English Language Learners

Hundreds of stories and conversations for ESL learners to practice listening and speaking.

An engaging, multimedia approach to learning. Features specially prepared news videos, an ongoing YouTube series called The Flatmates, and an audio series entitled Keep Your English Up To Date. Also included are listening and reading exercises, quizzes, message boards, and discussion groups.

Links to Edutopia's page for items tagged as relevant to educating English Language Learners. Find videos, articles, discussion forums, and other resources here.

Dictation practice, monthly news digests, links to English language radio stations, strategies for increasing your daily exposure to English, and more.

Learn English naturally by listening to speakers from all over the world.

Links to listening resources for advanced English learners. Resources include free online news and culture broadcasts, online music, online movies, online radio and more.

Listening activities, organized by topic and level of difficulty, designed to help improved listening comprehension skills.

Practice activities in listening, writing, speaking, and life skills necessary for success at work and in the community.

Click on an idiom for a sample paragraph providing a definition of the idiom and an illustration of how it is used.

Provides definitions, sample sentences, etymology, and synonyms.

Sound-integrated resources for 13 different languages (with a choice of 21 native language interfaces). Particularly helpful for vocabulary building and word pronunciation.

Learn vocabulary by browsing through pictures arranged by subject category. Includes interactive learning activities.

Vocabulary building for advanced English language learners.

Survival English, synonyms and antonyms, lists of useful words, figures of speech, idioms, and quotes.

Pronunciation exercises and quizzes from Interesting Things for ESL Students

Handouts, audio practice, and diagrams showing the shape of the mouth when making sounds.

Contains numerous quizzes, puzzles, podcasts and YouTube videos to help students learn English.

Provides multimedia resources for the classroom by topic area and grade level

Highlights resources for parents, students and teachers and is designed for grades 3-12

Contains lesson plans written by teachers for teachers.

Contains a collection of you tube videos for teachers

"library of free digital media resources produced by public television, designed for classroom use and professional development." Organized by subject areas for K-12.

Improve your conversational English skills by listening to native speakers talk about various topics and practicing responding to real-life conversations.

Covers greetings and ways of addressing people in English, telephone English, and more.

Learn what to say and how to say things in daily conversations.