Research Guides: How To Find...: Fiction

Finding Fiction Books

Searching the Library Catalog for Books

To see if the library has a specific book available, use the advanced search function of the catalog. Set the search to Library Catalog and enter your search terms. Once you've searched for the book you want, you can limit your results to physical items only or available online.. For more help with advanced searching, head to our searching tips help guide.

Databases

We also have a variety of databases of ebooks and audiobooks. These databases can be searched directly for book titles, authors, or subjects.

Lit-Finder This link opens in a new window
Offers access to more than 135,000 full-text poems, stories, plays and more as well as biographies, essays and explanations.
OverDrive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Overdrive is a collection of eBooks and eAudioBooks, available for you to personally check out and read via e-reader or listen to with an audio device.
Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Artemis Literary Sources allows users to search throughout our Gale collections (Lit-Finder, Virtual Reference Library) to uncover an extensive collection of primary and secondary literary resources. Built in tools such as the Topic Finder allow users to narrow their search more easily, and the Term Frequency feature allows searchers to see how often a concept has been used in the available sources throughout time. This is a great way to find thematic texts throughout history.

Web Resources

Sometimes, books are available through online sources. Make sure that any books you find online are being legally distributed!

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg provides free access to thousands of books, most of which are in the public domain.
The Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is home to millions of texts. Some titles require you to make a free account.
Manybooks
A site with thousands of free ebooks in a variety of genres. Be aware that not all titles here are free, so you should check carefully.