Student Training

Allen Memorial Library purchases hundreds of new items such as books and audiovisuals annually. When the new items are cataloged, they are sent to Technical Processing to have ownership markings and additional labels & label protectors.

The Technical Processing Assistant is responsible for processing new items as well repairing damaged or worn items. In addition he or she is responsible for inventory of technical processing supplies as well.

Consistency is very important in technical processing. When all technical processing elements of each item are NOT in the correct places it affects the rest of the library workflow: shelving, inventory, circulation, maintenance and overall look of our collections. Hence, make sure to follow the specific instructions for different format of items such as books, scores, audiovisuals…etc.

1. Communication! If there is a question or problem with an item that makes it confusing or impossible to complete processing address the issues with your supervisor via in-person, note messages or email.
2. Always process RUSH items first! RUSH items will have a printed arrival letter stamped in red with “RUSH”.
3. When you are ready to process, do one collection at a time. After you complete rush items, continue on with the collections on the top row.
4. Always clean your station after you done processing.
5. Do monthly inventory of supplies. If you are running low on processing supplies, please check the inventory first and then notify the Systems Specialist at least two weeks in advance to arrange orders of supplies.
6. If an item has processing marks from another library (sometimes we acquire discarded items from other libraries), cross out with permanent marker or remove these marks without damaging the item.
7. Keep your processing cart organized and clean.

On the Processing cart, books and other items will be placed according to our collections such as MAIN, REF, JVFIC/EF, JVFIC/JV, JVNON/E, JVNON/J, ACT, AUDLL, AUDII, JVAV, KIT, NDCOL, SCORE, & TXTBK because we verify one collection at a time. In addition to that, there is a spot for RUSH items. RUSH means process this item ASAP!

The first step is to look for the item in Aleph; this will reveal the call number to use on the item.

1.  Open ALEPH Cataloging (NDVCAT:CAT07)

2. Go to the Find tab (the last tab with the binocular icon).

3. Choose Barcode from one of the drop-down menus, and scan in the barcode.

4.Click on the item button on the right bottom.

5. Match the call number with the correct label on the sheet of labels, and attach the call number label. The instructions are slightly different based on the size of the item.

a. For items taller than 5”: Using a ruler or (1.5”) pre-measured template, place the label on the spine of the item so that the bottom of the label is 1.5” from the bottom of the item.

b. For items shorter than 5” (for instance, miniature books): Using a ruler or (half-inch) pre-measured template, place the label on the spine of the item so that the bottom of the label is half an inch from the bottom of the case.

c. Exception: If the spine is too thin to display the call number printed on the label, you can instead place the label on the front of the item in the lower left corner, 1/8" away from the spine. If you do this, position the book as though it would be placed on the shelf, with the spine facing outward. Apply the label to the lower left corner of the book as it would be shelved in this way.

d.  Exception: For DVDs and CDs, remove the DVD or CD sleeve, and apply the label to it.

6. Click on tab 3. "General Information (2)”. Check the instructions in the OPAC or Circ note fields to see if special processing is necessary.

a.  Some items are restricted to VCSU students and faculty only. Check if the OPAC note reads “NO ILL. VCSU patron use only “. If so, it must have a “NO ILL. VCSU patron use only” label on front cover ¼ inches below the barcode.

b. If the OPAC note reads “DOES NOT CIRCULATE. In library use only”, it must have a “DOES NOT CIRCULATE. In library use only” label on front cover ¼ inches below the barcode.

c. If the Circ. note reads “This score contains X (number of pieces) loose pieces. Please check carefully”, the score must have a  label on front cover ¼ inches below the barcode. If either the label is missing, or if the label is present but the Circ. Note is missing, place the score in the Cataloging Error box with the LIBRARY ITEM ROUTING FORM indicating the error.

d. For DVDs, CDs and other audiovisuals, refer to processing audiovisuals instructions.

e. For books with CDs and DVDs, refer to processing books with CDs and DVDs.

f. For scores with loose pieces, refer to scores with loose pieces.

g. For items with perforated edges, add the label “DO NOT REMOVE PAGES. Please photocopy” label on the front cover ¼ inches below the barcode.

If you notice any errors in Cataloging when you do the steps above, fill out the  LIBRARY ITEM ROUTING FORM and return the item and the form to the CATALOGING ERRORS BOX.

1.   Embossing: Using the “VALLEY CITY STATE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY” embosser, you will emboss two of the pages in the book, as show in steps a-d. Always emboss ¼ inch from both the right hand side and the bottom of the page, keeping the embossment right side up.

a.   For most books, emboss in the lower right-hand corner of the page following the title page and page 49. If more than one page appears to be the title page, choose the latter of the two.

b.  If there are fewer than 49 pages, emboss the page following the title page and the last page ending in 9 (39, 29, 19, or 9).

c. If there is continuous pagination between volumes, emboss the page following the title page and the first page ending in 9.

d. Sometimes there will be picture books without page numbers. In this case, first emboss the page following the title page; then, count(beginning with the leaf after the title page) to page 49 or 39, 29, 19 & 9 and emboss it. Remember that the embossing stamp should always be on the right hand page.

e. If a book has several sections each with their own paging, use the first section of pagination that goes up to 49, and emboss page 49 in that section, along with the page following the title page.

2.  Stamping:

a.  Stamp the lower right-hand corner (¼ inch from both the right hand side and the bottom of the page) of the flyleaf with “Valley City State University ALLEN MEMORIAL LIBRARY” black stamp. To prevent ink from staining the pastedown, put a piece of recycled paper between the two. Remove it when processing is done.

3. Label protectors are necessary for all books except for ones that have book jackets. Some collections have colored ones; they will need a label procector even if they have a book jacket, and the protector needs to be applied before the book jacket is placed over the book. Cover the entire call number with the appropriate label protector (sometimes you may need to use two covers).

a.  Big/wide spine book, go vertical with a protector and iron if needed

b. Medium/thin spine book, go horizontal

i.    Clear – Books in the Main Collection

ii.  Yellow – North Dakota Collection, (NDC)

iii.  Green – Juvenile Audiovisuals (JAV)

iv. Purple – Juvenile Collection Kits (KIT)

v. Red – Normal Oversize (those with “q”)

vi.  Blue – Juvenile Oversize (those with “J q”)

4.   DATE DUEs are placed at the lower left corner of the back cover, about 1/8” away from the left and bottom. For books with a book jacket, skip this step for now(you will place the date due sticker after the jacket cover is in place) and go to step 5. For books without a book jacket, check to see if there is an ISBN in the lower left corner of the back cover.

a.  If yes, then cover the ISBN with a piece of clear book tape and then place the DATE DUE on.

b.  If no, place the DATE DUE sticker.

5.  Books with awards (i.e. Newbery/Caldecott)

a. If a book will need an award sticker, it will have a note from the cataloger. Otherwise, you do not need to worry about this step.

b. Find the appropriate sticker from the supplies cabinet.

c. Apply the sticker in the upper right quarter of the book, approximately midway between the corner and the center of the book. Make sure to do this before you apply the book jacket cover (if there is a book jacket).

6.  Book Jacket Cover is only necessary on a book that has a book jacket. To place the protective cover on the paper cover, follow the directions on the book jacket board. Then, place the Date Due on the outside of the plastic cover.

7. Book Plates are only used for books that are donated or purchased by special funds. Often times you will be notified in advance and the book plates will be paper - clipped to the books. Use water moistener on the back of the entire bookplate and attach it to the center of the flyleaf page. MAKE SURE TO SQUEEZE ALL THE WATER OUT BEFORE APPLYING!

a.  If wording, maps, illustrations, etc…are on the center of the flyleaf page, just wet the very top of the back of the bookplate and attach it to the center of the flyleaf page as well.

8.  Books with CD’s/DVD’s

a.  Double check to see that there is a special label on the front cover of the book under the barcode indicating that the book contains a CD.

b. Center a sleeve and attach it inside the back cover of the book, making sure the CD is labeled with VCSU and the call number. Insert the CD into the sleeve.

9.  If there is a question or problem with an item that makes it confusing or impossible to complete processing, address the issues with the Systems Specialist (using a LIBRARY ITEM ROUTING FORM).

1.  If scores are bound, use the same instructions as used for processing books.

2.  If scores contain loose pieces, follow the instructions below:

a. If a score has weak/thin paper covers (mostly mat papers), attach a clear plastic cover to it , unless there are 5 or more loose pieces* in the score. (If there are 5 or more loose pieces in the score, put the score in a slash folder and attach the second call number to the front using the template.) Make sure to measure the actual size of the score and attach the appropriate size or cut the plastic cover to fit the score - we do not want to have a cover significantly taller than the score itself.

 b. If there are loose pieces in the score, do the following:

i. Call number: Pencil-in the call number in the upper right corner of the first page in each loose piece.

ii. Sequential Number of score: Below the call number, pencil in the number of this piece in the sequence (refer to the main score to find this) followed by the total number of pieces using this phrasing: “# of #” (for instance, “1 of 4”).

iii. Stamping: Stamp the lower right-hand corner of the first page of each loose piece with “Valley City State University ALLEN MEMORIAL LIBRARY” black stamp.

iv. Special Label: Place the label beginning with “This score contains X (number of pieces) loose pieces” on the front of the score ¼ inches below the barcode. Then, highlight (in yellow) the number of loose pieces and the phrase “loose pieces”.

v.  Date Due: Be careful when applying date due stickers; place it in a consistent place, but make sure that it doesn’t cover notes on the score. Most of the time Date Dues are placed at the lower left corner of the back cover, about 1/8” away from the left and bottom. Exceptions:

   a) If there are music notes on the back cover of the score, ask the Library Assistant for an alternative location on which to apply the Date Due

   b) If there is an ISBN number in the lower left corner, put book tape over the number and then apply the Date Due

   c) If you placed a plastic cover on the score, place the Date Due on the outside of the cover and place a white label inside the plastic to conceal the wiring of the Date Due.

*Note: The number of pieces does not include the cover or items bound to the cover.

Note: DVD-roms (data discs) are not placed in the DVD cabinet. If you are processing a DVD-rom, then ignore steps 1,2c, 3, and 8.

Note: DVD case outer sleeves are not necessary for processing. Return them to the Systems Specialist.

DVDs

1. DVD Number: Check that the DVD number has been added to DVD spreadsheet saved in the Student Library Assistant folder on the Xythos drive with title, call number, and DVD number.  If the item hasn’t been added, put the item with VERIFICATION – PROBLEMS form in the Cataloging Errors box.

2. Take a Sharpie marker and write these three things on the face of the  DVD discs in ultra fine sharpie:

a. The word “VCSU”

b. The Call number

c. The DVD/CD number

3. Write the DVD number on two orange circle stickers. Open the DVD/CD case and affix one of the orange circle stickers to the right top corner.  Cover the orange sticker with a piece of clear tape (do not use cellophane tape, though). Attach the second orange sticker to the top right corner of the disc envelope

4. Embossing: Emboss the DVD  sleeve with “VALLEY CITY STATE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY” embosser on the lower right corner.

a.  If the DVD doesn’t have a sleeve that can be removed (mostly sets of DVDs), find one of the metallic seal stickers in the supply cabinet in the work room; it should be on a sheet of several seals. Emboss a sticker, and place it at the lower right corner inside the case.

5. Cover Juvenile Media - Audiovisual DVD call number with green label protector.

6.  Place paper sleeve back into the case.

7.  DATE DUE: Attach a DATE DUE sticker to the back lower left corner of the case.

8. Scan the DVD barcode in Aleph Circulation/Item tab. In the items detail tab, look for the Circulation note with the text “Disc located at Circulation Desk (#)”, with the number in parenthesis matching the DVD number. If the note is not there, or if the number does not match, put the item with VERIFICATION – PROBLEMS form in the Cataloging Errors box.

9. If the case has more than 2 discs, make sure that there is a label on the front that reads “This case contains (X) discs. Please check carefully on return.” (X is the number of discs; make sure that this number matches the actual number of discs as well.) This should be near the top of the case, under the barcode.

If there is a question or problem with an item that makes it confusing or impossible to complete processing, address the issues with your supervisor via in-person, note messages or email.

Audio CDs

1. Take a Sharpie marker and write these twothings on the face of the DVD discs in ultra fine sharpie:

a. The word “VCSU”

b. The Call number

2. Embossing: Emboss the CD front booklet or insert with “VALLEY CITY STATE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY” embosser on the lower right corner.

a.  If the CD doesn’t have a booket or insert, find one of the metallic seal stickers in the supply cabinet in the work room; it should be on a sheet of several seals. Emboss a sticker, and place it at the lower right corner inside the case.

3. Cover Juvenile Media - Audiovisual CD call number with green label protector.

4. Place booklet back into the case.

5.  DATE DUE: Attach a DATE DUE sticker to the back lower left corner of the case.

6. If the case has more than 2 discs, make sure that there is a label on the front that reads “This case contains (X) discs. Please check carefully on return.” (X is the number of discs; make sure that this number matches the actual number of discs as well.) This should be near the top of the case, under the barcode.

7. If this is a set of discs in which the discs themselves have sleeves, place a call number label on each sleeve in the same way that you would with the front cover.

If there is a question or problem with an item that makes it confusing or impossible to complete processing, address the issues with your supervisor via in-person, note messages or email.

Some audiovisual items that we catalog have no covers. For these items, we need to create a color copy of an existing cover that provides the title of the item. Do the following steps:

1. Search for the item online to find a image of the item's cover that will suffice (it should have the title of the item). Some places for searching include Worldcat, Amazon, Baker & Taylor, etc. When you find an image, copy it.

* If you can't find an image online, then you can make a copy of the physical medium itself (usually the disc). Use the photocopier to do this.

2. Then, paste the image into Paint (or another graphics editor).

3. Edit the size of the image so that it will fit within the case of the item. Use additional white space if necessary.

4. Print a test copy of the image in black and white. Test to see that the copy will fit in the case. If not, go back to editing the image.

5. Once you have the size of the cover image correct, print a color copy from the copier.

6. Place the cover image in the case. In most instances, the image should be able to fit in the case without the need of any tape.

(Note: Allen Memorial Library rarely receives new videocassettes anymore.)

1.  Place call number labels on both the spine and on the actual tape.

2. Stamp VCSU on the videocassette with red ink

3. Place a Please Rewind and a Do Not Erase sticker on the tape

4. If there are additional items in the case, place call number labels on them and stamp VCSU on the item(s) with red ink. If there are no remaining call number labels, place the videocassette in the Cataloging Error box with the LIBRARY ITEM ROUTING FORM indicating the error (“Score needs additional label.)"

5. DATE DUEs are placed at the lower left corner of the back of the case, about 1/8” away from the left and bottom.

1. When applying labels, look for the edition type on the label. There is a difference in labels betweeen edition types TB (textbook) or TE (teacher's edition), and other types.

a. For TE and TB books and any hardcover or spiral books, if there are multiple books for each edition, they will have volume numbers as the last line on the label.

b. For items with any other edition type, there are no other marks on the call number label after the edition type. These will be shelved in upright magazine boxes.

c. Some books have no edition type at all. They also will be shelved in magazine boxes.

2. Process books in the same way as you process ordinary books. There often will be continuous pagination between volumes, in which you will need to emboss the first page ending in 9 rather than page 49 in each volume.

3. Process non-book items normally as well, except that DVD discs will not be moved to the DVD cabinet. Instead, they will be shelved in the magazine boxes (see the next step).

4. Items that are not TB or TE will need to go in magazine boxes. These include (among other materials) paperback books (many of these are workbooks) and non book items (such as CDs/DVDs) Do the following steps for them:

a. Begin placing the items in alphabetical order in one of the boxes. Try to fit all books within one box if possible.

b. Open the Textbook Content List file. Link or explain where this is found?

c. Enter in the call number in bold as a heading in the cell.

d. Going by the entries for the items in the Items tab in Cataloging, enter the Description text for each item in the box as an entry on the list. (See below for an example). Omit any edition type abbreviations (as seen in the Numbers for Curriculum Library Textbook Collection document) (for instance, if the description reads "WK - Practice Book", just type in "Practice book" for the entry on the label.

e. For all of the items that you are working with, repeat steps a-d until you have used all of the labels on the document or you are done with sets of books.

f. Print the sheet on regular paper.

g. Cut out each box label. Affix them to the front of the box (the short end that will face outward), and cover the label with book tape.

Because all of these formats have different cataloging and processing requirements, follow the general rules below; but if you have questions on processing/labels, consult with the Systems Specialist.

