Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exercise Technique Manual for Resistance Training 3rd Edition with Online Video by Created by the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA), Exercise Technique Manual for Resistance Training, Third Edition With Online Video, is a practical resource for current and aspiring strength and conditioning professionals and personal trainers. With unmatched visual demonstration of a variety of free weight and machine exercises, the text is a valuable tool for those preparing for NSCA certification and for others who design programs for athletes and clients of all ages and fitness levels. The fully updated, full-color reference explains 70 resistance training exercises with step-by-step instructions, photos, and online video demonstrations. The third edition contains several new features: * Online video for each resistance training exercise, which demonstrates proper technique and highlights common errors in technique * Expanded coverage from 57 to 70 exercises (54 free weight and 16 machine exercises), with many exercises greatly revised * A special section on alternative modes and nontraditional implements, including kettlebell exercises Exercise Technique Manual for Resistance Training, Third Edition With Online Video, is organized by body region, including total body, lower body, upper body, and core, and focuses on specific resistance training exercises that pertain to each region. Every chapter contains a table that describes each exercise's concentric action, predominant muscle groups, and muscles involved, enabling readers to understand the impact of the exercises on each body region. To reinforce fundamental techniques, the text includes guidelines related to general safety, tips for breathing and spotting, preparatory body position, and weight belt recommendations. Exercises are explained through sequential instructions and photos to ensure that readers will learn the safest and most effective technique. Accompanying checklists identify the correct grip, stance, body position, and range of motion for each exercise. Online videos demonstrate proper technique as well as common errors so that users can recognize incorrect techniques and make appropriate adjustments. These videos are an invaluable resource and visual aid for learning correct technique--in the strength and conditioning facility and in the classroom. With the inclusion of additional exercises as well as online video demonstrations, Exercise Technique Manual for Resistance Training, Third Edition With Online Video, is the most authoritative and current resource in teaching safe and effective resistance exercise techniques.
Call Number: 613.71 Ex37t
Kinesiology Taping for Rehab and Injury Prevention by THE ULTIMATE DIY TAPING GUIDE OF EVERYDAY INJURIES AND AILMENTS INCLUDES OVER 200 STEP-BY-STEP PHOTOS Widely used by physical therapists, chiropractors and personal trainers, kinesiology tape provides incredible support while simultaneously stretching so your body can perform its normal range of motion. Now you can utilize this amazing material at home. Simply buy a roll at your local drugstore and follow the taping methods described in this book to reduce pain, rehab an injury and get back in the game. Providing clear step-by-step instructions and helpful photos, the author shows how to tape the most common injuries and conditions anywhere on the body: * Neck pain * Frozen shoulder * Bicep strain * Tennis elbow * Wrist sprain * Tight IT band * ACL/MCL sprains * Achilles tendinitis * Ankle sprain * Plantar fasciitis
Call Number: 615.8 K5601k
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Health & Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new windowHealth & Wellness Resource Center offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, and includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. Open an entry and select "Find it @ VCSU" to see if we have an item in our collections.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowFilms on Demand offers state-of-the-art streaming for over 6,000 available educational titles. The films cover a wide range of subject areas and disciplines, ranging from the Arts, Music and Humanities to the Natural Sciences and Business. Easily cite videos using the built-in citation generator and share links to video clips on the go. Create an account to make playlists and save your progress for later.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection This link opens in a new windowPhysical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new windowPubMed Central (PMC) is a subset of full-text articles included in the PubMed index. PubMed Central is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).