HIST 103 & 104: U.S. History

A New Literary History of America contains essays on topics from the first conception of a New World in the sixteenth century to the latest re-envisioning of that world in cartoons, television, science fiction, and hip hop. Literature, music, film, art, history, science, philosophy, political rhetoriccultural creations of every kind appear in relation to each other, and to the time and place that give them shape. Also contains an introduction and index.

In analytical articles, this work explores the developments that influenced the profound changes in thought and sensibility during the second half of the eighteenth century and the first half of the nineteenth century.

This appealing book fills in another dimension by tracing the evolution of American popular culture over the past two centuries. In a lengthy chronology of landmark events, this title provides an intriguing window on the social, economic, and political history of our democracy from the antebellum period to the present.

This book seeks not only to acquaint students with the lives of a variety of influential Americans, both famous and lesser-known, but also to provide a comprehensive examination, through those lives, of the critical issues that determined the course of modern American history.

The St. James Encyclopedia Of Popular Culture, 2nd ed., updates and augments the over ten-year-old first edition. It includes 3,036 signed essays (300 of them new), alphabetically arranged, and written or reviewed by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. The entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance (which include theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance). The entries analyze each topic or person's significance in and relevance to American popular culture; in addition to basic factual information, readers will gain perspective on the cultural context in which the topic or person has importance.

Covers a wide spectrum of American history and culture, including political events, military history, sports, arts, entertainment, landmark legislation, and business. The book's concise entries, arranged from A to Z, bring the United States' past into sharp focus while also offering just plain useful facts about the well known and not so well known

Offers entries covering the critical events, issues and individuals that have shaped American History.

Brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.

Entries in this volume synthesize a great deal of information about the historical and contemporary meanings of many of the central terms that structure the fields of American studies and cultural studies; they provide contexts for the usage of those terms by discussing how their meanings have developed over time; and they may even unlock a few mysteries and break a few codes.

Filled with surprising anecdotes, little-known facts, and rare illustrations, this resource covers major events and battles, commanders and theorists, weaponry and technological advances, and strategy and tactics.

Covers the world's best known and most significant vessels of every size and type. Each ship is described in a vivid short essay that captures its personality as well as its physical characteristics, construction, and history, from the drawing board to the scrap yard or museum.

This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa.

A comprehensive encyclopedia covering the close ties between Britain and the whole of the Americas, examining Britain's cultural and political legacy to the nations of the New World.

A unique, multidisciplinary encyclopedia covering the impacts that French and American politics, foreign policy, and culture have had on shaping each country's identity.

This comprehensive encyclopedia details the close ties between the German-speaking world and the Americas, examining the extensive Germanic cultural and political legacy in the nations of the New World and the equally substantial influence of the Americas on the Germanic nations.

This comprehensive encyclopedia covers the reciprocal effects that the politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, and the American nations have had on one another since the time of Columbus.

This work is a distinctive, multidisciplinary encyclopedia covering the cultural, political, economic, musical, and literary impact that Ireland and the nations of the Americas have had on one another since the time of Brendan the Navigator.

Written by contemporary authorities, the volume features many Native American contributors - including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists - with voices as distinct as their subjects, offering a deeper and more informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present

Covers the world's best known and most significant vessels of every size and type. Each ship is described in a vivid short essay that captures its personality as well as its physical characteristics, construction, and history, from the drawing board to the scrap yard or museum.

Organized by thematic chapters, American Eras Primary Sources: Westward Expansion (1800-1860) is a student-friendly reference that's patterned after Gale's award-winning American Decades: Primary Sources series. This volume covers full or excerpted primary sources representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements, and events of Manifest Destiny and the westward expansion of the United States. Also included with each primary source is concise contextual information, notes about the author, further resources, and full-color photos and illustrations. "Further Resources" section for each entry provides a gateway to additional research opportunities. Provides in-depth descriptions of important events, including trends, movements, conflicts, and diplomatic efforts that shaped America in the first half of the nineteenth century. Multiple primary sources on particularly significant subjects are often presented in more than one chapter of a volume, providing opportunities to see the significance and impact of an event or figure from many angles.

American Eras: Primary Sources is a fascinating, student-friendly reference that's patterned after the Gale's award-winning American Decades: Primary Sources series. Like its predecessor, each volume of American Eras: Primary Sources offers full or excerpted primary sources representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements, and events from each era. Also included are concise contextual information, notes about the author, further resources, and full color photos and illustrations. The following eras are covered: Early American Civilization, Exploration to 1600; The Colonial Era (1600-1754); Revolutionary Era (1754-1783); Development of a Nation, (1783-1815); Reform Era & Eastern U.S. Development (1815-1850); Westward Expansion (1800-1860); Civil War and Reconstruction (1860-1878); and Development of the Industrial United States (1878-1899). The primary sources fall into the following categories: the arts, business and the economy, education, fashion and leisure, government and politics, law and justice, lifestyles and social trends, media, medicine and health, religion, and science and technology. Providing unique perspectives and a wealth of understanding are oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, and recipes.

The arts -- Business and the economy -- Communications -- Education -- Fashion and leisure -- Government and politics -- Law and justice -- Lifestyles and social trends -- Religion -- Science, medicine, and technology. Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to the era of industrial development in U.S. history. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Alphabetical entries present the culture, history, and key figures of the American South in the half-century before the Civil War.

In Jews and the Civil War, essays from top scholars are grouped into seven sections—Jews and Slavery, Jews and Abolition, Rabbis and the March to War, Jewish Soldiers during the Civil War, The Home Front, Jews as a Class, and Aftermath-each with an introduction by the editors. It covers the impact of the war on Jews (both soldiers and civilians) in the North and the South and includes resources for further reading.

Tells stories of barrier-breaking pioneers in all fields-arts, entertainment, business, civil rights, education, government, inventing, journalism, religion, science, sports, and more.

Examines every effort to end slavery in the United States and the transatlantic world. It focuses on massive, broad-based movements, as well as specific incidents, events, and developments, and pulls together in one place information previously available only in a wide variety of sources.

Includes full coverage of the Railroad in both the United States and Canada, which was the ultimate destination of many of the escaping slaves. Explores the people, places, writings, laws, and organizations that made this network possible.

This second edition is an expansion of the 1996 classic and its 2000 supplement. Whereas the first edition focused almost exclusively on the United States, this new set identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of the cultures, achievements, challenges, and promise of the 150 million people of African descent who live in North America, Central and South America, and the Caribbean. It is an authoritative and comprehensive information about Black history, figures, and accomplishments throughout the Americas now have a defining and current reference.

Top scholars present an unbiased work that takes on the explosive issue of guns and gun violence in the United States.

Covers the complete scandal-filled history of American political corruption.

A comprehensive history of conspiracies and conspiracy theories in the United States.

This title evaluates each president on his effectiveness in each area and a final analysis is provided for the scores combined. The most overrated and underrated chief executives are identified., with each entry including a biographical and political information, as well as an analysis of their overall behavior and status.

American Constitutional Law provides a comprehensive account of the nations defining document. Based on the premise that the study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America, this text puts current events in terms of what those who initially drafted and ratified the Constitution sought to accomplish.

Who Was Who in America preserves the lifetime accomplishments of many world history-makers.

Preserves the lifetime accomplishments of many world history-makers.

A collection of biographies of the men and women who have made a significant contribution to environmental issues over the last 200 years. Biographies range from scientists to advocates, businessmen to musicians, politicians to actors, along with others who have forever altered how we think about the environment.

A directory of biographical information on America's most notable men and women from every field of endeavor.

Covers the lives of exceptional women throughout three and a half centuries of American history, including artists, lawyers, reformers, educators, entrepreneurs, physicists, writers, pioneers, presidents' ladies, film stars.

The publication of the first volumes of Notable American Women in 1971 was a watershed event in women's history. By uncovering and documenting the enormous contributions that women had made - previously overlooked or underappreciated - this important reference work changed the way historians thought and wrote about American history.

The life stories of American women who have in some way affected contemporary American life are explored in this lauded companion to Notable American Women, 1607-1950.

A comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements.

Contains detailed profiles, historical essays, primary documents, timeline, and bibliography.