Student Training

Customer service is incredibly important here in the library, because it has real ramifications for fellow students.  If someone doesn’t think that they can receive adequate help at the library, they may try to go it alone, or to ignore the requirements of an assignment they don’t understand altogether.  It is important that we cultivate a reputation on campus of a group that is competent, friendly, and helpful.

Your appearance and demeanor at the desk are important.

• Make sure that you are open and friendly
• Don’t give the impression that you are too busy for the people who are walking up to you
• Greet people with a smile and say hello.  If you know their name, say hi to them by name!
• If you can tell that someone wants/needs help and has made eye-contact, initiate the conversation—Ask them how they are and what you can do for them

Good vs. Bad Desk Etiquette

Please do not eat at the desk!  Keep drinking vessels limited to lidded cups/mugs that can be stored behind the desk, out of immediate view.  Keep the desk as orderly as you can, and always look up when you notice someone is near.  Make sure to welcome any individual, and do not appear to be too busy for anything that may come your way.

The same may be said for the way you use the desk computer.  Please look away from the computer to greet whomever may have entered the library.  Please drop what you are doing to make the person on the other end of the desk feel welcome!

Inevitably there will be multiple individuals at the desk at some point during the day.  Compare the two images above.  On the left, library staff are too engrossed in their conversation to notice the student in front of them.  On the right, the employees have made the student a priority, even while they were visiting together.  Make sure that your conversations do not interfere with the great service you can offer your patrons!

The “Reference Interview” aka Finding Out What Someone Needs

• “Books about birds” isn’t very helpful.  When someone comes up to the desk and asks a vague question, try very politely to tease out what they need the information for, so that you can better help them
  • This will give you a chance to learn what the item is being used for, so that you can recommend the best resource for the problem.
  • This will let you know if the question may be out of your level of expertise and if you need to refer the question on to Al or Donna
  • Knowing what your patron needs will also help us help them.  In your referral email or note, you can tell us exactly what they need, so that we can contact them with the resource found and ready to go.
• If you ever think you need backup, or are going to have a lot of trouble with a question, don’t hesitate to refer the student to Al/Donna.  People are busy—don’t waste their time!

Know when to refer your patron on to someone else

• You may be tempted to answer any question that is thrown your way.  Please try to subdue this urge.
• When you receive a question, think about how you would go about answering it.  If you have absolutely no idea where to begin, that may be an indication that you should refer the question on to Al/Donna or another staff member
• Do not give the first answer that comes to your head—In some cases, you may need to mull the question over before giving your final answer.
• You can always let the individual know when a reference individual will be back on duty—Again, it is important to know that mediocre or bad service will deter more people from seeking help.
• Learn about some of the multimedia collections we have online.  We have eBook resources, Audiobooks, image libraries, sheet music, etc.
• If you can’t help, find someone who can!

Be aware of the resources around you

• Learn the library’s website really well, especially the navigational tabs at the top.
• Memorize some of the basic policies—Like how much a one-sided color copy costs!
• Make sure that you can verify what you’re telling the patron—It’s always better to take them to the answer on the library’s website while you’re giving them the answer.  Do this unless you know for absolute certainty.
• Know that the How to Find links exist on the library’s homepage, and get acquainted with them
• Learn some of the key databases and features we offer
• Know who to ask for more help!

Know your sources

• Primary sources often refer to history research, and they are sources that were produced during the time in question.  For the social sciences, hard sciences, and elsewhere, primary sources often refer to original research (the actual report), field notes and research, and other documents where there is no separation between the author and the research described
• Secondary sources are those that summarize, condense, build on, and interpret primary sources.
• Tertiary sources do the same thing to primary sources that secondary do to primary.  Think dictionaries, some encyclopedias, etc.
• Reference works—Reference works are often collections of materials that refer to other resources.  These are also dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, and so forth.  They are often collections of facts and figures that may prove helpful for pointing folks to other information, or for answering a factual question.  Keep in mind that reference works are not the stuff of research papers, they are simply the beginning of many.

Here are some of the types of questions you are likely to encounter at the desk:

Directional

With Directional questions, the patron knows EXACTLY what he/she wants.  Usually, you can answer these questions yourself.  If you have any questions or problems, ask the Reference Librarian.

• In the building directions - “Where can I find the bathroom/pop machine?”
  • Direct the patron clearly to where he/she needs to go
• Schedule questions - “What time is the study table?/What are your hours?"
  • Check the Library Hours page.
  • Refer your patron to the page as well, as an FYI.
• On campus directions - “Where can I find Vangstad Auditorium/the Foss Music Building/the Business Office?”
  • Take out a campus map and show them where to go
• Valley City directions - “How do I get to Shopko/Dutton’s Parlor/the Winter Show?
  • Take out a city map and show them where to go--if you’re not sure, ask the Reference Librarian on staff for help or look it up on Google Maps.
• Directions to the library from out-of-town -"How do you get to the library from _______"
  • Click on the directions page of our website

Locating Library Items

• Item/collection questions - “Do you have this book?/Can you show me where this book is?/Can you help me find this book?"
  • If necessary, explain that a call number is where something is in the stacks.
  • Show them how to find the book in the catalog--For some tips, here are videos for finding items in Primo:

 

• • If someone is available to cover the desk temporarily, feel free to show the individual how to find the book in the stacks if they are not comfortable doing so on their own!
  • Search for the item in the ODIN catalog (See Our Collections for help searching the catalog).  If we do own it, make sure the patron understands how to find a book in the library and help if needed. 
  • If we don’t own it, show the patron how to order it through interlibrary loan or how to submit a purchase request (make sure they understand that this is NOT a certainty that we will purchase the item).

