Diversity and Multicultural Education: Find Books & eBooks

How can we create truly multicultural classrooms? In this new edition of her popular text, renowned early childhood educator Patricia Ramsey draws on a wide range of research and practice from different communities around the world to further explore the complexities of raising and teaching young children in a world fraught with societal divisions and inequities. Using engaging examples and stories, this comprehensive volume offers concrete suggestions to encourage teachers to reflect on their own histories and experiences and to challenge and rethink their assumptions and attitudes toward children and teaching. This new, up-to-date edition describes research-based classroom practices to engage children in exploring the complexities of race, economic inequities, immigration, environmental issues and sustainability, gender and sexual orientation and identities, abilities and disabilities. It also addresses the challenges of teaching in the context of globalization, pervasive social media, and increased standards and accountability.

Featuring content-specific strategies, assignments, and classroom activities, this book provides strategies to help pre- and in-service teachers develop the dispositions and knowledge they need to teach all students well. Focusing on the importance of creating a classroom community in which necessarily difficult dialogues are inspired and supported, the authors present content-area chapters on language arts, social studies, mathematics, science, ESOL, foreign language, and teaching exceptional students in the inclusive environment. Each content-area chapter includes a vignette illustrating a difficult conversation dealing with diversity and presents research-based, classroom-ready exercises, effective pedagogic strategies, and action-oriented intervention, many of which the authors created and used in their own classrooms. The book concludes with an appendix of instructional and curricular resources.

In this incisive and practical book, H. Richard Milner IV provides educators with a crucial understanding of how to teach students of color who live in poverty. Milner looks carefully at the circumstances of these students' lives and describes how those circumstances profoundly affect their experiences within schools and classrooms. In a series of detailed chapters, Milner proposes effective practices--at district and school levels, and in individual classrooms--for school leaders and teachers who are committed to creating the best educational opportunities for these students. Building on established literature, new research, and a number of revelatory case studies, Milner casts essential light on the experiences of students and their families living in poverty, while pointing to educational strategies that are shaped with these students' unique circumstances in mind. Milner's astute and nuanced account will fundamentally change how school leaders and teachers think about race and poverty--and how they can best serve these students in their schools and classrooms.

As the U.S. population grows more and more diverse, how can professionals who work with young children and families deliver the best services while honoring different customs, beliefs, and values? The answers are in the fourth edition of this bestselling textbook, fully revised to reflect nearly a decade of population changes and best practices in culturally competent service delivery. The gold-standard text on cross-cultural competence, this book has been widely adopted by college faculty and trusted as a reference by in-service practitioners for almost 20 years. For this timely NEW edition, the highly regarded authors have carefully updated and expanded every chapter while retaining the basic approach and structure that made the previous editions so popular. Professionals willGet a primer on cultural competence. Readers will examine how their own cultural values and beliefs shape their professional practice, how the worldviews of diverse families may affect their perceptions of programs and services, and how providers can communicate more effectively with families from different cultural backgrounds.Deepen their understanding of cultural groups. Learn from in-depth chapters with nuanced, multifaceted explorations of nine different cultural backgrounds: Anglo-European, American Indian, African American, Latino, Asian, Filipino, Native Hawaiian and Samoan, Middle Eastern, and South Asian. Readers will get up-to-date insights on history, demographics, traditions, values, and family structure, and they'll examine the diverse ways each culture approaches child rearing, medical care, education, and disability.Discover better ways to serve families. Readers will get concrete recommendations for providing more effective, sensitive, and culturally competent services to children and families. They'll find practical guidance for every step in the service delivery process, from initiating contact with families to implementing and evaluating services. Vivid case stories and photos bring the principles of cultural competence to life, and the helpful appendixes give professionals quick access to cultural courtesies and customs, key vocabulary words, significant cultural events and holidays, and more. Plus an expanded list of resources points readers to books, films, theater, and other media that will enhance their understanding of other cultures. New to this edition is a revised chapter on African American roots; thoroughly updated and expanded chapters; expanded coverage of disabilities; more on spiritual and religious diversity; and strategies for helping families make decisions about language use (English-only vs. preservation of native language). Equally valuable as a textbook and a reference for practicing professionals, this comprehensive book will prepare early interventionists and other professionals to work effectively with families whose customs, beliefs, and values may differ from their own.

