Effective Instruction for Middle School Students with Reading Difficulties by Carolyn A. Denton; Sharon Vaughn; Jade Wexler; Deanna Bryan; Deborah ReedReading problems don't disappear when students enter middle school, recent studies show that nearly a quarter of today's eighth graders aren't able to read at a basic level. This book arms language arts teachers with lessons, strategies, and foundational kowledge they need to resolve older students' reading difficulties and increase their chances for academic success. Ideal for use with struggling readers in Grades 6 - 8, this book clearly lays out the fundamentals of effective teaching for adolescents with reading difficulties. Teachers will discover how to: select and administor assessments for comprehension, fluency, and word recognition; use assessment results to plan individualized instruction; apply research-supported instructional practices; develop flexible grouping systems; set manageable short-term learning goals with students; give appropriate and corrective feedback; monitor student progress over time; provide effective interventions within a school-wide Response to Intervention framework; and more. To help teachers incorporate evidence-based practices into their classroom instruction they'll get more than 20 complete, step-by-step sample lessons for strengthening adolescents' reading skills. Easy to adapt for use across any curriculum, the sample lessons provide explicit models of successful instruction, with suggested teacher scripts, checklist for planning instruction, key terms and objectives, strategies for guided and independent practice, tips on promoting generalization, and more.
Call Number: 428.40712 Ef364
Publication Date: 2012-09-04
What Every Middle School Teacher Needs to Know about Reading Tests by Charles FuhrkenTests require a special kind of savvy, a kind of critical thinking and knowledge application that is not always a part of classroom reading experiences. Who better to teach you how to prepare your students for reading tests than someone who has written them? Charles Fuhrken has spent years working with several major testing companies and contributing to the reading assessments of various testing programs. What he's learned about testing can help teachers who are interested in teaching effective reading strategies as well as preparing students for reading tests. What Every Middle School Teacher Needs to Know About Reading Tests (From Someone Who Has Written Them) offers extensive, practical strategies to help students perform well on test day. This ready-to-use, easy-to-understand resource provides a wealth of information about reading tests, including high-quality preparation materials, samples of the most frequently assessed reading standards, and engaging core-reading activities. Charles takes the mystery out of reading tests; he explains how students can learn the language of tests and apply their knowledge of reading to standardized tests. In addition to providing information about reading tests that will help students feel prepared and confident on test day, What Every Middle School Teacher Needs to Know About Reading Tests provides a wealth of resources that can be incorporated into a teacher's everyday reading work, including vocabulary development, literary techniques, interpretation, comprehension, and more.
Call Number: 372.482 F9552wh
Publication Date: 2011-02-08
Introduction to Middle School by Sara Davis PowellThis fresh, reader-friendly text presents a comprehensive introduction to the children, the choices, and the challenges of teaching middle school. Writing in the first person, the author, an experienced middle school teacher, examines the full range of middle school topics, from the development and diversity of middle school learners, to the structures, curriculum, and environment of the school itself. Engaging vignettes and photos of teachers and students bring topics to life, while student work samples, case studies, and articles on MyEducationLab link to topics within each chapter. Boxed NMSA performance standards relate to each chapter's content and videos, and Professional Practice features in all chapters involve scenarios from the lives of teachers and students, followed by multiple choice and constructed response opportunities that mirror Praxis II exams. Introduction to Middle School offers a comprehensive body of knowledge that emphasizes academic rigor while speaking to pre-service teachers in a voice that invites new teachers into this field.
Call Number: 373.236 P8716i
Publication Date: 2011
Use the following library databases to find scholarly articles relevant to Middle School methods:
ERICThis link opens in a new windowERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more. In addition, it provides an education-specific thesaurus that includes controlled vocabulary.
Education SourceThis link opens in a new windowEducation Source provides access to full text, peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from thousands of education journals, covering a broad range of education topics and educational specialties.
This link opens in a new window
Educator's Reference CompleteThis link opens in a new windowEducator's Reference Complete is the perfect complement for any library that utilizes the ERIC database, because it provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC. This database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty -- such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. Educator's Reference Complete also focuses on issues in administration, funding and policy.
Teacher Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowThe Teacher Reference Center (TRC) database is now made available at no charge to any K-12 library - compliments of EBSCO Publishing. TRC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed.
The ESL/ELL Teacher's Book of Lists by Jacqueline E. KressEverything educators need to know to enhance learning for ESL students This unique teacher time-saver includes scores of helpful, practical lists that may be reproduced for classroom use or referred to in the development of instructional materials and lessons. The material contained in this book helps K-12 teachers reinforce and enhance the learning of grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation, and writing skills in ESL students of all ability levels. For easy use and quick access, the lists are printed in a format that can be photocopied as many times as required. A complete, thoroughly updated glossary at the end provides an indispensable guide to the specialized language of ESL instruction.
