Research Guides: SE 199: Discovering Computing: 4) Research

Recommended Resources

As you prepare to write your review, you may find that you want a bit of background information about the author or one of the subjects or topics covered in the book, or you may want to check on current events to see if any developments have made the book particularly relevant or dated. The following resources can help you write a more well-informed review.

Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context offers access to biographies for hundreds of thousands of individuals throughout history and around the world. Biographies are placed in context among content from other sources including academic journals and news periodicals, and multimedia content from radio, television, and the web.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A one-stop reference source featuring information from encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and more. Includes images, video, audio pronunciation of terms, maps, data tables, quotations, citation assistance. Subjects include art, biography, quotations, technology, medicine, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a useful collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources which cover a wide range of subject areas, including: American History, Philosophy, Religion, Technology, and more.
MegaFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encompassing the full content of Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier and Regional Business, MegaFILE is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text access to scholarly journals, company profiles, periodicals, reference sources, primary sources, images, and more.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
News & Newspapers provides archival and up-to-date coverage of prominent national and local papers, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Minneapolis Star Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Chicago Tribune, ProQuest Newsstand, and many more.

Off-Campus Access

To ensure that you can access the databases to the right, make sure you follow this link to login with your NDUS username and password.

If you do not know or need to change your password, please go to http://helpdesk.ndus.edu for self-service or call 1-866-457-6387 to speak to a NDUS HelpDesk representative.