In the study of multicultural education, there are key names, places, concepts, and legal actions which provide a foundation for the field. This reference includes more than 400 entries from a broad range of topics related to multicultural education, which the authors define as education geared toward reducing bias, ensuring equity, and promoting understanding of the self and others. Each item in the encyclopedia has been chosen for its value in illuminating one or more particular concerns in the field. Each entry not only helps to identify and place in an historical perspective a concept, place, person, event, or legal action, but also links that topic to an important aspect of multicultural education. While the encyclopedia provides coverage of numerous terms from the social sciences and discusses various court decisions and historical events, it also includes entries for notable persons from a wide range of cultural groups. These persons exemplify the achievements and diversity of America's many cultures and are often discussed within a multicultural curriculum. In addition, the volume provides entries for cultural and ethnic groups. These entries discuss the educational needs and experiences of the group. Thus there are entries for such groups as African-Americans, Anglo-Americans, Asian-Americans, Hispanic-Americans, and Jewish-Americans; for organizations, such as the Anti-Defamation League of B'nai B'rith; for several Native American people; for persons, such as George Washington Carver, Geronimo, and Jesse Jackson; and for numerous terms and concepts, such as busing, institutional racism, gender equity, quota systems, and reverse discrimination. Entries provide bibliographic information, and the volume concludes with a selected, general bibliography.

This volume is a collection of research cases illustrating the interrelationships among education, dominance and identity in historical- and contemporary contexts. The cases reflect particular ways in which local-, group, and indigenous identities have been affected by a dominant discourse, how education can support or undermine identity, and how languages (including dominant and sub-dominant languages) and the language of instruction in schools are at the centre of challenges to hegemony and domination in many situations. Examining the issues in their research, the contributors reveal how members of minority-, disadvantaged-, or dominated groups (and the teachers and parents of children in their schools) struggle for recognition, for education in their own language, for acceptance within larger society, or for recognition of the validity of their responses to reform initiatives and policies that address a wider agenda but that fail to take into account key factors such as perceptions and subaltern status.Collectively, the chapters document research employing a variety of methodological approaches and theoretical perspectives, illustrating an array of universal and global issues in the field of comparative and international education. However, each of the cases its own unique character, as research findings and as personal reflections based on the authors' experiential knowledge in particular social, cultural and political contexts. The contexts and regional settings include Chile, Canada, the United States, Hungary and elsewhere in East-Central Europe, France, Germany, Spain, Malaysia, Tanzania, South Africa, Cyprus, Tunisia, Egypt, Iran and elsewhere in the Middle East.

The main idea of the book is to contribute to a broader understanding of learning, identity and diversity by presenting actual research findings that were retrieved from classroom settings and related social practices. Learning is to a large extent an ongoing social process as both students and their teachers learn by being part of shared social practices through social interactions that facilitate learning gains. Sociocultural research shows that the organization of schooling promotes or restricts learning, and is a crucial factor to understand how children from a diversity of backgrounds profit from instruction. This is a first urgent issue to be considered by teachers and teacher education in our socio and culturally diverse society. A second issue is the on-going debate about learning as a process that involves the construction of identities in schools and classrooms, and in the transitions between school and home practices. Last but not least, since school practices can be addressed from the perspective of diversity and special educational needs an on-going discussion about optimizing pedagogical approaches is of main importance to allow maximum educational effectiveness.Our potential audience for this book are researchers, post-graduate students in education and psychology, teachers, teacher education, other academics and policy makers.

This volume brings together researchers and participants from diverse groups, allowing voices that portray varied dimensions of multicultural literacy to be heard. A common theme across the chapters is attention to the ways in which elements of difference - race, ethnicity, gender, class and language - create dynamic tensions that influence students' literacy experiences and achievement. Chapters 1-3 explore the complex relationship among culture, language, literacy and identity. Chapters 4-7 describe and evaluate the development and implementation of curricula, assessments and materials for students from diverse linguistic, cultural and racial backgrounds. Chapters 8-12 focus on pre-service and in-service teachers and teacher education issues related to the implementation of multicultural literacies. The chapters reflect the different ways in which the field of multicultural literacies has been interpreted.

Korn and Bursztyn and their contributors examine the cultural transitions that children make as they move between the cultures of home and school. To better understand these transitions, they explore how educators understand their students' shifting experiences and examine how educators also negotiate transitions as they too move from home to school each day. The narratives or case studies reflect this shifting gaze: from child, to teacher, to parents, and take up the various relational configurations that these can form, amongst and between each other. They turn a critical eye toward instances of classroom practice and school life, connecting personal knowledge with school change. In some cases, the authors draw directly on autobiographical material, linking these to a reflective approach to teaching. Avoiding the celebratory tone that often attends discussions of multiculturalism, the authors address how diverstiy engages us in continual renegotiation of the personal and social. The perspectives of educators and of teacher candidates are presented, and the construction of cultural identity and its impact on schools, explored. In illuminating the complicated nature of cultural transitions and the obligation of schools to create places in which children and families of diverse backgrounds can thrive, they highlight how multiculturalism can play a transformative role in the lives of children and schools. A must reading for educators and graduate students in education, school psychology, guidance and counseling.