English Language Learners

Learning to use synonyms in another language can be hard, challenging, complicated, even trying. This unique reference, the only book of its kind in the U.S. market, contains more than 6,000 synonyms that have been carefully chosen for their usefulness to students of English, both intermediate and advanced. Every synonym has a short, clear definition that helps distinguish it from other synonyms in its group and its own example sentence showing proper usage and clarifying shades of meaning. A useful appendix includes thematic word groups, a list of frequently misspelled words, irregular verbs, and information on common idioms, sound-alikes, and other areas of difficulty for English learners.

This third edition of Gale Encyclopedia Of Multicultural America updates the essays in the second edition on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. It will also add cultures not covered in the second edition. The Encyclopedia also includes ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Each essay has a listing of organizations and research centers, names addresses and contact information for periodicals, radio and television stations, and a list of suggestions for further reading. Includes 23 new ethnic groups and 152 revised ethnic entries. Approximately one-third of the essays will include a recipe for a traditional dish associated with that ethnic group. Also featured is a general annotated bibliography with over 100 items regarding multiculturalism. Consistent headings throughout each essay will make information easy to find and invite comparisons, and full color photographs and illustrations will make the content more engaging. Each essay will also be accompanied by a map showing either historical or current population patterns in the United States for the ethnic group in question.

People have been concerned with fundamental questions about language and communication for thousands of years. How did human language originate? Why are there so many different languages? Are features of language and communication arbitrary or do universal patterns prevail? By introducing readers to these kinds of questions, this alphabetically arranged volume presents a complete and detailed picture of how Western and non-Western traditions influence one another.

In Teaching English Language Learners through Technology, the authors explore the use of computers/technology as a pedagogical tool to aid in the appropriate instruction of ELLs across all content areas. The special focus of this book is on the informed use of various technologies and software programs that can specifically aid ELLs. Strategies are also provided for varying levels of access--whether teachers teach in a one computer classroom, have access to multiple computers, or have the ability to go into a computer lab at their school. A fully annotated list of web and print resources completes the volume, making this a valuable reference to help teachers harness the power of computer-assisted technologies in meeting the challenges of including all learners in effective instruction.

With increasing numbers of ELLs posing unique challenges and opportunities for schools, the authors address educators’ concerns in a concise and accessible way. The book provides a basic but comprehensive introduction that serves as a state-of-the-art guide to the field, using a straightforward Q&A format designed to focus sharply on the major issues, such as the research on effectiveness of various programs, and assessment and accountability for ELLs.