Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Capstone Research Skills Guide!
Use the content on this page and the pages above to find resources to support your research!
VCSU Library Hours
Contact VCSU Library
Information Desk: 701-845-7277
Reference Help: 701-845-7287
Resources Featured in Video Tutorial
ERIC ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more. In addition, it provides an education-specific thesaurus that includes controlled vocabulary.
JSTOR JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database providing archival access to scholarly journals in the arts, language and literature, history, sciences, and social sciences. Typically, the most recent three to five years of a journal are not available through JSTOR.
Films On Demand Films on Demand offers state-of-the-art streaming for over 6,000 available educational titles. The films cover a wide range of subject areas and disciplines, ranging from the Arts, Music and Humanities to the Natural Sciences and Business. Easily cite videos using the built-in citation generator and share links to video clips on the go. Create an account to make playlists and save your progress for later.
WorldCat The world's largest library catalog; contains records from over 9,000 libraries around the world.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism includes hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
The Oxford English Dictionary by Need to know what a word meant when the author used it in the 1600s? Use the OED to find the origin of words with examples throughout history, obscure meanings, derivatives, and obsolete uses.
Call Number: Valley City State University Reference Room (R 423 Ox2, 1988 )