Differentiated Literacy Strategies for English Language Learners, Grades 7-12 by Gayle H. Gregory; Amy J. BurkmanThis book is an adaptation of Gregory′s bestselling book Differentiated Literacy Strategies for Student Growth and Achievement in Grades 7-12, revised′′ to address the specific needs of English Language Learners. This is a ′′versatile handbook for middle school and high school educators who need ′′to differentiate literacy instruction for adolescent and teen ELL ′′students at different stages of development along the literacy ′′continuum. Covering the relevant brain research and specific ′′instructional and assessment strategies for teens, this book pays ′′special attention to hooks that appeal to older learners with varying ′′degrees of skills and competencies. Written for classroom teachers, ′′reading specialists, curriculum developers, and instructional leaders, ′′this one-stop source provides an expert guide to working with all of ′′today′s adolescent and teen English Language Learners.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2011-10-05
Teaching Reading to English Language Learners, Grades 6-12 by Margarita Espino Calderon (Editor)English Language Learners are no longer confined to just a few states, but can be found in just about every classroom. Without strong reading skills, ELLs cannot develop to their fullest potential and are at greater risk for dropping out of school. Many ELLs don′t fully develop their literacy skills in the elementary grades or begin their schooling in middle or high school. And most mainstream teachers may not have the training and preparation to teach language minority students. This resource provides assistance to teachers who struggle with the question of how to appropriately present complex subject matter to students who are just learning to speak English. With funding from the Carnegie Corporation and the US Department of Education, Margarita Calder=n and her associates developed the ExCELL (Expediting Comprehension for English Language Learners) model. From this successful program they created the ExC-ELL Observation Protocolùa tool for planning content lessons; coaching for literacy coaches not familiar with ELL instruction; supervision by administrators; teacher self-reflection; peer coaching; and conducting classroom research. This practical guide is full of ready-to-use tools, including:Lesson templatesRubricsSample lesson plans in mathematics, science, language arts, and social studiesDescriptions of successful programsProfessional development designsThis book is designed for middleáand high school teachers of English, science, math, and social studies who teach one or more ELL students. Middle and high school principals, literacy coaches, content curriculum specialists, and central office administrators will find this to be a useful tool in raising the achievement of ELLs.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2018
Making Math Accessible to English Language Learners by r4Educated r4Educated SolutionsMaking Math Accessible for English Language Learners provides practical classroom tips and suggestions to strengthen the quality of classroom instruction for teachers of mathematics. The tips and suggestions are based on research in practices and strategies that address the affective, linguistic, and cognitive needs of English language learners.
Educating Gifted Students in Middle School by Susan RakowEducating Gifted Students in Middle School: A Practical Guide (3rd ed.) helps educators with the challenging task of understanding and meeting the needs of gifted students in middle school. This revised and updated third edition: Provides a rationale and framework that middle schools can use to fill the service gap for gifted and advanced learners. Addresses the needs of learners from diverse backgrounds. Shows how to implement effective program models. Identifies best practices for the classroom. Shares research-based curriculum models. Topics addressed include school organization, instructional strategies in the basic subject areas, cocurricular and summer programs, the missing link of executive function skills, and counseling at-risk gifted learners. Educating Gifted Students in Middle School focuses on creative, practical, and realistic school solutions that create a vital and responsive community for all students.
What's missing: best practices for teaching students with disabilities by Carolyn Lindstrom; Bonita M. DroletWhat's Missing describes the ten research-based practices that have proven effective in working with students with disabilities. The practices for instruction and for inclusion are detailed in individual chapters in order for the reader to select a specific practice, read information about it, review a possible scenario, and then be given specific strategies on how to implement it. The book begins with an introduction and a brief history of special education legislation to the present.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2017-02-07
Special Education for Young Learners with Disabilities by Festus E. Obiakor (Editor); Jeffrey P. Bakken (Editor)Special Education for Young Learners with Disabilitiesbrings together leaders in the field of young children with disabilities, to present their ideas and research on different disability topics. Beginning with an introduction to the topic, the remaining chapters include discussions on learning disabilities, emotional and behavioral disorders, and intellectual disabilities; those who are deaf/hard of heÅ those who have visual impairments; those who have autism, severe and multiple disabilities, and traumatic brain injury; those who are culturally and linguistically diverse; those who have physical disabilities, and other health impairments. While this book focuses largely on the current climate of special education for young learners with disabilities, it also looks forward, concluding with a chapter on the future for the topic, both on a research and a practical basis. This volume of Advances in Special Educationis a fundamental resource for special education researchers, scholars, practitioners, and professionals who teach and serve young learners with disabilities.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological AssociationThe Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options