Student Training

Before any new items are shelved in the stacks, they need to be verified carefully to check ownership markings and prevent errors in shelving. You are responsible for making sure to check the quality of cataloging and technical processing.

1. Communication! If there is a question or problem with an item that makes it confusing or impossible to complete verifying, address the issues with your supervisor via in-person, a note or email.

2.  Always verify RUSH items first! RUSH means verify this item ASAP and route it to the appropriate person. A RUSH item will have an arrival letter stamped with “RUSH”, and/or will be located in the rush section of the verify cart.

3. When you ready to verify, do one collection at a time.

4. Always clean your station after you’re done processing.

5. Keep your verifying cart organized and clean.

On the verify cart, books will be placed according to our collections such as MAIN, REF, JVFIC/EF, JVFIC/JV, JVNON/E, JVNON/J, ACT, AUDLL, AUDII, JVAV, KIT, NDCOL, SCORE, & TXTBK because we verify one collection at a time. Always start from the smaller collections unless it’s RUSH.

If there are any problems, indicate it on the Verification-Problems form. Then return both the item and form to the Processing Errors or Cataloging Errors box.

Steps for all items

These steps check the accuracy of processing, so in some cases you will be referring to the same instructions as the processor.

1. Use the instructions for all items in processing. Make sure that the call number labels and special labels are attached.

Books and other bound items

1. Barcode is visible and in correct position at the top left on the front cover.

2. Valley City State University - Allen Memorial Library (black) stamp is visible and in correct position at the lower right corner of the flyleaf.

3. DATE DUE sticker is on the bottom left corner of the back cover about 1/8” away from the left and bottom. If there is a book jacket, the sticker should be on the outside of the book jacket.

4.  If the book has a jacket, the jacket should have a plastic cover.

5. VCSU LIBRARY embossing should be ¼ inch from both the right hand side and the bottom of the page, with the embossment right side up, in two places:

a. Page following the title page AND

b. Page 49 (for fewer than 49 pages, the last page ending in 9; i.e.  39, 29, 19 or 9) OR

c. For volumes with continuous pagination, the first page ending in 9 OR

d. For picture books without page numbers, counting to page 49 or the last page that would end in 9.

e. For books with several sections of pagination, page 49 in the first section that goes up to this number.

6. Label protectors are necessary for all books in the following collections and some are in colors 

a. Clear – Books in the Main Collection that do not have book jackets.

b.  Yellow – North Dakota Collection (NDC)

c. Green – Juvenile Audiovisuals (JAV)

d. Purple – Juvenile Collection Kits (KIT)

e. Red – Normal Oversize (those with “q”)

f. Blue – Juvenile Oversize (those with “J q”)

Additional Steps (as needed)

7. For bookplates, refer to the processing instructions.

8. For scores, refer to the processing instructions.

1. Refer back to the DVD, CD, & other audiovisual processing instructions. Make sure that the instructions are carried out properly.

If you have several items in a box, this means the items are meant to be together. Boxed items have call number labels on both the container and the main item. The main item in a kit is processed and verified exactly the same according to its format.

1. Refer back to the Special Formats audiovisual processing instructions. Make sure that the instructions are carried out properly.

1. Refer back to the Videocasettes audiovisual processing instructions. Make sure that the instructions are carried out properly.

If there is anything odd or inconsistent, indicate it in the Verification-Problems form. Then return both item and form to the Processing Errors or Cataloging Error box.

Verifying

STEP 1: Physical verifying
   If there are any problems, indicate it in the VERIFICATION-PROBLEMS form. Then return both item and form to the Gov. Doc. Error Box.

1. Open ALEPH Cataloging (NDVCAT:CAT07)

2. Go to the Find tab (the last tab with the binocular icon).

3. Choose Barcode from one of the drop-down menus, and scan in the barcode.

4.Click on the item button on the right bottom.

5. Verify that the SuDoc Number label is correct and in the correct position.

a. Hard cover – on the spine (or front) and on the top left of the first page inside the cover

b. Soft cover – on the spine (or front) and on the top left of the front cover

c. Periodicals – on the top left of the front cover. There will not be a spine label.

6. Barcode is visible and in correct position at the top left on the front cover of the item.

7. Check the Item Number

a. Hard cover – on the top right on the first page inside the cover

b. Soft cover and periodicals – on the top right on the front cover

8. Check the VCSU LIBRARY DEPOSITORY stamp with date in black ink. If the item is a thick, bound book, it should be on the bottom right on the first page inside the cover. If the item is a magazine, pamphlet, or very thin book, the stamp should be on the bottom right on the cover of the item.

(Refer to the Depository Marking Map)

STEP 2: Patron interface verifying : PRIMO

STEP 3: Patron interface verifying : WorldCat

STEP 4: File the shipping list in the Completed tab of the Fed. Gov. Doc. Shipping Lists binder. File it in chronological order using the shipping date.

1. Refer back to the Course Reserve Items processing instructions. Make sure that the instructions are carried out properly.

For items that are set to go to closed stacks, do the following:

1. If the item is not wrapped in paper, then do the physical verifying in the same way as for other items.

2. If the item is wrapped in paper (this step is handled by the Systems Specialist), check the label on the paper to confirm that the following match:

a.Barcode

b. Title

c. Call number

3. If anything does not match, return the item to the processor.

4. Otherwise, continue on with Patron Interface Verifying. Do the following steps differently:

a. When you normally would scan in the barcode, instead type it in based on the label outside of the paper.

b. When you have finished with all steps of verifying, place the item on the second shelf of the Library Director's cart.