JSTORJSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database providing archival access to scholarly journals in the arts, language and literature, history, sciences, and social sciences. Typically, the most recent three to five years of a journal are not available through JSTOR.
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a general coverage database providing full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals across a wide range of disciplines, including history, social science, library science, computer science, language and literature, art, education, and life sciences.
WorldCatThe world's largest library catalog; contains records from over 9,000 libraries around the world.
Credo ReferenceA one-stop reference source featuring information from encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and more. Includes images, video, audio pronunciation of terms, maps, data tables, quotations, citation assistance. Subjects include art, biography, quotations, technology, medicine, and more.
Oxford Music OnlineOxford Music Online is a comprehensive music reference resource providing access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Content includes composer biographies, music theory terms and concepts, information about regional and cultural styles, and much more. Oxford Music Online also offers multimedia content, including hundreds sound files and thousands of images, including photographs and notation examples.
Oxford History of Western Music by Richard TaruskinThe universally acclaimed and award-winning Oxford History of Western Music is a magisterial five-volume survey of the traditions of Western music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin.Now this renowned work is available in paperback - both as a set and (for the first time) individually. This first volume examines classical music from the earliest works to the end of the sixteenth century. Taking a critical perspective, Taruskin sets the details of music, the chronological sweepof figures, works, and musical ideas, within the larger context of world affairs and cultural history. He combines an emphasis on structure and form with a discussion of relevant theoretical concepts in each age, to illustrate how the music itself works, and how contemporaries heard and understoodit. He also describes how the context of each stylistic period - key cultural, historical, social, economic, and scientific events--influenced and directed compositional choices.Attractively illustrated and laced with brilliant observations, memorable musical analysis, and a panoramic sense of the interactions between history, culture, politics, art, literature, religion, and music, this volume is essential reading for anyone who wishes to understand classical music.
Concise History of Western Music by Barbara Russano HanningBarbara Hanning's Concise History of Western Music offers students a manageable introduction to the forces that shaped music. Combining concision with the imaginative pedagogy that her text pioneered, Hanning focuses on an essential repertoire of 109 characteristic works--from the Middle Ages to the present--providing students with the cultural and historical context to illuminate the music and remember its significance. The new Total Access program unlocks a full suite of media resources with every new book, including instant access to streaming recordings of the complete Norton Anthology of Western Music repertoire, an ebook, audio for nearly every short example in the text, and stunning Metropolitan Opera video.
The Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship.