Research Guides: CIS 170: Intro to Computer Information Systems: Sources for Career Predictions Research

Suggested Databases

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is a business research database that includes the full text for more than 2,300 journals. Business Source Premier provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
News & Newspapers provides archival and up-to-date coverage of prominent national and local papers, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Minneapolis Star Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Chicago Tribune, ProQuest Newsstand, and many more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides indexing and full-text coverage for regional business journals, newspapers, and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas throughout the United States.

You may use books, articles, professional literature, and professional organizations as sources for your paper. Consider the following:

The library contains dozens of books on a number of professional fields.
Check our other research guides to search for articles more closely related to your career field.
Professional organizations (such as the American Library Association and the American Psychological Association) have a direct and vested interest in forcasting the future of a profession. They will likely make pronouncements about the future of the field. In addition, many of the resources linked on the "Finding Career Statistics" page offer additional links to these professional organizations.

Example Google Search: career field forecasts
This general Google search shows an example of some of the types of Internet sources where you may be able to find predictions and forecasts about your career field.

Films On Demand: Career & Job Search Video Collection
Films on Demand provides streaming access to hundreds of videos on topics related to careers. Content includes educational videos, lectures, documentaries, and news footage.