Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Science for All Children: a guide to improving elementary science education in your school district by Remember the first time you planted a seed and watched it sprout? Or explored how a magnet attracted a nail? If these questions bring back memories of joy and wonder, then you understand the idea behind inquiry-based science--an approach to science education that challenges children to ask questions, solve problems, and develop scientific skills as well as gain knowledge. Inquiry-based science is based on research and experience, both of which confirm that children learn science best when they engage in hands-on science activities rather than read from a textbook. The recent "National Science Education Standards" prepared by the National Research Council call for a revolution in science education. They stress that the science taught must be based on active inquiry and that science should become a core activity in every grade, starting in kindergarten. This easy-to-read and practical book shows how to bring about the changes recommended in the standards. It provides guidelines for planning and implementing an inquiry-based science program in any school district. The book is divided into three parts. "Building a Foundation for Change," presents a rationale for inquiry-based science and describes how teaching through inquiry supports the way children naturally learn. It concludes with basic guidelines for planning a program. School administrators, teachers, and parents will be especially interested in the second part, "The Nuts and Bolts of Change." This section describes the five building blocks of an elementary science program: Community and administrative support. A developmentally appropriate curriculum. Opportunities for professional development. Materials support. Appropriate assessment tools. Together, these five elements provide a working model of how to implement hands-on science. The third part, "Inquiry-Centered Science in Practice," presents profiles of the successful inquiry-based science programs in districts nationwide. These profiles show how the principles of hands-on science can be adapted to different school settings. If you want to improve the way science is taught in the elementary schools in your community, Science for All Children is an indispensable resource.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Toward Inclusion of All Learners Through Science Teacher Education by Towards Inclusion of All Learners through Science Teacher Education serves as an indispensable resource for teachers and teacher educators wishing to understand how to educate students with exceptionalities in science. This book begins with the voices and stories of the experts: current and former K-12 students with disabilities sharing their experiences in science education classrooms. The voices of students with disabilities are then connected to the work of leading experts in the area of science education for individuals with disabilities in an effort to address the goals of national reform documents by ensuring rigorous science experiences for all students. It is written in a highly accessible and practical manner, making it ideal for all educators including pre-service and in-service teachers, teacher educators, researchers, and curriculum developers.
Call Number: 3rd Floor 372.35 T65
Publication Date: 2018-05-03
Learning Science by Doing Science: 10 classic investigations reimagined to teach kids how science really works, grades 3-8 by Most teachers learned about science from traditional textbooks stressing scientific conclusions without discussing how scientists created those conclusions, leaving them ill equipped to face new science standards. If you′re a time-strapped teacher worried about the instructional shifts the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) require, this book is here to help. Each chapter walks teachers through time-tested, inquiry-based classroom activities and case studies of what real scientists do to illustrate such ideas as: what makes up scientific questioning, the differences between hypotheses, theories, and laws, inductive and deductive reasoning, common procedures for scientific experimentation and more.
Call Number: 507.1 C6721L
Publication Date: 2017-02-08
Bringing STEM to the Elementary Classroom by Many resources help you encourage young children to learn about science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM). But only this book of quality STEM experiences was curated by the veteran educator who edits Science and Children, NSTA's award-winning journal for elementary teachers. Sensitive to the needs of both preK-5 students and busy teachers, editor Linda Froschauer developed Bringing STEM to the Elementary Classroom as a comprehensive source of classroom-tested STEM investigations. The 36 lessons are: conveniently organized into grade-level bands grounded in science education research designed to encourage learning across disciplines, promote real-world problem-solving skills, introduce children to STEM careers, and serve all students equally well; and connected to all elements of the Next Generation Science Standards. Whether you're just beginning to delve into STEM experiences or eager for fresh ideas, Bringing STEM to the Elementary Classroom provides you with new, interesting, and productive strategies.
Call Number: 372.3 B7714
Publication Date: 2016-05-17
Use the following library databases to find scholarly articles relevant to Science Methods for Elementary Teachers:
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more. In addition, it provides an education-specific thesaurus that includes controlled vocabulary.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source provides access to full text, peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from thousands of education journals, covering a broad range of education topics and educational specialties.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
The Teacher Reference Center (TRC) database is now made available at no charge to any K-12 library - compliments of EBSCO Publishing. TRC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed.