Research Guides: ENGL 480: Shakespeare: Find Articles

Contact Us!

they/them

Email Me

Recommended Resources

You will spend your research time most efficiently by using the following resources. Please note that you should not feel limited to those items listed below:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a general coverage database providing full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals across a wide range of disciplines, including history, social science, library science, computer science, language and literature, art, education, and life sciences.
Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Artemis Literary Sources allows users to search throughout our Gale collections (Lit-Finder, Virtual Reference Library) to uncover an extensive collection of primary and secondary literary resources. Built in tools such as the Topic Finder allow users to narrow their search more easily, and the Term Frequency feature allows searchers to see how often a concept has been used in the available sources throughout time. This is a great way to find thematic texts throughout history.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Expanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide-range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database providing archival access to scholarly journals in the arts, language and literature, history, sciences, and social sciences. Typically, the most recent three to five years of a journal are not available through JSTOR.
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides access to thousands of full length documentaries, educational videos, and theatrical films. Collections include titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, and many more.

Developing Your Search Terms

Please note that the following information will help you sort through the great bulk of Shakespearean scholarship available:

Shakespeare (as author, as generic term)
Title of your play (Tempest, Merchant of Venice, etc.)
Genre (Tragedy, Comedy, History)
Characters (Ophelia, Polonius, Laertes) - Note: Record all their names--Nicknames, Family Names, Full Names
Themes (Redemption, Betrayal, Trust, Love, etc.)
Popular Scholars who have written on your topic
The themes those scholars have written about your topic
Act(s), Scene(s) you are studying
Setting (Physical location, if significant to your interpretation)
Other elements, techniques, etc. worthy of note