Twentieth Century Art, and to the Decorative Arts--and with hundreds of new entries added, this authoritative, one volume reference offers over three thousand entries on almost every aspect of Western art, as well as the most essential features of Asian art. Here you will find the answer to almost any question pertaining to the world of art. In what museum is Parmigianino's Self Portrait in a Convex Mirror exhibited today? Who coined the term "happening"? What are color field painting, hard edge painting, and op art, who are the most representative artists of these schools, and what are their best works? How does camaieu differ from grisaille? What is the most richly endowed museum in the world? The Revised Edition features expanded coverage of twentieth-century art, with new entries on graffiti art, David Hockney, New Realism, the Pompidou Centre, and much more. There is also a new chronology of major works set in historical perspective, and a marvelous directory of museums and galleries around the world, including fax, e-mail, and website addresses. As a further aid, the Dictionary offers an extensive system of cross references, guiding readers to a wealth of additional information on almost any topic of interest. Covering the entire history of art, this wide ranging and up-to-date guide is an indispensable reference for scholars, for students, and for art enthusiasts of every kind. It is also a browser's delight, filled with fascinating facts about the personalities who people the world of art.
Call Number: R 703.21 Ox2, 1997
Publication Date: 1997-07-31
Laws, Copyright, and Fair Use in Art
Visual Arts and the Law by This essential handbook offers art professionals and collectors an accessible legal analysis of important principles in art law, as well as a practical guide to legal rights when creating, buying, selling and collecting art in a global market. Although the book is international in scope, there is a particular focus on the US as a major art centre and the site of countless key international court cases. This authoritative but accessible and wide-ranging volume is essential reading for arts advisors, collectors, dealers, auction houses, museums, investors, artists, attorneys and students of art and law.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2013-07-01
Grant Writing Resources
Grant Writing for Dummies by Are you writing a grant application for the first time? Maybe you're a veteran fundraiser looking to sharpen your grant writing skills. No matter how experienced you are at writing requests for money, people and organizations are not going to support you just because you're in need. Grant Writing for Dummies, 2nd Edition shows you the most effective way to compose a grant proposal and get funding from governments, corporations, foundations, and more! This hands-on, step-by-step guide leads you through researching options, dealing with application forms, handling potential sponsors, and getting the money you need. Revised and up-to-date, this book covers everything you need to know to: Fill out federal grant application kits Win grants from corporations and foundations Gain support from an individual grantor Obtain grants from international funds Meet the review criteria of government grants and contracts Choose the right word to win funds Master cover letters, abstracts, and more Let prospective grantors know your deal Put the finishing touches on your application Demystifying the process of grant writing, this all-out guide gives you just the facts with no information withheld. You'll get savvy tips on organizing your writing, developing your style, personalizing your requests, and how to handle your rejection and move forward. Also included is a complete example of a grant application narrative. With Grant Writing for Dummies, 2nd Edition, you'll be able to craft effective proposals and go for the gold!
Call Number: 2nd Floor 658.15224 B8211g, 2005
Publication Date: 2005-06-03
Citing Sources in MLA
Last name, First name, Middle initial. Title of book. Publisher, Publication year.
Roberts, Dorothy. Killing the black body. Vintage Books, 2017.
|Chapter in an edited book
Last name, First name, Middle initial. "Title of chapter." Title of Book, edition, edited by Editor's name(s), Publisher, Year, Pages.
Kessel, John. "Sharing the passion." The volleyball coaching bible, volume 2, edited by Cecile Reynaud, Human Kinetics, 2015, 3-14.
Last name, First name, Middle initial. "Title of Article." Name of Journal, vol. number, issue number, year, pages. Name of database, DOI or URL. Date of Access (Optional)
Campbell, Lisa, et al*. "It takes a community." Journal of Library Administration, volume 55, issue 2015, 577-586. LISTA,
10.1080/01930826.2015.1076313. November 12, 2018.
*el al. is used when there are three or more authors for the article.
Artist’s last name, first name. Title of artwork. Year. Name of institution/private collection housing artwork. Title of database or website. Publisher/sponsor of database or website. Medium consulted. Date of access.
Church, Frederic Edwin. Niagara. 1957. National Gallery of Art. NGA Images. Web. December 14, 2018.
Last name, First name, Middle initial [or name of organization]. "Title of Webpage." Name of website, Publisher if different from name of website, Date published or updated, URL. Accessed day month year.
Allen Memorial Library. "Reference services at Allen Memorial Library." Allen Memorial Library, Valley City State University, 2018, https://library.vcsu.edu/reference-services. Accessed 14 December 2018.