1. The item with the barcode is processed exactly the same way according to its format.

2.  If you have several items in a box or other container, this means the items are meant to be kept together.

3. Pencil the call # from the label on all items other than the main item or on DVDs/CDs.

4. For DVDs and CDs, write “VCSU” & Call numbers on the face of the disc(s) in ultra fine sharpie.

5. Cover the call number label with appropriate label cover according to following collections:

a. Clear – Books & Audiovisuals in the Main Collection

b.  Green – Juvenile Audiovisuals (JAV)

c.  Purple – Juvenile Collection Kits (KIT)

6. For sets of cards:

a. The card with the barcode on the front is the card that should have a call number label applied to it; treat the front of the card as though it was the front cover of a book. (However, if this is a kit with a different item as the primary item, there will be no barcode on the front of any card; in this case, just apply a call number label to the top card in the stack.)

b. Place a rubber band around all cards.

c. If one rubber band will not work for all cards, divide them into several sets, and use rubber bands on each of them. For each rubber-banded set of cards, pencil the call number on the front card in the lower left corner.

d. Unless the cards are part of a kit with a different barcoded item, place the DATE DUE sticker on the back of the final card in the sequence. If this would cover important information, consult with the Systems Specialist on where the sticker should go.

7. For items that are in a box or are designated to be placed in a box:

a. Make sure that there is a Content Label for each box. If not, place it in Cataloging Error box with a LIBRARY ITEM ROUTING FORM saying,” Content Label is missing.”

b. Obtain a box from the supply room if necessary.

c. Stamp (using the VCSU red-ink stamp) on all non-card items, except for DVDs/CDs.

d. Place the DATE DUE sticker on the item bearing the barcode in the back lower left-hand corner.

e. Picture the box as a book with a spine and attach the spine label as you would a book.  If the call # begins with KIT, then cover the spine label on the box with a purple label protector.

8. The content label for a box should be 1.5 inches above the call number label.

9. Microfilm: use the microfilm ID tag.

a.  Write the title, reel number, start month-end month on it (these information should be on the microfilm boxes)

If there is a question or problem with an item that makes it confusing or impossible to complete processing address the issues with the Systems Specialist using a LIBRARY ITEM ROUTING FORM.

Processing

1. Attach the labels using the 1.5 inch template (the small postits) in the same way as book processing.

2. Stick a clear label cover over top of the label.

3. Affix DATE DUE labels (security labels) to books, not to serials or pamplets.

4. When all processing is finished, place the item on the Verfying Cart.

By the time the Technical Processor encounters a Reserve item, it should already be added to a Reserve collection and placed on Processing Status.  Technical processing for Reserve items is simple--You will simply need to add a Reserve sticker.  There are two kinds of Reserve Stickers, Library Reserves and Course Reserves.  They look like this:

To begin the processing stage of the work:

1.  Open the Dymo Label v. 8 program, located on the central student work computer.

2.  Navigate to the Library's homepage, and click on the Course Reserves tab.

3.  In the Search Reserve Shelf search box, click the dropdown menu that is defaulted to Instructor, and select Barcode.

4.  if the Reserve item has been correctly cataloged, you will be taken to a record.  This record should contain two vital pieces of information you will need for the Reserve label:

• Course Number--This will include both the department and the number (ex. HIST 470)
• Instructor--This will include the last name of the instructor (ex. Dutton)

5.  If the Instructor's name is "Library," the item is a Library ReserveCourse Reserve, corresponding to a specific course taught at VCSU.  Any time you see an instructor's name, you are processing aCourse Reserve.  (You can see examples of the two types of stickers above.)

6.  Right-click the hyperlink next to Call Number, and open the page in a new tab.  This page will provide the last piece of information you will need--theItem Status, located at the bottom of the page.

7.  Determine whether you are processing a Library Reserve or Course Reserve label.  Then, refer to the Item Status to determine which label template you will use.  Each Item Status (3 Hour, Overnight, 3 Day, 1 Week, 2 Week) should correspond to its own template, which can be viewed in the Saved Labels section of the DYMO program (on the left-hand side of the page).

8.  Double-click the template that best represents your item.

9.  Using all capital letters, replace the Name field with the instructor's last name (or Library, in the case of a Library Reserve item).  Then, replace the Course field, also in all capital letters, with the abbreviation and initial three numbers of the course (ex. HIST 470).

10.  Once you have double-checked to make sure that the information you have entered is correct, print the label by clicking on the enormous green Print button in the lower-right corner of the screen.

11.  Place the Reserve label on front cover ¼ inches below the barcode.  If a label is already in this position, place it  ¼ inches below the existing label.

12.  When you are finished, close the Dymo printer program.  DO NOT SAVE any changes to the label templates you have used.