Reference

Reference questions require a bit more depth and research than directional questions.  Usually, the patron will be working on an assignment and need assistance finding sources.  For most reference questions, direct the person to a Reference Librarian on staff or use the pink Reference Request form to write a note for the Reference Librarian.  For help with some frequently asked reference questions, see below.

Examples:

·       “I have a report and I need information on ______.”
·       “Do you have any books on ________?”
·       “I’m looking for an obituary for _______.”
·       “I need help citing my sources.”

Circulation

Circulation questions deal with books incoming and outgoing.  Most of these questions will be handled by the Reference Librarian.

• Loan questions - “What do I have checked out?
  • If the patron is interested, show person how to log into their account (You can also refer them to the How Do I... page on the Library's website).  Feel free to refer them to the YouTube video called My Account in Primo.
  • In the yellow patron tab, type/scan in the patron’s ID number.  Click on [L] Loans on the left and it should show what items are checked out.
  • Press F11 to display a printable list of the items the patron has checked out, if they ask for it.
• Fine questions - “I think I owe some money.”
  • Get a staff member
• Hold/Pick up questions - “I’d like to place something on the hold/pick up shelf.”
  • Get the Reference Librarian (or leave a note)
• Overdue questions - “I KNOW I returned those books!”/ “I lost this book; what should I do?”
  • Get a staff member
• eBooks -"How do I borrow an eBook?"
  • See below

Interlibrary Loan

• Interlibrary Loan questions - “I’d like to order something through ILL.”/ “What’s the status of my ILL request?”
  • All library staff members should know how to request an ILL.  
  • Refer the individual to the ILL Page on our website.  
  • You can also show them how to check the ILL request by referring them to our YouTube video on the subject.
  • Individuals can check the status of their ILL request by accessing their account.
    • Refer all additional questions about requests to the Reference Librarian

Website/Access

These questions will deal with the technical end of our library, such as off campus access to databases and where on the website something is found.  These questions will be handled by the Systems Specialist.

Examples:

• “I can’t log in to EBSCO!”
• “Where is ____ on the website?”
• “The link for ___ doesn’t work!”
• “This video on Films on Demand won’t work!”

Computer

Computer questions will deal with the various technologies in the library, such as the printer or the public workstations.  Most of these you can troubleshoot.

Printer questions - “The printer won’t work.”

1.     Try printing from the circulation computer.  If that doesn’t work, go to step 2.  If it does work, ask the patron to restart his/her computer.  If it still doesn’t work, tell them to go to ITC.
2.     Check to see if there is paper in the printer.  If that doesn’t work, go to step 3.
3.     Check for error messages on the screen.  Follow the instructions.  If that doesn’t work, go to step 4.
4.     Turn off the printer.  Wait 10 seconds.  Turn it back on.  If that doesn’t work, go to step 5.
5.     Unplug all plug ins.  Plug them back in.  If that doesn’t work, go to step 6.
6.     Talk to one of the permanent staff members.  Tell him/her what steps you’ve taken.

Patron Workstations - “____ on this computer doesn’t work.”

1.     Try restarting the computer (the log in information is under the keyboard).  If that doesn’t work, go to step 2.
2.     Get a member of the permanent staff.

The Most Common Questions in the Library:

Can you show me how to print/copy/scan this?

• For a step-by-step procedure for printing, faxing, and copying, view the page on the Circulation Manual
• For policies, costs, and other information, refer the patron to the Print, Copy, Fax page on our website

Can you help me find an article/obituary/etc. in the Times-Record?

• If Al is available, get him. If he is not, proceed:
• Ask the patron if he/she would be available to stop by the library.  If they are, let them know when we are open, and that you (or another staff member) would be happy to show them how to use the machines.
• If they are at a distance or are otherwise unable to make it to the building, get as much information as possible about the request, the person, the event they’re researching
• Make sure you ask for birth and death dates, names of spouses, and any additional information they can provide
• Be aware that individuals do not always have the correct information—Including whether or not their family member actually was buried in VC or had an obituary in the Times-Record.

Can you help me find articles about _____?

• Check to see if we have a LibGuide available for them
• Check to see if we have a database group associated with this subject
• In future sessions, we’ll work on database searching

I've heard you can read the New York Times online.  How do I do that?

• You can locate any journal or newspaper we have online access to by searching for it in SFX.
• Access SFX by clicking on the Journals tab on the Library's homepage, then clicking on the SFX search link.
• Type in the title of the journal or newspaper you wish to locate.
• Click search to view your results.  The results display the various databases that may contain access to that title.
• Select a database to view your results.  For more info, see the video below, or access the original page from the How to Find tab of our website entitled Newspaper Articles.