This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
Allen Memorial Library

Music Education

Finding Books

Most research assignments should have a combination of different source types within your research. Books are a great resource for doing research. E-books and physical books both fall into this category.

Books differ from peer-reviewed journal articles because books provide general overviews of a topic, whereas articles are shorter and more specific. 

Remember: You don't have to read the entire book! If there is one chapter in the book that works for your topic, just read that chapter. 

Find Books at the VCSU Library

Using the VCSU Library Catalog

The link to the library catalog will take you to an advanced search. Use these steps to fill in the search box: 

  1. Make sure the "library catalog" option is selected at the top of the search box.
  2. Enter the keyword you want to search.
  3. Add a second keyword to the next line if you want to be more specific.
  4. Click the "material type" dropdown menu on the right side of the box, then choose "books." 
  5. The language dropdown is right below the material type. Pick English from these options unless you specifically need a book in another language.
  6. If you need a book published during a specific time period, use the start date and end date options below the language menu to set a date range.
  7. Click search to get your results! 

Your results will come up as a list of sources with the ability to save links. Along the right side of the page is a sidebar with more filtering options. 

The sidebar is labeled "Tweak your results." Use some or all of the following tips to narrow down your results further: 

  1. Your results are normally sorted by relevance, but you can sort them by date, title, or author instead if you prefer.
  2. Use the "availability: section to choose what format of book you prefer. If you want E-books, choose "available online." If you want physical books, choose "physical items." 
  3. You can use the "subject" section to make sure you are only looking at sources from the fields of study you need. For example, If I want to research space exploration, but the search term "exploration" brought information about both exploring space and historical exploration of the United States, I can check here for ways to filter out the unwanted options.
  4. If you didn't add a date to your original search or if you don't like the date range you used, you can edit the date range under the "creation date" section.

 

Finding Scholarly Articles

These articles are basically the "bread-and-butter" sources for scholarly research - they're used in every discipline.

What does peer-reviewed mean?

If an article is peer-reviewed that means that before the article was published it was reviewed and scrutinized by other experts in the same field. This process ensures that the sources are reliable and trustworthy. 

Why you should use them:

  • Information is based on research and expertise
  • Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
  • The peer-review process (mostly) insures that the information is accurate
  • They add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas

These source types may also be referred to as peer-reviewed article, academic article, or journal article. 

Here are some of the best databases to use for finding scholarly articles in music education: 

Finding Sheet Music and Scores

The VCSU Library has a large collection of physical sheet music and scores. To find them, do a basic catalog search and then under the Resource Type field narrow the results to Scores. 

There are also many online resources for finding scores: 

Bodleian Library Broadsides: The Bodleian Library has holdings of over 30,000 ballads in several major collections. The materials range from the 16th- to the 20th-Century. The Broadside Ballads project makes the digitized copies available to the research community.

California Sheet Music Project, UC Berkeley: A virtual library of some 2,000 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900, together with related materials such as a San Francisco publisher's catalog of 1872, programs, songsheets, advertisements, and photographs. Images of every printed page of sheet music have been scanned at 400 dpi, in color where indicated.

Choral Public Domain Library: This site is a wiki-style portal dedicated to providing free, legal scores of choral music.

Digital Sheet Music Consortium: Digitized sheet music in the public domain (prior to 1923). Consortium members include UCLA, Indiana University, Johns Hopkins University, and the Library of Congress, among several others.

Digitized Opera & Musical Theatre Scores: Nearly 100 opera and musical theater scores from UIUC have been digitized. Represented in the collection are the works of composers such as Victor Herbert, John Philip Sousa, and Gilbert & Sullivan.

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy's Works: Click the URN red text to be taken to the sheet music. This is a German site translated into English.

Folk Song Index: An index to traditional folk songs of the world with an emphasis on English-language songs. Each entry includes the song title, first line of chorus, first line of verse, and a citation.

G. F. Handel's Complete Works: This is a site in German. Please click "Startseite" at the bottom of the page to see the works. From the Munich Digitisation Centre.

J.S. Bach's Church Cantatas: Scanned images of Bach Church Cantatas.

Robert Schumann's Works

W. A. Mozart's Complete Works: Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use

W. A. Mozart's Thematic Catalogue: NOTE: December 2023, the British Library's digital resources are down due to a cybersecurity breach. "This manuscript is Mozart's record of his compositions in the last seven years of his life, and thus is a uniquely important document. According to the description on the front cover, Mozart planned to include all his compositions, but there are a few minor omissions. Intriguingly, there are also entries in the catalogue for a number of works that have since been lost."

Finding Reference Resources 

Reference resources are great sources to provide you with background information or context for a topic. These resources can be dictionaries, encyclopedias, guides, handbooks, etc. 

 

Finding Multimedia

Multimedia resources are essential when researching within music. The following are some selected resources that can connect you with multimedia sources: 

 

Web Resources

Archival Sound Recordings (British Library): NOTE: December 2023, the British Library's digital resources are down due to a cybersecurity breach. Digital access to selected recordings from the British Library Sound Archive. U.S. researchers can search all recordings on the site, listen to recordings where copyright permits (currently over 22,900 items), and view notes and tags added by other users.

Classical Cat: Free MP3 recordings of compositions across the world

Internet Archive's Audio Collection: The incredible Internet Archive contains thousands of audio tracks, recorded concerts, and more. This is a fantastic, historically-oriented resource.

Live Music Archive (Internet Archive): A community committed to providing the highest quality live concerts in a lossless, downloadable format. Preserves and archives as many live concerts as possible for current and future generations to enjoy. "All music is from trade-friendly artists and is strictly non-commercial, both for access here and for any further distribution."

Library of Congress: National Jukebox: At launch, the Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others.

RadiOM: Cutting-edge music from all periods, from the Baroque to modern sound poetry, from San Francisco radio station KPFA-FM, 1959-2005

RIAA (Recording Industry Association of America): "Since 1958, the RIAA has been giving awards for best-selling music and spoken word records and albums: gold (500,000 albums sold), platinum (one million), multi-platinum (two million), and diamond (10 million). Search the database by title, artist, label, format, category, and award."

Spotify: Spotify offers both a free and subscription service which allows users to create playlists, browse artists, and stream audio from a number of devices.

Finding Composition Resources 

Notation Software

Free Printable Staff Paper

Make Music

Sibelius

IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library: The free public domain music library

Web Resources 

American Composers' Forum

CDP Home Page

Classical Cat: Free MP3 recordings of compositions across the world

Irence Jackson Songwriting Tips

Society of Composers

 

Finding Piano Pedagogy Resources

Societies & Organizations

American Federation of Musicians

College Music Society: The College Music Society is a consortium of college, conservatory, university, and independent musicians and scholars interested in all disciplines of music.

Francis Clark Center for Keyboard Pedagogy

MTNA (Music Teachers National Association)

National Federation of Music Clubs

National Guild of Piano Teachers

Piano Society: Free recordings of keyboard compositions and performers

The Association for Technology in Music Instruction (ATMI)

Databases