Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Scholarly Resources
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database providing archival access to scholarly journals in the arts, language and literature, history, sciences, and social sciences. Typically, the most recent three to five years of a journal are not available through JSTOR.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a general coverage database providing full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals across a wide range of disciplines, including history, social science, library science, computer science, language and literature, art, education, and life sciences.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art by Whether you are interested in Junk Art or Byzantine Art, the Ash Can School or the Antipodeans, Praxiteles and Phidias or Gilbert and George, The Oxford Dictionary of Art is the first place to turn for accurate information about artists, schools, periods, techniques, critical terms, major museums, art historians, philosophers, and much much more. Compiled from three highly acclaimed Oxford Companions--The Oxford Companion to Art, to Twentieth Century Art, and to the Decorative Arts--and with hundreds of new entries added, this authoritative, one volume reference offers over three thousand entries on almost every aspect of Western art, as well as the most essential features of Asian art. Here you will find the answer to almost any question pertaining to the world of art. In what museum is Parmigianino's Self Portrait in a Convex Mirror exhibited today? Who coined the term "happening"? What are color field painting, hard edge painting, and op art, who are the most representative artists of these schools, and what are their best works? How does camaieu differ from grisaille? What is the most richly endowed museum in the world? The Revised Edition features expanded coverage of twentieth-century art, with new entries on graffiti art, David Hockney, New Realism, the Pompidou Centre, and much more. There is also a new chronology of major works set in historical perspective, and a marvelous directory of museums and galleries around the world, including fax, e-mail, and website addresses. As a further aid, the Dictionary offers an extensive system of cross references, guiding readers to a wealth of additional information on almost any topic of interest. Covering the entire history of art, this wide ranging and up-to-date guide is an indispensable reference for scholars, for students, and for art enthusiasts of every kind. It is also a browser's delight, filled with fascinating facts about the personalities who people the world of art.
Call Number: R 703.21 Ox2, 1997
Publication Date: 1997-07-31
Native North American Art by This lively introductory survey of indigenous North American arts from ancient times to the present explores both the shared themes and imagery found across the continent and the distinctive traditions of each region. Focusing on the richness of artwork created in the US and Canada, NativeNorth American Art, Second Edition, discusses 3,000 years of architecture, wood and rock carvings, basketry, dance masks, clothing and more.The expanded text discusses twentieth- and twenty-first-century arts in all media including works by James Luna, Kent Monkman, Nadia Myre, Jaune Quick-to-See Smith, Will Wilson, and many more. Authors Berlo and Phillips incorporate new research and scholarship, examining such issues as art andethics, gender, representation, and the colonial encounter. By bringing into one conversation the seemingly separate realms of the sacred and the secular, the political and the domestic, and the ceremonial and the commercial, Native North American Art shows how visual arts not only maintain theintegrity of spiritual and social systems within Native North American societies, but have long been part of a cross-cultural experience as well.
Call Number: 2nd Floor 704.0397 B4559n
Publication Date: 2014-09-02
Native American Art in the Twentieth Century by This illuminating and provocative book is the first anthology devoted to Twentieth Century Native American and First Nation art. Native American Art brings together anthropologists, art historians, curators, critics and distinguished Native artists to discuss pottery, painitng, sculpture, printmaking, photography and performance art by some of the most celebrated Native American and Canadian First Nation artists of our time The contributors use new theoretical and critical approaches to address key issues for Native American art, including symbolism and spirituality, the role of patronage and musuem practices, the politics of art criticism and the aesthetic power of indigenous knowledge. The artist contributors, who represent several Native nations - including Cherokee, Lakota, Plains Cree, and those of the PLateau country - emphasise the importance of traditional stories, myhtologies and ceremonies in the production of comtemporary art. Within great poignancy, thye write about recent art in terms of home, homeland and aboriginal sovereignty Tracing the continued resistance of Native artists to dominant orthodoxies of the art market and art history, Native American Art in the Twentieth Century argues forcefully for Native art's place in modern art history.
Call Number: 2nd Floor 704.0397 N21
Publication Date: 1999-06-28
Citing Sources in MLA
Last name, First name, Middle initial. Title of book. Publisher, Publication year.
Roberts, Dorothy. Killing the black body. Vintage Books, 2017.
|Chapter in an edited book
Last name, First name, Middle initial. "Title of chapter." Title of Book, edition, edited by Editor's name(s), Publisher, Year, Pages.
Kessel, John. "Sharing the passion." The volleyball coaching bible, volume 2, edited by Cecile Reynaud, Human Kinetics, 2015, 3-14.
Last name, First name, Middle initial. "Title of Article." Name of Journal, vol. number, issue number, year, pages. Name of database, DOI or URL. Date of Access (Optional)
Campbell, Lisa, et al*. "It takes a community." Journal of Library Administration, volume 55, issue 2015, 577-586. LISTA,
10.1080/01930826.2015.1076313. November 12, 2018.
*el al. is used when there are three or more authors for the article.
Artist’s last name, first name. Title of artwork. Year. Name of institution/private collection housing artwork. Title of database or website. Publisher/sponsor of database or website. Medium consulted. Date of access.
Church, Frederic Edwin. Niagara. 1957. National Gallery of Art. NGA Images. Web. December 14, 2018.
Last name, First name, Middle initial [or name of organization]. "Title of Webpage." Name of website, Publisher if different from name of website, Date published or updated, URL. Accessed day month year.
Allen Memorial Library. "Reference services at Allen Memorial Library." Allen Memorial Library, Valley City State University, 2018, https://library.vcsu.edu/reference-services. Accessed 14 December 2018.