Research Guides: Graduate Research: How to Find Books & eBooks

Allen Memorial Library provides you with access to hundreds of thousands of books in its physical and electronic collections. For books and other physical materials that are not available through VCSU, we recommend that you contact your local college or public library for information about their interlibrary loan (ILL) services.

If you need to request articles via ILL see the How to Request Resources page in this guide.

Distance Loan and Physical Books

Online & distance students can use the Distance Loan Form to request any book(s) available on the Allen Memorial Library shelves. Books will be checked out to your library account and mailed to your preferred address. Borrowers are responsible for return mailing costs.

Use the box below to search for books in Allen Memorial Library's collection, keeping in mind that you may need to filter your results after running the search:

eBook Collections

Academic eBook Collections:

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central offers a large collection of authoritative ebooks covering all academic subjects. Ebook Central ebooks can be read instantly in your browser, and most can be downloaded to your computer or mobile device for offline reading. For help and more information, click the green question mark above this description.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's eBook Collection is a collection of thousands of academic eBooks and eAudioBooks, available for you to read and listen to from nearly any web-enabled device.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities E-book is a fully searchable digital collection of several thousand books in the humanities. Among the topics currently covered are history, animal studies, art, social sciences, environmental studies, literature, musicology, and native peoples of the Americas.

Popular eBook and eAudiobook Collections:

OverDrive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Overdrive is a collection of eBooks and eAudioBooks, available for you to personally check out and read via e-reader or listen to with an audio device.

Free eBooks on the Internet:

Project Gutenberg
Provides access to thousands of free texts. Search for the author of a text, or the title.
The Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is home to millions of texts. Some titles require you to make a free account.